We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Union Geiranger
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights as a part of a company conference. We all had a brilliant time, especially those of us who got assigned rooms with ceiling to floor stunning views over the Geiranger Fjord. The Spa is one of the best I have ever experienced and the outdoor heated pool with a view was an excellent treat for swimming before breakfast. The food in the restaurant was top notch, and the recommended wines complemented the meals beautifully. Don't pass down the opportunity if you get the chance of a guided tour of the hotels very own car museum.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Woman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is the most amazing hotel ever , great view , beautiful rooms , pool, it is located close to a waterfall. At night you lay down in your bed watching geiranger fjord , listening to the waterfall and watching the cruises come and go , with all the nature around you , big mountains around you , the best experience!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to the Fjord it worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gonzalo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The day spa at this hotel is wonderful and a first class experience. The buffet dinner and the breakfast had plenty of options but as other reviewers have stated, extremely busy. The foyer and surrounding environment were spectacular. Our room was dated and dusty, old curtains and bedspreads etc witha view of the carpak. The cars in the garage are worth a trip to see. The hotel has a lot of history and if you get one of the older rooms you can experience it,

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the fjord. Upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pussycat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have stayed in the hotel for a night while visiting Gerianger. Hotel is located close to village centre. We got a very nice room. I can recommend visit to the swimming pool, there is possibility to use outdoor pool which is very nice. Breakfast offers a lot of choice. I like a lot. I would be happy to visit this hotel again!

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms with fiord view are worthy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Hotel Union is situated looking straight down the Geiranger Fjord which is a view you never get sick of looking at. The hotel is still owned by the original family who offer a friendly welcome and make you feel at home. The bedrooms are comfortable and even though we had a back room we still had a nice view of the mountains and a waterfall that makes it's way down to the fjord right past the hotel. Buffet dinners and breakfast have a large variety of food but my only complaint was that due to the large number of guests the kitchen could not keep up with demand. Suggest there be two sitting so that things could be more orderly. The hotel has a large collection of antique cars in the basements which is worth a look we understand you can hire them for weddings etc. Also there is indoor pools and an outside hot spar. This is a nice hotel to stay at and enjoy one of the great fjord in Norway and the world.

Room Tip: See if you can have a room looking over the fjord
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murarrielen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arriving at the Hotel Union, one might think they have found a gem. You are greeted with an antique Buick, a very spacious lobby, and warm and friendly staff. However one should temper expectations because initial impressions may change when you see the room. During our weeklong trip to Norway, we found our room at the Hotel Union was below average. In an effort to reduce stress and simplify planning, we booked through a travel agent paying a premium to stay at nice hotels with superior rooms, we learned after our trip started that booking agent only reserved standard rooms. At some hotels the standard room was fine but at the Hotel Union the room was very utilitarian (below expectations), the second story room we received had no view of the fjord, we had difficulty accessing the Internet and the room was hot (no air conditioning which is common) requiring us to open the windows but we could not leave them fully open because someone could easily climb into the room.

The room was clean and size was good. There is a small dim bathroom with older style fixtures; a decent sized sitting area (small couch, chair and coffee table) near the window but one could not reach Internet from this location; a desk with a TV, mini-bar, a nice closet (with bathrobes and slippers), and two places to set luggage (a plus); and multiple plugs for charging electronics (a plus). The bed was a king sized (two twin bed toppers on top of a platform) with comforters, but the pillows were small and thin. As I mentioned earlier there are three large windows that ventilate the room, but these could not be left fully open because the opening is large enough to permit someone to enter the room. The only other open position would not stay open without being propped and did not provide a lot of airflow. It was nearly two in the morning before the room was comfortable. We had hoped to sit in the room, relax, sip wine, enjoy the fjord and get caught up with the world after being on the road for the previous 12 hours, however, the lack of view, room temperature, and difficulty reaching the Internet from the room (except from the bathroom) made this impractical.

Breakfast buffet was impressive. Fruit and cereal bar, fish, hot breakfast, bread, they have it all including a chef to prepare eggs for you. It is good fare. We arrived early for breakfast and it was nice, one can sit outside and enjoy a view of the Fjord. While we enjoyed breakfast, the morning rush started and we watch the staff get quickly overwhelmed trying hard to keep up. Probably best to go early.

The Hotel Union appears to be a popular place and stays busy. The international staff is very helpful and friendly. However for us the room was important and it simply did not measure up. We would not recommend a second-story room and would ask to be put in the new portion of the hotel if we ever go back.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the second floor, get a high level floor in the newer portion of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaveGski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent 2 nights at the hotel and had a great stay. The front desk is friendly and efficient, the rooms are clean and comfortable. There is an indoor/ outdoor pool as well as a nice spa. Do not miss the antique cars in the basement. The hotel owns a collection of cars from a 1919 Cadillac on to 1934 studebaker to 1930 ford truck. The Germans commandeered them during WW2 and the hotel owners went and got them back after the war. The family that owns the hotel hosted a dinner one night we were there and are on site to make sure guests needs are met. The hotel went above and beyond when our daughter sprained her ankle. They provided a wheelchair and crutches and let us use the crutches all the way back to the airport and made arrangements to get them back. This is our favorite hotel in Norway. An all around great hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank KBD87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
0.3 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
347 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sagafjord Hotel
19.0 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
169 reviews
14.8 mi away
Grotli Hoyfjellshotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Geiranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Geiranger

Address: Geiranger Rd, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range: £153 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Union Geiranger 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Union Geiranger - a family-run hotel steeped in tradition and situated in the midst of a world-renowned, stunningly beautiful Norwegian fjord landscape. Owned by the Mjelva family and run by the fourth generation, the Hotel Union is a first-class hotel with every modern facility, and a long and proud history of excellence. For over one hundred years, guests have been coming here to stay - and to experience something very special. The hotel offers the very best of personal service, stylish and comfortable accommodation, and superior cuisine, with delicious dishes based on the finest local ingredients. Geiranger has some of the most outstanding natural beauty in the world, as well as a fascinating cultural history. The Hotel Union Bath & Spa is of international standard and offers wellbeing and relaxation in a unique atmosphere and setting. We know that it is the little things and personal touches that add up to create a truly memorable experience. We take pride in making your special wish come true. For us no wish is too small - and none too great.The hotel has 197 rooms and suites (all rooms at the hotel are non-smoking), a restaurant seating 400 guests and a conference room with seating for 400 persons. Our dance bar "Studebaker`n Show Arena has live music six days a week. The hotel has a large garden with a swimming pool, mini golf and a popular playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Union Geiranger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiranger Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing