We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really pleasant hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Union Geiranger

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Union Geiranger
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
158 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A really pleasant hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We chose this hotel based upon the fact that it was the most expensive in the town. We were delighted with our choice. The views from the mountainside of the town, fjord, snow-capped mountains, and numerous waterfalls were spectacular - world class. Across the street was a raging river, falling more than flowing. The lounge was super comfortable and we were able to take our dinner there. A pianist played for supper both evenings. We enjoyed the indoor and outdoor swimming pools - the outdoor pool steaming in the mountain air. It was a short walk to the village which had two pleasant restaurants and was a starting point for fjord cruises, hiking, kayaking and the like. We drove six hours each way from Oslo just to get to this place and did not regret a minute of the time invested.

Room Tip: There is a fjord side and a mountain side - take the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    181
    64
    24
    8
See reviews for
107
222
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Nice hotel that needs some updating. We had a room with a balcony viewing the fjord. Beautiful location. Rooms are a little run down. Restaurant meals are buffets with lots of tour bus groups. Overall good experience but could be wonderful with 2 night minimums to runn off the overnight tour groups and finer dining. Buffet food was good however.

Room Tip: Request a room facing fjord
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXFoodie75230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights, to enjoy the fjord during a 2+ week vacation in Norway and Sweden. We were there in July 2011.

Indoor pool and outdoor jacuzzi. The spa is magnificent and wort the indulgence! With sauna, steam, jacuzzi, and a quiet area, for relaxation, tea, snacks, and spectacular views of the fjord. The spa also has options for massage and turkish steam bath.

The breakfast buffet had many options and was delicious.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the fjord are more expensive, and less available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave-in-BOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed here for one night on a week long tour of Norway (not a coach tour, a planned trip by ourselves) and wish we had stayed for longer! The location of the hotel is spectacular, right on the Geiranger Fjord, breathtaking views and simply stunning!

The hotel was very busy and there seemed to be a lot of coach trips booked in, most of the people we overheard were complaining about how expensive everything was, and this is true of Norway unfortunately, not just pertaining to this hotel.

We booked a junior suite with a fjord view and the room was spacious and well appointed. I would say it was a little out of date and could maybe do with upgrading but this didn't detract from the experience. The bed was comfortable, as was the seating area. We had room service for both dinner that night and breakfast the following morning. As we had been driving so much we just wanted to chill out in the room rather than join the masses in the restaurant. The food was excellent, as was the service.

If we come back to Norway we would definitely stay here again and this time for longer!

Room Tip: The suites were very good, didn't see any of the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShetlandPonyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

We had a Fjord view room on the third floor and room was specious and well laid out, maybe a little tired and close to needing a refit BUT comfortable and clean. Very quiet and with views that are worth the room price alone.
Superb, wish we had arranged to stay more than one night.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed one night on a Fjordtour. Very popular with bus tour groups. Geiranger is tiny so there are not many hotels or restaurants to choose from. You are kind of a captive audience. The rooms were large but not out of the ordinary. The restaurant food was good but incredibly expensive (even for Norway). Oh, and we got a special treat when using the hot tub - drunk, naked tour group.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve77346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

this was the 5th hotel of our tour, and after the previous hotels, was a welcome relief.
Check in was again handled by Laura, our tour director, so no problems there.
It felt as if we were given a room up the mountain, we had to walk so far from the elevator. However, the room was worth the long walk. It was big, the biggest we had to date in Scandinavia. Once on the balcony, one had a view over the outdoor heated pool and the fjord. This more than made up for the 2 single beds (again). TV had a good selection of English language channels, including some golden oldies like "Murder, She Wrote", and some others.
The bathroom was a nice size, and the seperate shower was really good.

Dinner was included in our 2 night stay, and was buffet. The group had to be there on time or else!! The selection of food was really good, but I did not like the fact that they served whale meat, which I suppose is one of the traditional Norwegian dishes. The food was also very good. But, if you do select the buffet, try to avoid eating at the same time as the groups, because when there are a few groups, the vrowds around the food can be really hectic. On the first night, waitress came around, asked if we would like to order drinks, and before we could place the order, she walked off.

Breakfast was good, also with a great selection of food. Again it could be a bit of a bun fight if a couple of groups were at breakfast. However, cleaning staff could do a better job of cleaning the floors after meals, as I did notice some traces of dropped food not being cleaned.

As a previous reviewer has stated, it is must to take a ferry on the fjord, as one would see some of the best scenery to be seen. Another must is the Troll Road, but rather pay to be driven, as you cannot admire the scenery and drive at the same time, as the road is really twisty, and one has to concentrate on the road.

I was disappointed with myslef for not making time to visit the vintage car museum in the hotel, but they do have one of the cars in the lobby.

It was a great stay at the Union, and would have received a 5 but for the crowds, service and the cleaning in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brutus_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
11.3 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lunheim Accomodation
Lunheim Accomodation
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grande Hytteutleige og Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Geiranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Geiranger

Property: Hotel Union Geiranger
Address: Geiranger Rd, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Union Geiranger 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Union Geiranger - a family-run hotel steeped in tradition and situated in the midst of a world-renowned, stunningly beautiful Norwegian fjord landscape. Owned by the Mjelva family and run by the fourth generation, the Hotel Union is a first-class hotel with every modern facility, and a long and proud history of excellence. For over one hundred years, guests have been coming here to stay - and to experience something very special. The hotel offers the very best of personal service, stylish and comfortable accommodation, and superior cuisine, with delicious dishes based on the finest local ingredients. Geiranger has some of the most outstanding natural beauty in the world, as well as a fascinating cultural history. The Hotel Union Bath & Spa is of international standard and offers wellbeing and relaxation in a unique atmosphere and setting. We know that it is the little things and personal touches that add up to create a truly memorable experience. We take pride in making your special wish come true. For us no wish is too small - and none too great.The hotel has 197 rooms and suites (all rooms at the hotel are non-smoking), a restaurant seating 400 guests and a conference room with seating for 400 persons. Our dance bar "Studebaker`n Show Arena has live music six days a week. The hotel has a large garden with a swimming pool, mini golf and a popular playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Union Geiranger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiranger Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing