We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIB Boat tour (fast boat)”

Geiranger Fjordservice AS
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We offer tours/Shorexcursions along the famous Geirangerfjord, our unique UNESCO World Heritage Site. Explore the fjord on water or land. With the Fjordightseeing Boat, the RIB boat or Kayak you will get close to the beautiful waterfalls and fjord farms. The Panorama bus and the Mountain Highlight Bus will bring you to stunning look out plateaus high above the Geiranger Fjord. Also available now: Electric bikes Helikopter fights and fishing tours.
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Neat tour of the Geiranger fjord in a RIB boat. They get you all decked out in a spray suit and take you out for an hour onto the fjord in a high-speed RIB boat. The boat is a semi-rigid/inflatable boat that really moves. The spray suit was nice and warm - we did not get wet at all but on a rainy day or if there was a swell on the water it would probably be more meaningful. Guide stops at several points along the way (waterfalls. farms) and gives some history and background on the area. Fun - took about an hour. Kids would love it.

Thank daddyo-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geirangerfjord1, General Manager at Geiranger Fjordservice AS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for an informative and detailed review! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Geiranger :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"geiranger fjordservice"
in 20 reviews
"rib boat"
in 22 reviews
"bus tour"
in 20 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 34 reviews
"seven sisters"
in 24 reviews
"booked directly"
in 3 reviews
"double decker bus"
in 3 reviews
"private tour"
in 6 reviews
"great tour"
in 7 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 2 reviews
"panorama bus"
in 5 reviews
"pre recorded commentary"
in 2 reviews
"much better value"
in 2 reviews
"warm sunny afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"tour leader"
in 2 reviews
"tourist centre"
in 2 reviews
"booked prior"
in 2 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2018

We needed to travel to the top of Mt Dalsnibba with my 88-year old f-i-l so a bus was our option. The guide was very informative and continually pointed out sights and explained about flora, fauna, water, weather, etc in the area. It would be nice to spend another 5-10 minutes at the top. We especially appreciated that on the way down the stop at the visitor center's in case anyone wanted to walked down the stairs at the Fossevendring waterfall.Thanks for that.

1  Thank CANJGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geirangerfjord1, General Manager at Geiranger Fjordservice AS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your nice review and feedback :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We arrived in Geiranger off the Viking Star on a glorious clear sunny morning in July. There were three cruise ships in port that day, and I'd booked the Panorama Exclusive Bus tour in advance through the GFS website. It's a 3 hour tour that goes up to the top of Dalsnibba, as well as to Eagle Bend (to see the Seven Sisters waterfall).

As we got off the tender from the ship, hordes of cruise passengers turned to the left to go and board their expensive cruise company tours on big 40+ passenger buses. We turned to the right, and were met by a GFS 'greeter', who directed us to a brand-new 14-passenger Mercedes van. We were with one other couple, and no one else turned up for the 10am departure. We effectively had our own private tour!

The driver was excellent. He was a local (resident of Geiranger), and provided informed on-going commentary as he navigated through the many switchback turns. The drive up and down the twisty turny mountain roads was great fun. The views from the top of Dalsnibba were spectacular, and one of the highlights of our travels in Norway. The Seven Sisters waterfall was a bit of a disappointment. The water flow was somewhat less than normal, apparently due to reduced snow melt this season. (Due to Global warming? Or Chinese hoax?). However, the view from Eagle Bend across the fjord with Dalsnibba in the distance is worth the drive.

If you arrive off a cruise ship with no plans, and the weather is clear, you really should make your way to the GFS office and hope there's space available on their next bus tour. You won't be disappointed.

Note that on-line reservations are paid for in advance (and not refundable).

1  Thank screen-gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geirangerfjord1, General Manager at Geiranger Fjordservice AS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your detailed review. Dalsnibba sure is a spectacular viewpoint! We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Geiranger :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Tool this tour through Windstar cruise. But if you can book direct even better! The most delightful tour guides. Super sweet, very in touch with the group and their level of comfort with the electric bikes and especially with the road which is tricky due to the buses and other traffic. But the views are worth it as well as the freshly made waffles at a campground area in a beautiful valley. I 100 percent recommend this group.

Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geirangerfjord1, General Manager at Geiranger Fjordservice AS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive feedback, we always love to hear back from our guests when enjoying our tours. Also, thank you for the kind words about the guides :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018

When a helicopter trip was canceled due to cloud cover, I signed up for a RIB tour that was departing shortly. It was treat that was totally unexpected. The boat's pilot, Lukas, knew his geography & history of the fjord - it was a delightful investment of time and relatively economical. Be sure to bring your camera along, as there are waterfalls, rock formations & nature that you'll want to capture and look back on during a long winters night in the future... as you get up close & personal with the scenery.

Thank Rollie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geirangerfjord1, General Manager at Geiranger Fjordservice AS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry for the cancelled helicopter tour - unfortunately this is an activity highly dependent on weather and winds! We are happy you found a suitable option and that you enjoyed the RIB tour, it really is a great way to see the fjord :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Geiranger Fjordservice AS also viewed

 

Been to Geiranger Fjordservice AS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing