We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
Review of Grande Fjord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grande Fjord Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel is 1 or 2 km from the center of the town, and therefore away from the activity and facilities in town, but accordingly very quiet. This is a charming hotel with character. Our room was clean and comfortable, and had a balcony with wonderful views of the fjord. Both the dinner and breakfast were very good. This was the nicest of three hotels we stayed at in our driving tour of the fjords. The staff was friendly, helpful, and efficient. We readily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt245_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel is the excellent choice to avoid the crowds in Geiranger downtown! It offers excellent views from all rooms. Although the decor seems very outdated, the room and bath were clean and we slept very well. We stayed two nights here with our daughter and had dinner here on both evenings. The choice of the buffet was outstanding and we enjoyed the wonderful view from the six floor where the restaurant is located. In addition, the hotel offers complimentary coffee (cappuccino etc.) all day long. The breakfast was also very good and we can totally recommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Spent twelve nights in Norway touring around the Fjords and although we stayed in many comfortable hotels with scenic views this is a stand out.
We passed the hotel while on the ferry travelling into Geiranger.
The Hotel is situated slightly outside the touristy Geiranger town centre at the bottom of the Eagle's Road.
Room had a balcony with wonderful views over the Geiranger Fjord.
Very clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful.
Then there was the evening buffet. Absolutely fantastic - well worth the price.

Breakfast was equally as good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

As we had a rental car, it was really nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of town, otherwise, it is a bit of a hike to get to the action. Our room was basic but very comfortable with a nice balcony overlooking the fjord. It was a nice place to have an impromptu picnic lunch. The hotel itself is clean and well managed with friendly, helpful reception. The delicious and extensive breakfast buffet is served in a lovely dining room with beautiful views. There is also an evening buffet if you don't want to go to town. Coffee and tea are available for you to make throughout the day and there is a snug little bar for some local beer. Our room, like most of the rooms we had in Norway, did not have a safe and we were glad that we had brought our own toiletries. No complaints, though, as we really enjoyed our stay. Just a note, the hiking in the area is wonderful.

Room Tip: room with a view, definitely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

this hotel was the best part of my trip to norway. situated right overlooking the fjord, with nice rooms with balcony. breakfast was good. close to city centre. staff was helpful and had free parking. overall a great hotel and great location.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank kenstar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Really quite happy with our stay at Grand Fjord Hotel. We have also stayed at the Union Hotel in the past and it is very nice also. This hotel is also nice, quiet, clean an friendly. The difference is that this hotel has much more of a down home feeling, not a business like atmosphere and much more easy-going environment. Not a hurry and rush atmosphere with tour buses coming and going ( though they do have tour buses stopping here ), it just doesn't feel like the typical such. Views are stupendous and with most of the rooms being on the fjord side and with a balcony you really can not go wrong. Rooms are not fancy but nice and clean. Breakfasts, like usual in Norway, are something to write home about. they are, hands down, exceptional, and this hotel is not exception to that rule. With the cost of food in Norway being expensive, the breakfast included with the room makes the rate quite reasonable. You can not go wrong at this hotel, you will have a peaceful night's rest and with an outstanding view !

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and view of the fjord, if not you will be doing yourself a disservice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moldejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The location is terrific. The rooms with the balcony and the view on the Fiord - clean, sufficiently spacious and bright - allow to privately enjoy a wonderful panorama of Geiranger Fjord. Obviously they are not cheap, but they are worth the price. The restaurant - located at the 6th floor with a beautiful view of the fiord - offers an evening buffet of good quality and a sufficiently varied breakfast. Parking the car is easy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bianlu63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
1.6 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
596 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
347 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sagafjord Hotel
16.2 mi away
Grotli Hoyfjellshotell
17.8 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Fjord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Fjord Hotel

Address: Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grande Fjord Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Fjord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing