We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views in Geiranger”
Review of Hotel Geiranger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Geiranger
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Best location in Geiranger.
Views from the Fjord rooms is amazing. Didn't understand the difference between the room types.
It's a big hotel, lower floors on the second, more water front building with even better uninterrupted view of the harbour and big cruise ships.

Rooms are dated and in need of a serious updating.

Dinner buffet full of group of tourists.

Room Tip: Try to ask for rooms on the lower floors in the second building. ONLY fjord views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank YaeliGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erot_13, Director of Sales at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

Dear Yaeli,

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is very important for us to hear your feedback after your stay at our hotel.

It is so nice to hear that you liked our fjord view rooms, we use to upgrade some rooms every winter when the hotel is closed. We hope we get the opportunity to show you these rooms, next time you decide to visit Geiranger and our hotel.

Wish you all the best,

Katrine Standahl
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a really nice time at Hotel Geiranger a couple of days ago. The room was great and had a really nice view overlooking the harbour. The staff we´re also really friendly.
Thanks for your hospitally, and we we´ll gladly come back.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Camilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erot_13, Manager at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Camilla,

Thank You so much for Your feedback. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed Your stay With us at Hotel Geiranger. Wishing you a still lovely summer and we hope you will Return soon.

Kind regards,

Maud Haldorsen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Geiranger Hotel may have been the hotel to stay... ages ago. One has to very careful when booking a room here. Make sure you get the room you expect, a fjord looking one. More expensive but that's what you are for. Any other room will be either tiny, stuffy, poorly maintained and with no views to speak of. Restaurant offers a expensive dinner and nothing to brag about. Breakfast very mediocre. If you can't get a accommodation in touristy Geiranger go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Cussons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erot_13, Director of Sales at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

Dear Cussons,

It is so nice to hear from you, and thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is very important for us and our hotel, and gives ut the opportunity to get better and better.

We apologize that you were not satisfied with us during your stay at our hotel. We hope that we can make it better next time you visit Geiranger.
Do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions, please email our hotel manager:
maud.haldorsen@hotel-geiranger.no

Hope to hear from you again,

Best,
Katrine Standahl
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel has an unbeatable location so close to the fjord and the shops and restaurants, and great views of the fjord and mountains.
Our room (no.1017) had a flat screen TV with the BBC, and two quite comfortable single beds with good reading lights. There was no bar fridge, kettle or safe, but it was a large room with a sofa, two comfortable chairs and a coffee table as well as a desk and chair, and a panoramic window with a view of the mountain. The furniture was a bit old but everything was very clean, and the bathroom had very good hot water, a combined bath and shower, a heated floor, and very nice soap and shampoo. There are some historic photos of the area in the rooms and hallways.
The buffet dinner was very good with a huge selection to choose from (including delicious soft-shell prawns) and the breakfast was good. And to this you have to add the pleasure of dining with a beautiful view of the fjord and mountains. The dining room and lobby get very busy with tour groups.
We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful (we used one of their laptops) and there is a nice sitting area next to reception.
We were here on Midsummer Night, but it was quiet and we slept well with the curtains keeping the room dark.
Some previous reviewers have complained most unreasonably about the style of the building, the furniture and much else, but unless you insist on five star standards in everything, you will love this place for its ambience, the comfort, the friendly service and especially the views. There are always some travellers who would be more at home in a palace.

Room Tip: For the best view of the fjord, book (and pay for) a balcony room in the main building. These are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stickman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erot_13, Manager at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you so much for Your lovely review.

We are glad you enjoyed Your stay With us at Hotel Geiranger.

We hope to welcome you back to us for a future occasion.

Wishing you a still amazing summer.

Kind regards,

Maud Haldorsen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Car parking is across the road, so it's better to off-load luggage in the large forecourt before parking up; also parking spaces are few, so get in early.

You're given a bewildering list of floors where the facilities are sited and, having just arrived, it's difficult to take it all in. Basically, floors 5 to 10 are on the reception side, others are across the road approached from a flying corridor.

The rooms are basic and tired, plumbing noisy and bed linen stained. There's a huge buffet dining room, full of Japanese coach tourists during our visit and a smaller bistro-type restaurant overlooking the fjord. The food is poor and expensive, so eat out if you can.

Not one I would want to return to in a hurry, but the scenery in this location is stunning.

Room Tip: Fjord view rooms are more expensive, but at least the views make up for the tired quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lancerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erot_13, Director of Sales at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

Dear Lancerlot,

Thank you for your feedback, it is very much appreciated and important for us. Your feedback gives ut the opportunity to improve ourselves.

We do appologize that you were not happy with you stay at our hotel, we do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back and make your next stay better. Regarding the room quality as you mention, we do our best to upgrade some rooms every winter when the hotel is closed.

If you have any further feedback or questions, please do contact the hotel manager on her email:
maud.haldorsen@hotel-geiranger.no

Wish you all the best,

Katrine Standahl
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A very soviet looking exterior and no less soviet looking suites: aside from the sleeping bed there were two soviet looking armchairs and a couch plus a round table with a fake rose in a vase! The double-size bed was literally a double bed - made up of two separate bed pulled together with a pretty large gap in between. Two separate blankets. There is neither fridge nor coffee/tea maker in the room. The internet is almost absent in the room except for the public areas such as lounge and the restaurant. The water temperature is fine yet pressure in the shower was low. The room has no such signs as "do not disturb", so a maiden can knock in the door or just come in to straighten the room at 10 am.
The only cool thing about the room was the thermally regulated floor in the bathroom.
The buffet breakfast was mediocre, very very basic.
The restaurant itself is very expensive, so we went for other options in the village of Geiranger.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Filifjonkan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erot_13, Director of Sales at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

Hi,

Thank you for you feedback, it is very much appreciated and important for us. This gives us the possitibily to improve ourselves.

We do appologize that you were not too happy with you stay at our hotel. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back and to make your next stay much better. Every winter when the hotel is closed, we update/renovate some rooms.
If you have any futher feedback or questions, please do contact our hotel manager on her email:
maud.haldorsen@hotel-geiranger.no

We hope to see you at our hotel again one day.

Wish you all the best,

Katrine Standahl
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Fixtures are old and need a bit of fixing up. Good location with cafes and small shops just 5 min walk away. A RV park is beside the hotel and has a coin laundry in it. Depending on your budget, I would rather choose the Union Hotel on the hill top above this hotel if possible.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank 2loveN2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erot_13, Director of Sales at Hotel Geiranger, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

Thank you for your feedback, it is very important for us.
Is it nice to hear that you are happy with the location as well as the small shops in walkin distance from the hotel.

We hope we can welcome you to our hotel next time you are in Geiranger.

Wish you all the best,

Katrine Standahl
Sales manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
0.3 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
596 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Stranda Hotel
Stranda Hotel
#5 of 5 in Stranda
44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lunheim Accomodation
Lunheim Accomodation
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
26 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grande Hytteutleige og Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geiranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geiranger

Address: Skansekaia, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range: £123 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Geiranger 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Geiranger is locaded in the heart of Geiranger. It is a short walk to the fjord sightseeing boat, souvernir shops, restaurants and the new Waterfall hiking path, which opened in 2014. We hope we get the pleasure to welcome you to Our hotel and to Geiranger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Geiranger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing