We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Union Geiranger
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Certificate of Excellence
Mercersburg, PA
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This is a very relaxing, enjoyable place to stay. The room was immaculate and the fjord view is worth the price. You can sleep with the window open and listen to cascading water all night. The spa vs. pool is a little confusing. Basically, the heated outdoor pool is really a huge hot tub with massaging jets etal. We had hiked up a cliff on the fjord and the heated pool felt great. The indoor pool is for swimming. You can pay extra for the spa which has higher amenities and a pool sans kids, so we skipped it. My only complaint is the restaurant system for breakfast. They assign a table for specific room numbers based on whether you had dinner there the night before. There were hundreds of empty tables at breakfast but you have to hunt for one without a room card on it. Seems ridiculous! The hotel is pricey, but I'd stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Pay for the fjord view, highest floor available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JEO_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    195
    73
    28
    9
See reviews for
120
241
29
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Lovely room (with view to the fjord and balcony - no. 481). Everything was very relaxing and our two kids had a wonderful time in the outdoor pool while it was raining.

I just don't understand why they are charging extra kr. 250,- pp for the spa considering that the hotel is fairly expensive anyway.

And we were even further surprised when we the morning after arrival found out that the spa entrance fee is per day and not for the whole stay. Meaning that if you buy access to the spa at arrival it will only be valid the same day and they do not mention that!

When I complained about this to the reception they just answered "that's the way it is" and did nothing about it.

Too bad for a hotel like this. Our stay could have been flawless.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennoksaakendte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The hotel is located a short walk up the road from the port area, convenient but less crowded during the day when the cruise ships come in. Our triple room on the top floor was a suite, spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom and a balcony. Unfortunately, we had no views as the windows looked over the main road.
Hotel has excellent breakfast buffet and two restaurants serving dinner, pleasant outside areas to enjoy the views, and indoor/outdoor pools that are quite nice.
Did not give the top rating for several reasons: room really needs an update (dated decor, one of the bed covers was burnt through, poor lighting in the bathroom, not enough outlets throughout); also service is very slow at the bar and in the restaurant, and there is constant confusion at breakfast because tables get reserved the night before (not sure why it is necessary with such a large dining room). At the price level, would expect these not be issues.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VasyaStamford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

True 4 star hotel, with proper service and amenities. We had a room in a newer part with the view over the fjord and you can open big double window to be closer to the nature. Rooms are spacious and clean. Excellent diner buffet as well as the breakfast. Some minor issues like charging 250 Kr for SPA access or adding 150 Kr to room service bill. As I said these are minor because anyway this is not a cheap hotel, however view over the fjord is wort it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waldemar Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Spent 4 nights here as my partner and I got married in Geiranger. The staff are all extremely helpful and the service is excellent.

Food at the buffet is very good in general.

Staying in a hotel means you see Geiranger when it isn't overflowing with cruise ship tourists which makes for a much more comfortable and pleasant experience. No offense! Just less hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattMakesPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is famous in Norway - and with views of the Geiranger fjord is no wonder. I had (unfortunatly) towards the mountain sides, but it was great sitting on the terrasse by the restautrant. Great food - really tasty seafood and local specialities served at the buffet. Dessert super tasty too. Ask for a room with a view towards the fjord - then my stay would have been just the best.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaatten79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is a lovely hotel. However I was a single person travelling with a group of friends and was given (as requested) a single room. The room I had was at the back of the hotel and it was quiet. The room was a good size as was the bathroom however my bed was the worst I had slept in during a 3 week tour of Sweden, Finland & Norway. The mattress was hard and very uncomfortable. There were 2 other singles in the group and they both had better rooms and better beds – guess I got the short straw here!!
On a more positive note the hotel is in a wonderful location and if you manage to get a room with a view it is sensational outlook. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the main town and harbour area and uphill coming back. We had an evening meal here and breakfast and both were fine. If I came back here again I would certainly ask for a better room with a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
1.6 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
152 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#1 of 3 in Loen
355 reviews
14.8 mi away
Grotli Hoyfjellshotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Geiranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Geiranger

Property: Hotel Union Geiranger
Address: Geiranger Rd, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Union Geiranger 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Union Geiranger - a family-run hotel steeped in tradition and situated in the midst of a world-renowned, stunningly beautiful Norwegian fjord landscape. Owned by the Mjelva family and run by the fourth generation, the Hotel Union is a first-class hotel with every modern facility, and a long and proud history of excellence. For over one hundred years, guests have been coming here to stay - and to experience something very special. The hotel offers the very best of personal service, stylish and comfortable accommodation, and superior cuisine, with delicious dishes based on the finest local ingredients. Geiranger has some of the most outstanding natural beauty in the world, as well as a fascinating cultural history. The Hotel Union Bath & Spa is of international standard and offers wellbeing and relaxation in a unique atmosphere and setting. We know that it is the little things and personal touches that add up to create a truly memorable experience. We take pride in making your special wish come true. For us no wish is too small - and none too great.The hotel has 197 rooms and suites (all rooms at the hotel are non-smoking), a restaurant seating 400 guests and a conference room with seating for 400 persons. Our dance bar "Studebaker`n Show Arena has live music six days a week. The hotel has a large garden with a swimming pool, mini golf and a popular playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Union Geiranger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiranger Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing