We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rib boat tour fun on Geirangerfjord!”

Geiranger Fjordservice AS
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We offer tours/Shorexcursions along the famous Geirangerfjord, our unique UNESCO World Heritage Site. Explore the fjord on water or land. With the Fjordightseeing Boat, the RIB boat or Kayak you will get close to the beautiful waterfalls and fjord farms. The Panorama bus and the Mountain Highlight Bus will bring you to stunning look out plateaus high above the Geiranger Fjord. Also available now: Electric bikes Helikopter fights and fishing tours.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Husband, our 2 teen daughters (17 and 14) and I had a blast enjoying Geirangerfjord on an August afternoon. This 1 hour boat ride is amazing.

Everyone gets gussied up in waterproof suits. Your captain gets close to the waterfalls, tells stories and the history of the fjord, and goes fast! It was a great time.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank lsr1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"geiranger fjordservice"
in 20 reviews
"rib boat"
in 24 reviews
"bus tour"
in 22 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 35 reviews
"seven sisters"
in 25 reviews
"panorama tour"
in 3 reviews
"double decker bus"
in 3 reviews
"pre recorded commentary"
in 2 reviews
"much better value"
in 2 reviews
"warm sunny afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"tour leader"
in 2 reviews
"booked prior"
in 2 reviews
"small bus"
in 2 reviews
"ticket booth"
in 2 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 4 reviews
"meeting point"
in 3 reviews
"booked directly"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2018

Travelling at the end of the season when the bus timetable winds down in Norway. this cruise option provides an alternative for people staying in Alesund to go for the day to Geirangerfjord as a comfortable and convenient option. Although in October you have to bear in mind many of the services will be closed for the season then, but it’s still a great experience on the fjords.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Burgr_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geirangerfjord1, Verkaufsleiter at Geiranger Fjordservice AS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

THank you for your feed back. Yes the public transportation can be a bit difficult in low season - whats why we thought the cruise starting in Ålesund centrum bringing you all the way to Geiranger is a god New Product. You can relax while traveling to Geiranger and if you want to stay in Geiranger we help to arrange transport and activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

We won the tickets on the local radio and, of course, had to take a trip when the opportunity offered a tour of the Geirangerfjord.

We did not have the opportunity to participate before the end of the season, so we had an autumn trip in the Geirangerfjord.

The boat is new and has big windows, and it is possible to walk around the hole boat on the outside deck.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank janoveh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

It has been a long-held dream of mine to cruise the fjords, but that's difficult if your hubby doesn't want to do a cruise! So we compromised and booked a weekend in beautiful Alesund, in the knowledge that we could do this day trip. Having had 6 weeks of almost constant heavy rain in Alesund, we were worried that we wouldn't see much, but on the day of our trip the sun came out (it rained every other day we were in Norway). It was stunningly beautiful, an experience I will never forget! The boat was comfortable, there was a refreshment kiosk on board, and clean toilets. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this trip.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Happy2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018

Dont usually make a fuss or write bout what we do, but this trip was great so here goes.

Really good, convenient boat tour into Geiranger from Alesund. We had wanted to get into the fjords for a look round while we were headin down the Norwegian coast, but there wasnt a lot of options at this time of year.
Helpful lady in Alesund tourist office told us bout this new service, so we thought we'd give it a go.Glad we did.
Even if the weather wernt so good, the boat was warm and gave easy viewing from the comfy chairs.Not usually fond of having headphones on, but there was an interestin audio guide thing tellin stories as we scooted along.
Always good to come across somethin thats better than your expectations. a great find. Highlight of our trip so far.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank TrundleTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geirangerfjord1, Leiter Front Office at Geiranger Fjordservice AS, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear visitor, thank you for your feedback on Our New boat tour from the town Ålesund to Geirangerfjord/UNESCO. As we know traveling on Public transportation or by car in off season has some challenges in Norway due to snow and Limited busses. So this tour is a great option to start in Ålesund and enjoy the Unesco Geirangerfjord in one day without hassle of driving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Geiranger Fjordservice AS also viewed

 
Geiranger, Stranda
 

Been to Geiranger Fjordservice AS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing