We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Alvor Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luna Alvor Village
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I'll start with the pros - lovely hotel and the bedrooms are fantastic. Large double bed with dining area, sitting area and small kitchen fully equipped with all you could need. Hotel is sited within 10 mins walk to village so no need for taxis unless you don't want to walk.Staff are helpful and courteous and nothing was too much trouble.Pool was lovely and a decent size - not huge but always clean. Breakfast was very nice with almost everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel.
Cons - more fresh fruit at breakfast as some of it was tinned and smoked salmon too would have been nice. Not enough loungers by the pool side and not all of them were in tip top working condition and please take away that awful rail around the pool! Some entertainment in the evenings would have been nice,
All said - yes I would definitely recommend this hotel and I hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Go for a pool view - we had room 113 and it was lovely.Sun on the balcony until about 11.30am in May...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linbo_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    159
    36
    8
    3
See reviews for
125
231
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just returned from a week staying at the newly refurbished Alvor Village and it was first class. I stayed in one of the Suite Apartments and for the two of us it was huge with a separate living area, fully fitted kitchen and table and chairs, it was really like a self contained apartment. The staff that we met were courteous and helpful. Breakfast had a good selection with decaf coffee on offer and lots of food, even bringing more out at 9.45am when breakfast finished at 10.00am.....impressive!

The real bonus here was the bar prices which were extremely reasonable for a 4 star hotel. Well done Alvor Village for getting so many things right.

Room Tip: We were on the car park side and never noticed any noise at all so please don't hesitate to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusybeeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just got back from a weeks stay here , very smart modern hotel ,very large well equipped appartments with a/c in living area and bedroom , the friendliest staff ,Claudia on reception was so helpful and got minor problems solved quickly. breakfast was good with plenty of choice but the bacon was wafer thin ,only complaint ,app 20 min walk into town and uphill most of the way back ,so need to be reasonably fit or hire a car ,Alvor itself is a lovley place with plenty of places to dine out.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms for morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acessuited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

first class hotel room was lovely we up graded to a room with a Jacuzzi well worth the upgrade. The breakfast was beautiful with a wide selection of hot and cold foods. The staff were really friendly and helpful especially Claudia who couldn't do enough for us. I would highly recommend staying there we will be definitely staying there again soon :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilandAmanda13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

having been to Alvor many times in the past and having passed this hotel many times I decided to book it. My wife son and mother looked at the reviews on tripadvisor and it looked perfect but here is the kicker you book a double studio room its not there is no divide between rooms apart from a tv it had a door to the bedroom which was pointless because as I said no divide my mothers bed faced our bed now it was not like me and the wife where on honeymoon but come on any way went to see someone about a move and was told all the rooms where the same apart from if I paid 450 eruos I could have a room with two bedrooms so after a bit of haggling I got it down 240 eruos so not bad room had Jacuzzi outside and a spa bath great but here is why I feel let down 1st the Jacuzzi did not work or it did but would cost 60eruos per day??? 2nd the bath did not work that was broke also I got charged in pounds not euros only found this out when I got my bank statement now for the positive hotel very clean modern and for us well placed staff very good wifi good but you could only get in the reception unless u paid extra for it. breakfast was very good pools and grounds very good love alvor and would stop here again now I no what I am getting we stopped from the 17th September to the1st of October the weather was great to sum up great hotel but I believe I was mislead by the studio double room heading

Room Tip: the rooms have no divides so if you a planning to take along say your mother no privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank troythunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for the first time first week in October, normally book the Luna Alvor Bay hotel but it was full. Glad we got here,instead. I didn't realise it was the same group, same standard as the Bay. Great room was large with 2 ac units one in bedroom area and one in lounge area. Tv on a swivel so could be watched from bed or the sofa. Fully equipped kitchen with everything you would need if self catered. Nicely appointed bathroom, with the added bonus of a jacuzzi bath!. Huge balcony. We had the pool view but as it was low season the whole hotel was pretty quiet. Staff helpful and polite, gave us all the info on check in about the shuttle to town, although we didn't use it. It was a pretty stroll, but I imagine in the heat of the hot summer sun it could be a lot harder.
All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. I can imagine the lack of sunbeds caused havoc in the summer but as it was the end of season there was plenty of availability. Breakfast was good, strange there was tinned fruit, but other than that a good selection available. Overall I would definitely return, as it is exactly what I need in a holiday hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abbeygirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatley
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Alvor Village Hotel for 9 nights at the end of September. Our impressions were very mixed and not quite as favourable as some of the other reviewers. First of all the excellent sized and well equipped appartments cannot be faulted. In addition to all the kitchen equipment including coffee maker, kettle, microwave, hob and large 'fridge, there was an iron and iron board provided (without charge). There are two independent air conditioning units, one for the lounge and kitchen area and one for the bedroom area. These are efficient, quiet and included in the price. There is also a room safe which is an extra at 2.5 euros per day.

The buffet style breakfasts were good with plenty of choice of both hot and cold food on any one day and some small variety from one day to the next. The snacks that were available from the bar during the were also good value and on one day during the hotel provided an endless complimentary supply of Madeira Wine and Cakes. It was not clear whether this was a special celebration or a regular feature!

So what were the downsides? The information provided on arrival was minimal. Nothing to say that the room safe was chargeable, nothing about the shuttle service. There was no information about the hotel in the room. Is there a fitness centre somewhere? The grounds of the hotel are disappointing and the path down to the pool is through the puddles created by the hotel's irrigation system. The reception desk is often not manned particularly through the evening when you want to collect your room key. If more sun loungers have been provided then no wonder there are so many complaints on this site because there were only just enough on sunny days in late September. Although the rooms were 'cleaned' every day and bed linen and towels were changed regularly, the cleaning was perfunctory and the whole process completed in less than ten minutes.

It might just have been that it was coming towards the end of season but we just got the feeling that the hotel was not well managed and really needed someone to raise the bar so you felt that the hotel was trying to make your holiday a wonderful experience. This was not evident during our stay but there are some wonderful restaurants in Alvor and the beach and board-walks make up somewhat for this hotel's average performance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
1.0 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
1.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
0.9 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Alvor Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Alvor Village

Property: Luna Alvor Village
Address: Rua da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-034, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#3 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Alvor Village 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Luna Alvor Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvor Village Hotel Alvor
Village Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing