We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL

ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alvor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Myself 27, My husband 31 and three children aged, 4, 6, 10 all went away for our honeymoon 12th sept 2012. We had such an amazing stay in Alvor such a beautiful typical fishing village :O)
The transfer was quite long from the airport to the hotel about (1hr 40) I should imagine private taxi would be much quicker!
We were greeted by two very friendly staff at reception and told we were to be staying over the otherside of the complex which is separated by a bridge to avoid the traffic. With it been roughly 2am the staff drive us over to the otherside and showed us to our room.
My first reaction was how huge it was, they gave us a three bedroomed apartment with double beds in each room, two bathrooms, two balcony's a massive kitchen and separate dining/ living area! Yes it was quite dated but for what we paid this was to be expected! Was totally spotless, the kitchen was fantastic had cooker with gas hob, oven ect. Had fridge freezer big family size one, microwave , clean pans, plates, clean tea towels the list is endless! I never usual use the kitchen whilst on holiday but had no reason not to this time! The rooms were cleaned every second day with beds made, fresh towels it honestly was brill service :O) Our view faced the pool area and could see the beach afar in the distance. The other balcony overlooked the front road towards the village which is just a 5/10 minute walk and has some beautiful resturants, shops and a handy supermarket. On an evening because of the younger children we shared a taxi home and was never more than 4 euro's :O) The pool area was very clean the only thing I would fault would be the paving around the pool was alittle cracked in some area's such as by the pool ladder ect but thats it. The bar around the pool was very cheap and staff very friendly. We never ate at our resturant so can't comment on that but we did attempt the resturant on the reception side one morning and the prices are very high, roughly 8.50 euros just for continental breakfast! We passed as just in the village its roughly 4.50 euro's for a full english with tea or coffee.
The beach is a 5 min drive in the mini bus service provided by hotel and we also visited the aqua park,splash and slide which is also worth a visit we got a taxi each way which was 18 euro each way but can also get bus but be warned takes about 1hr 30 rather than 20 mins in taxi!
Over all you get what you pay for in this case I think we got more a fantastic place to visit and would defo return in the future x

Room Tip: We stayed in room 312 (apparently there are only 2 rooms in the whole hotel this big)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    30
    19
    14
    8
See reviews for
45
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We had a pleasant holiday at the Alvor Ferias Hotel.
There were a few minor issues with our
apartment but these were dealt with very quickly by the helpful staff.
The breakfast provided
was nothing special but just about alright.
The walk to the village is no problem although the beach is a bit further.
The tennis courts are in good working order, crying out to be used.

Room Tip: Get a top floor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abvehicle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I suppose you get what you pay for. Liked the apartment, it was comfortable thanks to the aircon. Not so keen on the pools, got very claustrophobic as the hotel filled up. Took the breakfast option, a bit bland and very boring. Same set of things to choose from every day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thereluctantcitytour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We visited alvor ferris, in June 2012. I went with my 12 month baby. The hotel complex is well equipped to deal with children of all ages, there are two pool, one is on the other side of the walking bridge so make sure u find that one! It was a perfect time of year not too busy and not too hot! We were told it gets very very busy here in July and aug like every where else I guess.
The only down fall I have is, it's a 15-20 min walk to town, and the return walk is up a hill, so taxis are only 4€. The beach is also about 25-30 min walk away as well..
Other then that is a lovely place I would compare it to kinsale in cork, a small fishing village!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicoleoregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

My wife and I needed a one night booking for a hotel in Alvor whilst we waited to to link up with friends. Having been to the resort 25 years ago with our young family we thought it would be good to revisit the place. Oh what a surprise. Absolutely nothing had changed, the tiles, the rooms the decoration absolutely everything was the same. Its now so old and tatty it needs a complete refurbish. What was there was clean and the staff as ever were very friendly but overall if we had booked for longer with a young family we would have been after a refund by day 2. Your holiday depends on which room you end up in as some seem to be really well updated and others such as 801 have not been touched at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smithps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alvor hotels

wiltsgirl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We travelled in June 2012 with our two children - 5 & 8. We had a two bed appt, which was huge. It was all clean and tidy and housekeeping came round every other day. The kitchen was well equipped and the beds were comfortable. The only problem we had was that our room was over the club and was quite noisy in the evenings. There are quieter appts over the bridge in the second complex. The shop on sight is very well stocked and reasonably priced. It is a ten minute walk into town but well worth it. Alvor is lovely and Georgets is well worth a visit for dining. All in all it was a lovely family holiday in a three star resort with friendly staff and good facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiltsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We rented an apartment privately, rather than booking direct with hotel. It was fabulous, and had all the modcons, which was fantasic as we were there for 18 days. We had 2 balconies, 1 small and the other was huge, with sunbeds and large table and chairs and still plenty of room,
We were situated on the opposite side of the road from the reception, which was much better as more room around pool and quieter. Other apartments were a bit dated.
Alvor is a beauiful fishing village with lots of character and greatr restaurants.

Room Tip: book apartments privately
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifidIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
2.4 mi away
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
2.1 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
2.0 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
2.3 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL

Property: ALVOR FERIAS HOTEL
Address: Estrada do Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-322, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Number of rooms: 230

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing