We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Union Geiranger
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very good hotel that I will return to many times when I need a break from everyday life! Spa/Relax section was fresh and relaxing, the beds comfortable, and the food fantastic. (And I know I have quite high standards in that area)
Only negative is that the drinks were a little too expensive, even for being in Norway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sofia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is an older style historical hotel with great views overlooking the Geiranger Fiord. A steep mwalk down to the water front and a steeper walk back up is necessary, but if you follow the water rapids it is entertaining. The bedroom was large. The heating was difficult to reduce so we had to sleep with a window open which then filled the room with the noise from the water rapids close by. The shower OK. The wi-fi was free but fairly intermittent from the bedroom. Breakfast and dinner buffets were very ggood. The staff was very helpful with enquiries.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one that has views of the fiord
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodger52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed 2 glorious nights in a room with a view of the Fjord. Rooms Clean Bed comfortable. bathroom could be updated. Buffet Dinner or you can have a la carte in the Julia restaurant. Did not try the Sauna or Hot Tub Great walk down to the shops and jetty on the water. But beware it's a good haul up to the hotel. Hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noosasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel was lovely but only great for a short weekend away. The hotel and surroundings could not be faulted with a great food selection and lovely service. The only 2 negatives we had was that the room was so old, and unfashionable. Nothing nice and romantic about it for our first year anniversary!! There was no view, actually we were facing into the care takers living room next door! I just didn't understand this as the beautiful fjords were on the other side and the hotel was not full! This could have been due to the fact that we had a dog with us so we assigned an older room maybe. Also we had to pay and extra 300 kr to have our dog with us...... for what???? a gross room??? Our level had at least 5 other dogs so it was not like having a dog there was uncommon.
Apart from that it was a wonderful stay in a breathtakingly beautiful area! The out door spa is like something out of a dream!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayden_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed for a weekend, on a Family trip to Geiranger.
The room was very Nice, with large windows and a great view.
A sliding door allowed for plenty of fresh air.
The matress in the bed was worn, and compressed so much we could feel the hard bottom of the bed.
This caused poor sleeping quality, and is not acceptable at the room rate we were charged.
Also, the sound insulation was very poor and we could easily hear what was being said and done in other rooms from the bathroom in Our room.
Other than that, the room was Nice and clean.
The Bath area with indoor and outdoor pools was very Nice.
The veteran cars parked in the hotel lobby and exhibited in the hotel basement, was a great detail.
All the staff were professionally courtious, and we were given tips on hiking routes when we checked in.
Both the breakfast and dinner buffets were GREAT.
We really could eat as much as we wanted of a lot of wonderful and tasty dishes.

One thing though: When travelling in Our own country, we expect the staff to understand and speak a minimum of Norwegian.
All of the dining room staff only spoke English, and this led to a couple some misunderstanding while ordering wine for dinner.
For a guest, this could be a problem if one doesn't speak English at all, wich is very likely, especially for senior Citizens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors, facing the fjord, for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddawg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had a room overlooking the Fiord!! Absolute drop dead beautiful. I felt I was inside
Of a post card. We stayed 2 nights with the dinner package. Food was fantastic. The best
Part of the hotel was the outdoor heated pool/ one of the best I have ever been in.
No trip to Norway would be compleat without staying at this wonderful historic Hotel

Room Tip: Rooms with view !! Worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilates2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last week. The view was breath taking. We had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the fjord. The bed was very comfortable. It was clearly off season and the hotel was quiet with some limited services, which was ok with us. Breakfast was simple but good. The hiking is amazing with endless choices. One downside was the price, but unlike the previous reviewer, to us it was worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the renovated section and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMH_in_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
0.3 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
349 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
170 reviews
24.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sagafjord Hotel
24.0 mi away
First Hotel Raftevold
First Hotel Raftevold
#1 of 1 in Hornindal
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Geiranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Geiranger

Address: Geiranger Rd, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range: £144 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Union Geiranger 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Union Geiranger - a family-run hotel steeped in tradition and situated in the midst of a world-renowned, stunningly beautiful Norwegian fjord landscape. Owned by the Mjelva family and run by the fourth generation, the Hotel Union is a first-class hotel with every modern facility, and a long and proud history of excellence. For over one hundred years, guests have been coming here to stay - and to experience something very special. The hotel offers the very best of personal service, stylish and comfortable accommodation, and superior cuisine, with delicious dishes based on the finest local ingredients. Geiranger has some of the most outstanding natural beauty in the world, as well as a fascinating cultural history. The Hotel Union Bath & Spa is of international standard and offers wellbeing and relaxation in a unique atmosphere and setting. We know that it is the little things and personal touches that add up to create a truly memorable experience. We take pride in making your special wish come true. For us no wish is too small - and none too great.The hotel has 197 rooms and suites (all rooms at the hotel are non-smoking), a restaurant seating 400 guests and a conference room with seating for 400 persons. Our dance bar "Studebaker`n Show Arena has live music six days a week. The hotel has a large garden with a swimming pool, mini golf and a popular playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Union Geiranger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiranger Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing