We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet & relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Luna Alvor Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Alvor Village
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Quiet & relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This place would definitely deserve an excellent from me if it were not for a sunny area to sit in the evenings.
It is a modernised, clean & quiet hotel.
The room we had overlooked the pool & garden areas, more than large enough for us two & would easily suit a family of four. It has an open style bedroom, great kitchen & dining area.
The large balcony also comes furnished with a good standard table & chairs.
It's located approximately 15-20 minutes gentle (& safe) walk to the centre of Alvor. The beach is also a "walkable" distance, but they do offer a courtesy bus a couple of times a day.
The breakfast is of a fairly good standard & can be taken in the extremely clean restaurant or on the balcony area.
If you are using a car there is plenty of free car parking.
The only down side to the pool view rooms are that they lose the sun quite early & this area can be a little cool in the evening without it. It would be a real benefit if they built a seating area somewhere out front of the building where the later sun could be enjoyed.
A major asset to the hotel is the staff, all are very polite & efficient especially Claudia & Mario on reception who are both very knowledgable about the area & more than willing to spend time with you to help & advise.
The next time we visit this area, we will definitely stay here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    161
    38
    8
    3
See reviews for
127
235
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed her for 1 week B&B with our 2 young daughters aged 2 & 3
This is my 4th time to Alvor and I absolutely love it. I normally stay in the Alvor Baia which is all inclusive and I love it but this is the sister hotel.
On arrival the hotel is beautiful reception staff very polite and friendly.
We got to our room which is lovely and very clean and modern with all the amenities required for your stay.
The hotel was just perfect, so quiet at the night time.
The pools were lovely especially the little one for the girls we could get them out of it! The view around the hotel is beautiful and you can actually see the Alvor Baia.
The breakfast was really nice and they served meals at the bar for snacks and lunch however this finished at 4pm which is very disappointing when you have 2 young children.
There is a shuttle bus to the beach which could run more frequently than it does but the beach is beautiful and if you like see food you have to go to a restaurant called Canico it's on the beach and inside a rock, the view is stunning, absolutely breathtaking and the food is just perfect as for the sangria I think it's the best in town. I have been numerous times and they have never disappointed.
I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to friends and family.
We have a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterHelen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Nice apart hotel in quiet area. Large rooms, small bathroom with jacuzzi bath that didn't work. Breakfast good, pool nice with plenty if sunbeds. Adequate kitchen facilities. Beds very hard but air conditioning very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Luna Alvor Village.

Having initially booked with the Luna Alvor Bay we were advised that it was over booked and were re-located to the Luna Alvor Village.

The staff handled this very well, in particular Claudia at the Luna Alvor Village, she made us so welcome and it was such a smooth transfer due to the way she gave us fabulous customer service.

Initially we were not happy that we had to move, as I had booked the Luna Alvor Bay in February and particularly wanted a sea view. That being said, the Luna Alvor Village was a lovely hotel, clean and spacious and we were really pleased with the place.

The kitchen was well equipped and clean, best we have seen.

Our balcony was so spacious, it would be good if the hotel had some more relaxing loungers on these as a table and 4 chairs are all that's available.

Walk into town was not bad as it was down hill, bit more of a walk than the other hotel, coming back we always got a taxi, they aren't too expensive.

Really nice pizza/pasta place 'Al Capones' close to the hotel, they will also do take-away.

The beaches are lovely, however it's worth going to the left as you face the sea as there are some lovely coves with sun and shade and nice beach bars. The first cove has a nice bar and food even ordered us a taxi as it was a bit of a walk back into town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMH341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is owned by the Luna Bay resort group but it operates separately to the Luna Bay beach hotel. We had booked the Luna Bay Beach hotel and were moved to this 'village' hotel when the Luna bay beach hotel said they'd overbooked.

I was seriously angry and annoyed that I never got to stay in the hotel that I booked and received no compensation. This hotel is much cheaper than the Beach hotel.

We were put onto the second floor, at the back of the hotel, overlooking the pool and countryside.

Lots of positives and a few negatives:

Positives
Large self-serviced apartments with plenty of space. Very large balconies. New enough hotel so fittings/fixtures are new and fresh. Provides a free bus service to the town centre and beach. Taxis have a standard charge of 3.25 to get to town centre. Pingo grocery store is less than an easy 10min walk away. Bar staff are friendly. Rooms are cleaned everyday. Breakfast was of very high standard. Lady provides massage, reflexology etc on the lawn (at a charge).

Negatives
The free bus service only runs 3 times a day, not very accommodating & the receptionist couldn't give a care when I said that the times/service level was very limited and restrictive. The kitchen pantry doors had old coffee/tea splash marks on them. Guests feel the need to leave towels on sun loungers at 8:30 in the morning. The air conditioning unit emits a bright blue light that might keep you awake, unless you have an eyemask. Hotel charges you for using the safe (!!!!). Free wifi is only available in the hotel reception, bar and lounge areas. Although hotel is new, some fixtures in bathroom were loose and unusable.

Recommendations for hotel.
Hotel needs to improve the frequency of its free bus service, it's not safe to be out walking in the midday sun to the beach (+25mins) or the village (+20mins). Maybe they only have a few services to help the taxi service make an income, who knows.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel If you want afternoon sun. Ask for a room on level 1 or hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from a relaxing week in alvor, and alvor village hotel is a really lovely hotel, nice relaxed atmosphere in the hotel, staff friendly,. They got new sunbeds the day we were leaving, !!!!!!.rooms are lovely, balconies are a nice size, ten min walk to all restaurants and bars, highly recommend this hotel, we will definitely visit again

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with friends and family for a 30th birthday of a difference - a chill out. Everything you could want from service, price, cleanliness and location. Kind of Gutted about making this review as it will probably encourage more people to the hotel and alvor itself but I would prefer to keep this little gem a secret. Never mind. I will return. I don't do recommendations but stay here. You will love it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Stubrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
1.0 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
1.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
0.9 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Alvor Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Alvor Village

Property: Luna Alvor Village
Address: Rua da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-034, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#3 Family Hotel in Alvor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Alvor Village 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Alvor Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvor Village Hotel Alvor
Village Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing