We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay for some days, but could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Alvor Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luna Alvor Village
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for some days, but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Good place to stay, comfortable and very relaxing. I think that the pool area could be better, specially because it's not very appealing to children. The big lawn could be replaced for a larger and fresher pool area. The breakfast was poor, but the breakfast room is very nice. The apartments are big, have big balconies and have a nice place for making your own meals. I might come back, if the prices are not very high.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    159
    36
    8
    3
See reviews for
125
231
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

All the reviews enthusing over the size and facilities of the rooms are certainly correct about the Luna Alvor Village. More apartment than hotel room with kitchen stocked with enough equipment to happily rustle up a meal or too if you wished to (though the amount of lovely restaurants in Alvor mean you don't really get the use out of it!). Spacious bathroom with good shower over the bath & complimentary toiletries. Everything very clean and maid service daily. Lots of choice for breakfast though gets a bit samey towards the end of the week. As mentioned before the pool area is very nice but not enough sun beds and loungers unless you get up early. Alvor is a lovely place and the centre of town is about a 15 minute walk downhill from the hotel, the beach which is fabulously sandy and clean is about another 15 minute walk further on from the village. Hotel very quiet and peaceful with pleasant staff and we would not hesitate to come back here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel have a pool view and sun in the morning, those at the front get the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda_PaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Just returned today from a 10 night stay at this hotel. It was all we wanted in a relaxing holiday. We stayed in a studio room, which was huge with twin beds (only downside) a sofa bed and a full kitchen area. We had a large balcony facing the front which was lovely as it got the sun in the late afternoon and early evening. Bathroom modern with good shower and spa bath. Also had hairdryer, shaving mirror, toiletries. Towels changed daily and bed made up,but room only cleaned 1 or 2 times. Also had ironing board and iron but don't think there were laundry facilities.
Breakfast was good range of continental and cooked, bit the same each day but think that is normal. Hotel also made up food parcel for early starts if required.
Courtesy bus to town and beach 3 times per day but local bus stop outside for other times and good taxi service.. bus and taxi fare similar around 4 euros. Although walk was good - around 15 mins to town, and 30 mins walk to beach.
Pool was nice and relaxing, but some days hard to get a bed and parasol. Staff were nice and helpful and all spoke English.

Only downside was we had booked half board to be told on arrival they don't do evening food, instead we got vouchers for 4 local restaurants, spread through out the town. It gave us more choice although for most of the restaurants we had to have the tourist menu, which was limited. The best restaurant however was the closest one Don Joao, they were really lovely and would let us order main meal up to 8 euros and pay difference. House wine 1,50 a glass, large beer around 2 euros. Fillet steak 12 euros and monkfish kebab 8.50.. All really good value and lovely. However if we had known in advance would have booked self catering and not half board to get better choice.

Alvor is very quaint, lots of lovely restaurants - especially if you like steak and fish. One highly recommended is Ruccula, which you may need to book in advance, Had the most amazing meal for around 30 euros each including 3 courses, and wine, a really special night!

Some entertainment in the pubs but generally a laid back resort - wouldnt recommend for party goers.

Would not hesitate to return for another visit!

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms cost more, but get sun in the morning. Front facing get it in the late afternoon s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Setdancer9292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

When staying in Alvor at another hotel, my partner and myself had passed The Luna Alvor Village and had commented on how nice it looked. We have a timeshare suite at The Pestana Alvor Park Hotel but it is only for a week, so we book in at another hotel in Alvor for a few days to extend our holiday, this year we booked into The Luna Alvor Village for 4 nights. The hotel is a 10 minute walk into Alvor, and it is up hill on the way back, but a taxi will only cost you just under 4 Euro.
Arriving at 9.00 pm the hotel looks very inviting, it is very well lit up. The receptionist was at his desk and was very polite and friendly. We were handed the keys to our studio plus which was on the second floor, there are two glass lifts which were both quick and quiet.
The suite was superb, very very clean and spacious. The kitchen has everything that you would need. The 2 single beds that are placed together are big and comfortable. A nice touch is the swivel TV, so you can view it when you are in bed or when you are relaxing on the sofa. The balcony is large and even though the road is not far away, the area is quiet.
The buffet breakfast is more than ample, with quite a choice of food, however we found the "bacon" was prosciutto and not to our taste. Bar and snack prices were very reasonable for a hotel, and there was a lovely large patio area to relax in.
There was only one area that could be improved, there was not enough parasols for the amount of sunbeds around the pool, and we witnessed an argument about towels being left on unused sunbeds, unfortunately one of the parties tried to find someone from the hotel to resolve the problem, and the staff member (it was not a receptionist) who tried to help did not have the competence to sort out the trouble.
We will be returning to Alvor in 2 years time, and we will certainly book our extra days stay in The Alvor Village.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ukscoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

After a terrible start to our holiday and asking Jet2 to move us apartments we got moved to the Luna Village from walking in it was clean smelt very fresh our room which was a family delux room 302 was absolutley massive we even had our own jacuzzi.
Our room which had 2 massive bedroom 2 bathrooms and a pull out bed in living room was very clean.

The breakfast was lovely alot of choice.
The pool was very quiet to quiet for my 7year old son to play about it no kids here.
But i can not fault anything about this hotel it was beautiful Staff where lovely.
Food from the resturant was open until 4pm but was pretty cheap pizza was €4 and chips €1.50
The hotel also put on a free bus to the local town and beach at certain times nd pick you up.

Alvor is a lovely town and i would definatly go back.

Big reds resturant was gorgeous for steak
Vaggabondos
Marco's
Johnny hates fish
All lovely food resturants

I couldnt fault anything with this hotel or the area

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise_neomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The ladies at the reception made the hotel. ( I got a cold they got me to try the local firewater ) The hotel is very clean with the ladies who clean the rooms are very jolly, with a smile at all times. ( ground floor ). Room 004 the kitchen utensils had never been used, the fridge with ice maker was great for the wine. The dishwasher had never been used. We only used the kettle.
The pool was not to my taste no real shade cover, they have 40 loungers and 6 parasols.
As Rory H wrote about the breakfast, my only issue there was the ' hot ' food was always cold but this happens at hotels with buffet meals,but plenty of other choices.
The walk to and from town is easy 15 min. The beach is a lot further, the hotel bus was always on time with a helpful driver. The beach is one of the best, so clean .
Travelers would be well advised to take jumper for the nights as the wind can be cold.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LOGAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

The design of the rooms was very modern, whoever design them deserves an award. Its an ideal place for family as there is a pool and one for infants, very quiet location, perhaps a 10 - 15 minute walk to the village of Alvor. The staff were very pleasant and those on reception were very helpful. The breakfast was good with a mix of the cooked breakfast and healthy option. Went for bed and breakfast option, the hotel does not do meals in the evening but there is a wealth of choice in Alvor, ideal for those who like seafood. The interent desk was slow but perhaps its best to forget emails and internet and concentrate on enjoying your time here with family. Getting taxi's in Alvor is expensive so perhaps car hire for the family would work out a cheaper option in the long run. The hotel do provide a shuttle bus to the beach twice during the day, the walk to the beach is perhaps 20 to 30 mins though, with such good weather perhaps walking is the best and healthy option. The hotel was clean and spotless so overall I could not find any fault and was happy to have selected such a good one.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dermotmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
1.0 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
1.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
0.9 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Alvor Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Alvor Village

Property: Luna Alvor Village
Address: Rua da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-034, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#3 Family Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Alvor Village 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Luna Alvor Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvor Village Hotel Alvor
Village Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing