We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
281
208
49
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
208
49
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alvor village jacuzzi bath pool area lovely hotel minute walk open plan bean bags beans large balcony sun loungers per day coffee machine quiet location courtesy bus yogurt flat screen tv self catering
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 556 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself, wife and 2yr old son stayed here for the first time for two weeks. I would highly recommend to anyone. I read many reviews pre & post booking, but please read this review as this is a true reflection:

Hotel:
Very clean, excellent large rooms with all the amenities you could wish for. Cleaned every day and the cleaners are very friendly and lovely - our son loved them and they loved him too lol. Beds are a bit hard but you get used to them. The only minor issue is the noise of the air conditioning - if guests leave it on all night you can hear it and it can be hard to get to sleep if you are a light sleeper. However, you do it used to it.

The hotel only offers breakfast and lunch - we had breakfast everyday and it was good - a large selection of buffet food as expected. The restaurant area is very clean which is good. The only issue I would highlight is - the hot food could be warmer. A microwave would be a good additional to allow guests to heat their food if they wish e.g. sausages, beans etc.

We never ate in the restaurant at lunch time - there is a supermarket (Pingo Doce) 5min walk from the hotel. It has everything you need and more.

The swimming pool area is nice and relaxing - it has a small bar and plays music which is nice. It also has a kids play club and Sandra who works there is really nice - our son loved her lol However, it could offer more to allow you a few hours to enjoy the sun, such as a sand pit, slides etc...

Location:
The town is a small traditional fishing town which is only a 10min walk away. We walked in and out every night with ease. The town is really lovely with plenty of excellent bars & restaurants to eat. We ate in 14 different restaurants and could not complain about any of them. I would recommend Reculla (need to book), Tango, Salsa Bistro, Pepperino, the Steak House, Lustines, beer & co. - to be honest they are all good!

The beach is 25-40min walk away depending on which part you wish to relax - it is definitely worth the extra walk to the far corner of the beach to see the coves - it is amazing. There is also a few nice bars/restaurants to eat and drink at the beach.

Overall, this hotel is excellent. The staff and management are really nice. Alvor town is beautiful with a great selection of bars & restaurants. Very traditional with no hassle or large crowds of young party goers.

We will be definitely be back. A mention to Carla & Sandra who are excellent. All the staff are great from the cleaners to management.

Room Tip: You get the sun at the front of the hotel in the evening which is nice to sit and have a drink on your balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorH2, Assistant Manager at Luna Alvor Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you for choosing the Luna Alvor Village for your stay in Portugal and also for the time spent to share your opinion. We will take your comments into consideration. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best Regards

Mario Oliveira
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel looks exactly as the pictures, its stylish, modern and very clean. The staff were all polite and friendly.

Breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice (only issue was beans were alittle cold).

The rooms are amazing and just like the photos which is rare with most hotels I have stayed in, they are clean, bright and modern with a MASSIVE balcony. We also got robes and slippers which was a nice surprise.

The pool area is lovely and quiet with a nice drinks bar on the side (only issue with pool area was some of the wooden slats were loose and could be alittle dangerous).

You can tell this hotel is run correctly and that the staff are meticulous at their jobs.

I will definitely be staying again and would definitely recommend.

Thankyou Luna Alvor for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaughsar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorH2, Assistant Manager at Luna Alvor Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you for choosing the Luna Alvor Village for your stay in Portugal and also for the time spent to share your opinion. We will take your comments into consideration. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best Regards

Mario Oliveira
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I believe some of these reviews are very misleading on here. The room was not spotless unlike other reviews and the hotel bar was severely overpriced. The breakfast included was of an average standard and we were very surprised to see there was a Nutella jar to share between everyone staying, not very hygienic. The hotel was fully of lots of screaming children, which they can't help but still didn't help the experience. The hotel staff were also not very helpful and had to be asked several times in order to assist us. After 4 days of staying here, we checked out and moved to a different hotel which was a lot cheaper and much nicer. However, if u do stay here ask for a bottom floor back room as you then get a garden with some sunbeds.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms at the back are sunny in the afternoon and have sunbeds. The gardens are quite and much better than sitting by the pool
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorH2, Assistente Direção at Luna Alvor Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mrs. Olivia,

Thank you for choosing the Luna Alvor Village. On behalf of the whole team, I thank you for the rating that you have given us and also sharing your experience with other travelers.

Regarding your stay, we regret that some services not met your expectations. But you can check that 52% of the comments give us 5 star, this is not misleading, we work hard every day to satisfy our customers, and all staff it´s very helpful. However we look forward to see you again in your next visit to Portugal, and change the first bad impression.
Kind Regards,
Mario Oliveira
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Visited the Luna Village on Alvor on the 3rd August for a week. Really nice hotel, well run, friendly staff and spotlessly clean. Had an issue on the first night with the air con but this was resolved quickly. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. The breakfast is well managed and replenished regularly. My husband and son weren’t too keen on the sausages but isn’t this always the case when you’re on holiday? There was loads to choose from ; croissants, pastries, cereals, fresh fruit, teas, coffees, toast, baguettes etc...the pool area is perfectly fine, a couple of sunbeds are a bit dodgy and some parasols could be replaced but other than that all good. A nice, friendly family hotel. We were quite happy to walk everywhere and, as people have already said, it takes about 15 mins to the town and another 10 mins or so to the beach. We would definitely recommend this hotel for couples and families.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank fiona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director H, Gerente geral at Luna Alvor Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear fiona s,

Thank you for choosing the Luna Alvor Village, it is a great joy for us that you enjoyed our magnificent Family Hotel in Alvor.

On behalf of the whole team, I thank you for the excellent rating that you have given us and also for sharing your experience with other travelers. We are very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and to read your comments and suggestions.

It was a pleasure and honor to have you as a guest and we look forward to welcome you again.

With my best wishes,

Carlos Santos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Excellent location, helpful friendly staff, excellent cleanliness. Any minor problems were resolved speedily. Everything you could want for breakfast. We first came to this hotel the year it opened and the same high standards have always been applied. Reception staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The staff in the eating area do an excellent job and clear the used tables speedily. The kitchen staff keep checking if the hot breakfast need refilling and fill them up regularily. I would strongly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Cleaners came in everyday and did an excellent job.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank berniemaia42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director H, Gerente geral at Luna Alvor Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear berniemaia42,

Thank you for choosing the Luna Alvor Village once again. It is a great joy for us that you enjoyed our magnificent Family Hotel in Alvor.

On behalf of the whole team, I thank you for the excellent rating that you have given us and also for sharing your experience with other travelers.

We are very proud to read your comments and very happy to see that your holidays were memorable.

It was a pleasure and honor to have you as a guest and we look forward to welcome you again.

With my best wishes,

Carlos Santos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews