We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel in Gerianger”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Union Geiranger
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have stayed in the hotel for a night while visiting Gerianger. Hotel is located close to village centre. We got a very nice room. I can recommend visit to the swimming pool, there is possibility to use outdoor pool which is very nice. Breakfast offers a lot of choice. I like a lot. I would be happy to visit this hotel again!

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms with fiord view are worthy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Hotel Union is situated looking straight down the Geiranger Fjord which is a view you never get sick of looking at. The hotel is still owned by the original family who offer a friendly welcome and make you feel at home. The bedrooms are comfortable and even though we had a back room we still had a nice view of the mountains and a waterfall that makes it's way down to the fjord right past the hotel. Buffet dinners and breakfast have a large variety of food but my only complaint was that due to the large number of guests the kitchen could not keep up with demand. Suggest there be two sitting so that things could be more orderly. The hotel has a large collection of antique cars in the basements which is worth a look we understand you can hire them for weddings etc. Also there is indoor pools and an outside hot spar. This is a nice hotel to stay at and enjoy one of the great fjord in Norway and the world.

Room Tip: See if you can have a room looking over the fjord
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murarrielen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arriving at the Hotel Union, one might think they have found a gem. You are greeted with an antique Buick, a very spacious lobby, and warm and friendly staff. However one should temper expectations because initial impressions may change when you see the room. During our weeklong trip to Norway, we found our room at the Hotel Union was below average. In an effort to reduce stress and simplify planning, we booked through a travel agent paying a premium to stay at nice hotels with superior rooms, we learned after our trip started that booking agent only reserved standard rooms. At some hotels the standard room was fine but at the Hotel Union the room was very utilitarian (below expectations), the second story room we received had no view of the fjord, we had difficulty accessing the Internet and the room was hot (no air conditioning which is common) requiring us to open the windows but we could not leave them fully open because someone could easily climb into the room.

The room was clean and size was good. There is a small dim bathroom with older style fixtures; a decent sized sitting area (small couch, chair and coffee table) near the window but one could not reach Internet from this location; a desk with a TV, mini-bar, a nice closet (with bathrobes and slippers), and two places to set luggage (a plus); and multiple plugs for charging electronics (a plus). The bed was a king sized (two twin bed toppers on top of a platform) with comforters, but the pillows were small and thin. As I mentioned earlier there are three large windows that ventilate the room, but these could not be left fully open because the opening is large enough to permit someone to enter the room. The only other open position would not stay open without being propped and did not provide a lot of airflow. It was nearly two in the morning before the room was comfortable. We had hoped to sit in the room, relax, sip wine, enjoy the fjord and get caught up with the world after being on the road for the previous 12 hours, however, the lack of view, room temperature, and difficulty reaching the Internet from the room (except from the bathroom) made this impractical.

Breakfast buffet was impressive. Fruit and cereal bar, fish, hot breakfast, bread, they have it all including a chef to prepare eggs for you. It is good fare. We arrived early for breakfast and it was nice, one can sit outside and enjoy a view of the Fjord. While we enjoyed breakfast, the morning rush started and we watch the staff get quickly overwhelmed trying hard to keep up. Probably best to go early.

The Hotel Union appears to be a popular place and stays busy. The international staff is very helpful and friendly. However for us the room was important and it simply did not measure up. We would not recommend a second-story room and would ask to be put in the new portion of the hotel if we ever go back.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the second floor, get a high level floor in the newer portion of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaveGski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent 2 nights at the hotel and had a great stay. The front desk is friendly and efficient, the rooms are clean and comfortable. There is an indoor/ outdoor pool as well as a nice spa. Do not miss the antique cars in the basement. The hotel owns a collection of cars from a 1919 Cadillac on to 1934 studebaker to 1930 ford truck. The Germans commandeered them during WW2 and the hotel owners went and got them back after the war. The family that owns the hotel hosted a dinner one night we were there and are on site to make sure guests needs are met. The hotel went above and beyond when our daughter sprained her ankle. They provided a wheelchair and crutches and let us use the crutches all the way back to the airport and made arrangements to get them back. This is our favorite hotel in Norway. An all around great hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank KBD87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Union Hotel sits above the little hamlet of Geiranger and the walk down follows a bubbling stream that froths and falls over stones as it rushes down to the fjord below. The views from the hotel are fantastic! The day we arrived there were several tours arriving. The buffet supper was a real bear garden of people pushing to approach the food. The food was delicious, varied and plentiful but access was a trial and it was very noisy too. I had no wish to eat my next evening meal there as it was too like a scrum! Breakfasts were excellent. The hotel is still in the hands of the original family who founded it about 150 years ago. They own a wonderful collection of vintage cars that are kept in the basement.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at the Hotel Union with my son on a very special trip to Norway. It is the best possible position in Geiranger with spectacular views over the fjord and right next to the museum and the dramatic waterfall. The staff welcomed us like family and the rooms were spacious with wonderful views to the fjord. The buffet was very impressive with lots of fresh seafood, salads and cooked dishes to choose from. Best of all is the spa which is world class with amazing views over the fjord from the relax areas - better than my favourite Coworth Park (Dorchester Group) ! We will definitely go back, it really was the best holiday we have had!!! Olivia

Room Tip: Fjord view rooms are best. If you can afford it, the suites are spectacular and visited by royalty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank olivia24fm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Union Hotel is a historic , family-run hotel that was once renowned for elegance and luxury. There is no doubting that it occupies a prime position looking down on the truly spectacular fjord. It also has a lovely , spacious lounge area, terraces and restaurant with fantastic views and a great spa area with a large pool, outdoor hot tub and children's pool. There are also extensive conference/meeting areas. Unusually, it also has a superb collection of historic and beautifully restored vintage cars that were once (and still occasionally) used to ferry guests from the waterside up the short but steep road to the hotel. The restaurant is large and very busy but the food was good and the staff coped well with the 'rush hour' at breakfast.

There is a relatively new wing but in the main part the rooms were disappointingly dated; though functional and clean they just seemed dull and not up to the standard of other similar -grade hotels we had used.

I really liked the hotel, its fantastic location and the interesting history, but I hope it doesn't take its position for granted and invests to keep up with its competitors.

Finally, if it was previously necessary to provide cars for the run from the town to the hotel, I can't understand why they don't now provide a regular shuttle bus for those guests unwilling or unable to make the steep (admittedly delightful) walk to town.

Room Tip: Everyone wants a fjord view but those at the back still have a view of the mountain and waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sussex_wanderers051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sindre M, Eier at Hotel Union Geiranger, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014
Google Translation

Kjære gjest.
Viser til deres tilbakemelding via triadvisor.
Vi ønsker at alle våre gjester skal være fornøyd, og vi jobber hele tiden med å forbedre oss.
Vi ønsker derfor litt mere informasjon fra dere.
Hvilken dato bode dere her, og på hvilket rom?
Ser frem til å høre fra dere.

Refering to your feedback via tripadvisor.
Before we can come up with a response, we would like some more information.
What date you stayed here, and in which room?

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
0.3 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
349 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#1 of 3 in Loen
410 reviews
16.9 mi away
Stranda Hotel
Stranda Hotel
#5 of 5 in Stranda
46 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Geiranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Geiranger

Address: Geiranger Rd, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range: £158 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Union Geiranger 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Union Geiranger - a family-run hotel steeped in tradition and situated in the midst of a world-renowned, stunningly beautiful Norwegian fjord landscape. Owned by the Mjelva family and run by the fourth generation, the Hotel Union is a first-class hotel with every modern facility, and a long and proud history of excellence. For over one hundred years, guests have been coming here to stay - and to experience something very special. The hotel offers the very best of personal service, stylish and comfortable accommodation, and superior cuisine, with delicious dishes based on the finest local ingredients. Geiranger has some of the most outstanding natural beauty in the world, as well as a fascinating cultural history. The Hotel Union Bath & Spa is of international standard and offers wellbeing and relaxation in a unique atmosphere and setting. We know that it is the little things and personal touches that add up to create a truly memorable experience. We take pride in making your special wish come true. For us no wish is too small - and none too great.The hotel has 197 rooms and suites (all rooms at the hotel are non-smoking), a restaurant seating 400 guests and a conference room with seating for 400 persons. Our dance bar "Studebaker`n Show Arena has live music six days a week. The hotel has a large garden with a swimming pool, mini golf and a popular playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Union Geiranger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiranger Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing