We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Norway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Union Geiranger
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just stayed at one of the most beautiful locations that the world has to offer. Heir anger Fjord is breathtakingly beautiful and the Hotel Union sits directly above it. Our rooms had the most fantastic views.
As you should expect from such a smart hotel, in such an idyllic location, service and quality were faultless. The welcome as soon as you enter was really lovely, and our stay just got better and better.
Costs were very fair, even surprisingly good considering that this is Norway, and this is one of the Top Spots in Scandinavia
The walks to the mountains above the Fjord are quite challenging, but worth every step.
This is a 'must not miss' place, and Hotel Union is just the most fabulous place to stay whilst here.
Thank you Geiranger. We shall return! X

Room Tip: Ask for a Fjord view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Norway is scenic and Geiranger Fjord is one of the most scenic places we've ever been. The view from the hotel is fantastic, if you can get it that is. We booked a long time in advance so room price was about right for Norway but of course we weren't given a room overlooking the fjord, but just the garden. We were going to eat at the buffet but when we found out the exorbitant price, we cancelled. Accordingly, the next morning we didn't get a window seat at breakfast - those seem reserved for people who had the buffet - then found the empty table by the window that had been allotted to us but we didn't get - it stood empty for breakfast. Nevertheless, it is still a great hotel. The indoor pool was great fun and the outdoor warm pool with spa jets and even a "waterfall" was also luxurious. We didn't use the spa facilities but if you can afford them, I'm sure it would be great. The breakfasts were scrumptious. No major problem parking - our 4WD Volvo XC70 was quite happy on the grass as no spots left in the carpark. There can be a traffic jam on the one road down to the fjord when the buses are arriving or departing. There is a very nice scenic new pathway beside the waterfall from the hotel down to the fjord. No regrets and would stay there again, but would ask for a room with a view (depending on cost) and still eat at one of the many eateries in Geiranger, or just buy ready-made meals at the Joker (supermarket chain in Norway). The day-trip with Coastal Odyssey (kayak & hike) was the highlight of our holiday, and just a short walk (15 minutes) down from the hotel to the Joker carpark. By the way, the wifi was horrible.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Crimitorii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Modern hotel with tradition from 1880ies. Great view of one of the world`s most beautiful fjords. Breathtaking steps along waterfalls and river from the fjord and up to the hotel. Offers the best buffet dinner of
any hotel I have visited in my 75 years of eating.
For my wife and me one visit every summer is a must.

Room Tip: View of the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 101Tori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location to enjoy one of Norway's most beautiful fjords. Add to that the incredible, rushing waterfall and stream that runs alongside and in front of the property and this makes it a perfect place to enjoy the best of nature. There is a pathway with a lot of stairs that runs beside the waterfall. Really worth the walk. We stayed in a large suite that was very big, comfortable, well decorated and had incredible views. The rest of the hotel is a bit more dated but the pool indoor and outdoor are very nice. The food was good and the staff friendly. This is a fantastic place worth visiting.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovenlaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is in pole position at the top of the waterfall with stunning views over Geiranger Fjord.

We were there on a rare sunny day in July, and having hiked up there via hundreds of steps next to the spectacular waterfall from our cruise ship, we were parched and in need of a drink.

A pint bottle of local porter ale and half a lager cost.........wait for it.........NOK 220 Norwegian Kronor = GBP £22.09 = USD $38.00!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am widely travelled - to 89 countries - and have paid top dollar in The Burj al Arab in Dubai, Venice, Portofino and the South of France but Hotel Union wins first prize for overcharging! Although all booze in Norway is highly taxed.

Save up and go there if you are there on a clear day - the view is worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Bollinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

With only 4 hotels in Geiranger finding a room can be a challenge. We were stuck staying at this very expensive hotel. It was nice but mostly focuses on the extras. The pool is great and the outdoor hot tub can't be beat (the views are amazing). The breakfast was also really good. The room, I would say, wasn't anything special. It was clean and nice but not as nice as I had expected. If you can afford a little extra I would recommend Hotel Union (the spa is apparently very good but costs extra)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rustenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I have just had a great two day stay at the Hotel Union. We arrived late in the afternoon and were given a very friendly greeting by the people at reception. We'd had a slight accident with the car on the road to Geiranger and they were so helpful in giving us advice on informing the police and getting the right phone number for us. We felt so much better for that.
Our room had a huge window which overlooked the fjord. We'd expected there to be noise from the road but actually the only sound was the waterfall which was very restful.
The evening buffet was quite busy but there was a great selection of dishes. The breakfast was equally good - we didn't need lunch on ether day of our stay.
Perhaps best of all was the spa facility. After several days on the road it was great to spend several hours on the terrace, dipping in and out of the pool and the sauna, and enjoying the great food from the café.
The public areas inside the hotel are very spacious, with lots of comfortable seating inside and out. The décor might be a little dated but that just adds to the charm of the place.
Although Geiranger itself is quite a touristy place, the Hotel Union is worth the trip in itself to recharge the batteries before hitting the fjords and mountains again. When leaving or arriving, do take the car ferry because it gives you a different and, for the driver, more relaxed view of the fjord.

Room Tip: Get a fjord view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geiranger
0.3 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
349 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
170 reviews
24.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sagafjord Hotel
24.0 mi away
First Hotel Raftevold
First Hotel Raftevold
#1 of 1 in Hornindal
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Union Geiranger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Union Geiranger

Address: Geiranger Rd, Geiranger, Stranda 6216, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Geiranger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Geiranger
Price Range: £144 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Union Geiranger 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Union Geiranger - a family-run hotel steeped in tradition and situated in the midst of a world-renowned, stunningly beautiful Norwegian fjord landscape. Owned by the Mjelva family and run by the fourth generation, the Hotel Union is a first-class hotel with every modern facility, and a long and proud history of excellence. For over one hundred years, guests have been coming here to stay - and to experience something very special. The hotel offers the very best of personal service, stylish and comfortable accommodation, and superior cuisine, with delicious dishes based on the finest local ingredients. Geiranger has some of the most outstanding natural beauty in the world, as well as a fascinating cultural history. The Hotel Union Bath & Spa is of international standard and offers wellbeing and relaxation in a unique atmosphere and setting. We know that it is the little things and personal touches that add up to create a truly memorable experience. We take pride in making your special wish come true. For us no wish is too small - and none too great.The hotel has 197 rooms and suites (all rooms at the hotel are non-smoking), a restaurant seating 400 guests and a conference room with seating for 400 persons. Our dance bar "Studebaker`n Show Arena has live music six days a week. The hotel has a large garden with a swimming pool, mini golf and a popular playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Union Geiranger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geiranger Union Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing