We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for a relaxing stay in scenic Norway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Union Geiranger
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a relaxing stay in scenic Norway”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Norway is scenic and Geiranger Fjord is one of the most scenic places we've ever been. The view from the hotel is fantastic, if you can get it that is. We booked a long time in advance so room price was about right for Norway but of course we weren't given a room overlooking the fjord, but just the garden. We were going to eat at the buffet but when we found out the exorbitant price, we cancelled. Accordingly, the next morning we didn't get a window seat at breakfast - those seem reserved for people who had the buffet - then found the empty table by the window that had been allotted to us but we didn't get - it stood empty for breakfast. Nevertheless, it is still a great hotel. The indoor pool was great fun and the outdoor warm pool with spa jets and even a "waterfall" was also luxurious. We didn't use the spa facilities but if you can afford them, I'm sure it would be great. The breakfasts were scrumptious. No major problem parking - our 4WD Volvo XC70 was quite happy on the grass as no spots left in the carpark. There can be a traffic jam on the one road down to the fjord when the buses are arriving or departing. There is a very nice scenic new pathway beside the waterfall from the hotel down to the fjord. No regrets and would stay there again, but would ask for a room with a view (depending on cost) and still eat at one of the many eateries in Geiranger, or just buy ready-made meals at the Joker (supermarket chain in Norway). The day-trip with Coastal Odyssey (kayak & hike) was the highlight of our holiday, and just a short walk (15 minutes) down from the hotel to the Joker carpark. By the way, the wifi was horrible.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crimitorii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    181
    65
    24
    8
See reviews for
109
222
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Modern hotel with tradition from 1880ies. Great view of one of the world`s most beautiful fjords. Breathtaking steps along waterfalls and river from the fjord and up to the hotel. Offers the best buffet dinner of
any hotel I have visited in my 75 years of eating.
For my wife and me one visit every summer is a must.

Room Tip: View of the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Tori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location to enjoy one of Norway's most beautiful fjords. Add to that the incredible, rushing waterfall and stream that runs alongside and in front of the property and this makes it a perfect place to enjoy the best of nature. There is a pathway with a lot of stairs that runs beside the waterfall. Really worth the walk. We stayed in a large suite that was very big, comfortable, well decorated and had incredible views. The rest of the hotel is a bit more dated but the pool indoor and outdoor are very nice. The food was good and the staff friendly. This is a fantastic place worth visiting.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovenlaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is in pole position at the top of the waterfall with stunning views over Geiranger Fjord.

We were there on a rare sunny day in July, and having hiked up there via hundreds of steps next to the spectacular waterfall from our cruise ship, we were parched and in need of a drink.

A pint bottle of local porter ale and half a lager cost.........wait for it.........NOK 220 Norwegian Kronor = GBP £22.09 = USD $38.00!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am widely travelled - to 89 countries - and have paid top dollar in The Burj al Arab in Dubai, Venice, Portofino and the South of France but Hotel Union wins first prize for overcharging! Although all booze in Norway is highly taxed.

Save up and go there if you are there on a clear day - the view is worth it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bollinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

With only 4 hotels in Geiranger finding a room can be a challenge. We were stuck staying at this very expensive hotel. It was nice but mostly focuses on the extras. The pool is great and the outdoor hot tub can't be beat (the views are amazing). The breakfast was also really good. The room, I would say, wasn't anything special. It was clean and nice but not as nice as I had expected. If you can afford a little extra I would recommend Hotel Union (the spa is apparently very good but costs extra)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I have just had a great two day stay at the Hotel Union. We arrived late in the afternoon and were given a very friendly greeting by the people at reception. We'd had a slight accident with the car on the road to Geiranger and they were so helpful in giving us advice on informing the police and getting the right phone number for us. We felt so much better for that.
Our room had a huge window which overlooked the fjord. We'd expected there to be noise from the road but actually the only sound was the waterfall which was very restful.
The evening buffet was quite busy but there was a great selection of dishes. The breakfast was equally good - we didn't need lunch on ether day of our stay.
Perhaps best of all was the spa facility. After several days on the road it was great to spend several hours on the terrace, dipping in and out of the pool and the sauna, and enjoying the great food from the café.
The public areas inside the hotel are very spacious, with lots of comfortable seating inside and out. The décor might be a little dated but that just adds to the charm of the place.
Although Geiranger itself is quite a touristy place, the Hotel Union is worth the trip in itself to recharge the batteries before hitting the fjords and mountains again. When leaving or arriving, do take the car ferry because it gives you a different and, for the driver, more relaxed view of the fjord.

Room Tip: Get a fjord view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights as a part of a company conference. We all had a brilliant time, especially those of us who got assigned rooms with ceiling to floor stunning views over the Geiranger Fjord. The Spa is one of the best I have ever experienced and the outdoor heated pool with a view was an excellent treat for swimming before breakfast. The food in the restaurant was top notch, and the recommended wines complemented the meals beautifully. Don't pass down the opportunity if you get the chance of a guided tour of the hotels very own car museum.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
1.6 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lunheim Accomodation
Lunheim Accomodation
#1 of 1 in Geiranger
16 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grande Hytteutleige og Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Geiranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Geiranger

Property: Hotel Union Geiranger
Address: Geiranger Rd, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Union Geiranger 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Union Geiranger - a family-run hotel steeped in tradition and situated in the midst of a world-renowned, stunningly beautiful Norwegian fjord landscape. Owned by the Mjelva family and run by the fourth generation, the Hotel Union is a first-class hotel with every modern facility, and a long and proud history of excellence. For over one hundred years, guests have been coming here to stay - and to experience something very special. The hotel offers the very best of personal service, stylish and comfortable accommodation, and superior cuisine, with delicious dishes based on the finest local ingredients. Geiranger has some of the most outstanding natural beauty in the world, as well as a fascinating cultural history. The Hotel Union Bath & Spa is of international standard and offers wellbeing and relaxation in a unique atmosphere and setting. We know that it is the little things and personal touches that add up to create a truly memorable experience. We take pride in making your special wish come true. For us no wish is too small - and none too great.The hotel has 197 rooms and suites (all rooms at the hotel are non-smoking), a restaurant seating 400 guests and a conference room with seating for 400 persons. Our dance bar "Studebaker`n Show Arena has live music six days a week. The hotel has a large garden with a swimming pool, mini golf and a popular playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Union Geiranger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiranger Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing