We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
TPHK
Hong Kong

Exceeded expectation

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Sept 2018
We were expecting an older property with dated furniture…but was pleasantly surprised by the new & modern looking hotel. Our room with fjord view with modern & simple decor was clean & comfortable. There’s a private balcony with 2 lounge chairs to admire the Geirangerfjord fjord, and beyond the balcony was a common terrace shared by probably 2-3 rooms. Nice to have a TV with good resolution to catch up with some world news, a cute Dyson heater fan, Duravit fittings & good quality amenities in the bathroom. The hotel offered a buffet dinner @NOR490/person, food was quite ok, not sumptuous but very reasonably priced considering the food cost in Norway.
Not cheap at NOK2450/night, but it was a good stay.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aleksander G, Manager at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 15 Nov 2018
Dear TPHK,
thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by our property. Hope to see you here again in the future!

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
1.6 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £162
  • travelup.com
1.3 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
1.9 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free parking
Uteområde - Store hytter / exclusive
Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
2.0 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£179
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £179
2.1 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.0 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.6 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
4.0 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
6.6 miles from Grande Fjord Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Geiranger
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
350
161
19
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
350
161
19
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dyson fan parked our car room had a small balcony hotel is located great view free parking breakfast was included breakfast and dinner coffee maker very nice hotel town buffet views norway fjord road simon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018

This is a casual but lovely hotel to stay in. The service is excellent and most of the rooms have a lovely view. Gowns, slippers and exquisite toiletry items are provided and the highlight is the restaurant. Their buffet table groans with fresh and beautifully prepared dishes. When we visited the local strawberries were sweet and irresistible. This is a great hotel to stay at when visiting the area. In addition it is not too big and has a warm and welcoming feeling.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aleksander G, Manager at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2018

Dear Charles,
thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so happy to hear that you appreciated our hotel and facilities. We hope to see you here again in the future!

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

This small, family run hotel, offers old world charm and outstanding service combined with modern facilities (even a dyson fan and coffee machine in every room), excellent food and a spectacular vista.

It is situated a little out of the town itself, which allows the natural serenity of this UNESCO area to prevail for its guests even when the big cruise ships arrive! The owners provided an "at call" car service in and out of town, which had the added benefit of providing an opportunity to gain some local knowledge and enjoy authentic interaction.

Personalised friendly service was always evident and extended to eggs of your choice being freshly cooked for the breakfast buffet and individualised pastas being prepared at the buffet dinner.

An exceptional stay in a magical part of Norway.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Australian-on-Bus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aleksander G, Manager at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2018

Hi,
thank you so much for your kind words. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you here again some time in the future.

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

It is not cheap to stay at this hotel, but it is worth it. It is located away from the crazy downtown Geiranger tourist center, and away from the large cruise ships that arrive every day during the summer. The room was comfortable with an espresso machine, modern fan, TV and comfortable beds. The bathroom is filled with high quality shampoo, conditioner, body location and soap. The view is outstanding.
As we parked the car at the entrance we were met and welcomed by a staff member. What a novelty! We arrived rather late in the evening with no reservation. But the sweet woman in the reception offered us a beautiful room. Associates with the hotel is a very elegant restaurant. They serve dinner buffet till 9pm and from a menu afterwards. While we only stayed one night we very much enjoyed this unique hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank reise-tanta-di
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aleksander G, Manager at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2018

Hi,
thank you so much for leaving us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and services we have. Hope to see you here again in the future!

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

ExLots of places to walk near, we enjoyed very muchcellent location. Amazing food. Nice and helpful staff. Clean small rooms are very nice and decorated. A balcony overlooking the fjord. Amazing view. A wonderful dinner

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pninabarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aleksander G, Manager at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2018

Dear Pnina B,
thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a kind review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and restaurant. Hope to see you here again in the future.

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

It is one of the most gorgeous hotels we have visited, magnificent views from the fjords ,the food and services are excellent , worth the trip from Alesund , we hope to come back many times.

The attention was outsanting

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Karin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aleksander G, Manager at Grande Fjord Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2018

Dear KFishman2014,
thank you so very much for your kind words. We are very happy to hear that you found the hotel and restaurant well worth the trip. Hope to see you here again sometime!

Best regards
Aleksander Grande,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews