We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous and I caught a fish!!!”
Review of Trigana Boat Trips

Trigana Boat Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trigana Boat Trips is a sailing trip company that consists of two classic Portuguese sailing cargo vessels that have been adapted to serve the tourist industry. We pride ourselves in sailing the boats without engines whenever possible. We have been running for over 13 years now and provide personalised high quality trips. We usually offer 3 trips per day in the high season and are open from April 1st till 31st October. Our new official video is viewable on you tube Trigana sailing.Worth a look! We have a ticket booth in Alvor harbour.
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had a lovely cruise up the coast beyond Lagos and then on the way back I caught a fish and then stopped for a swim. The crew could not be more helpful and were very knowledgeable regarding the coast and we felt in very safe safe hands. Booking was easy by just visiting the stand at the jetty.

Thank MaryHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Owner at Trigana Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thanks for your review Mary. Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"day trip"
in 46 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 33 reviews
"sea urchins"
in 12 reviews
"sand bank"
in 9 reviews
"dropped anchor"
in 10 reviews
"free sangria"
in 7 reviews
"sailing experience"
in 6 reviews
"captain rick"
in 6 reviews
"beach combing"
in 5 reviews
"great sailing"
in 5 reviews
"fantastic afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"double act"
in 4 reviews
"interesting information"
in 4 reviews
"collect shells"
in 4 reviews
"guys were great"
in 4 reviews
"glass of sangria"
in 6 reviews
"coastal tour"
in 9 reviews
Filter

312 - 316 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Staying in Praia Da Rocha & wanted a trip to Lagos. Found out that there were boat trips from Alvor & Trigana recommended by Alvor Boat Trips who couldn't go when we wanted. What a day!!! The boat was fantastic & was the first with sails that we have ever been on. What a great experience. We also had a tour of the coastline included, with the caves, coves & grottos which we had not expected. We were dropped off at Lagos at 11.30 & picked up again at 4pm which gave us just the right amount of time to tour the town.
Rick & Bart were great company & very knowledgeable about the area & clearly really enjoyed their work, if you could call it that!! By the way Bart, Pete says that the bird you saw in your garden with the Zorro mask is from the Warbler family but could not identify it further without seeing it
We will be trying out one of the other trips when we are next in Alvor.

Thank AME34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Owner at Trigana Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

HaHa, you wouldn't believe how hard this job is. We obviously mask it well. Glad you enjoyed your day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Wanted to use this trip to take some photographs of the coastline and we were not disappointed. The skipper, Richard, kept us safe and provided a smooth and tranquil ride, while his crew, Bart, was very knowledgeable on the area and the boat we sailed in. Refreshments were provided and overall we had an excellent day. Will definitely be going again and would highly recommend this company. Thank you all.

Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Owner at Trigana Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thanks for your review Diane, Glad you enjoyed your trip and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our family of five - two adults and children aged 4 (girl), 6 and 8 (2 boys) - absolutely loved this three hour boat trip. Booking was easy - we discussed the trip at the booth on the harbour initially, then we confirmed by phone a few days later, and we were kept informed by phone regarding departure time.

On the boat, there was ourselves and one other family of four on board, along with co-captains (?) Rick and Bart.

From a bit of fishing for the young 'uns, some swimming for all of us, and especially the shell collecting on the sandbank, it was a thoroughly enjoyable trip. Kids also loved it when Rick brought up a starfish, sea urchins and some water-squirting sea cucumbers from the bottom of the sea! kids even got to hold them (not sure our 4yr old daughter was too impressed with that though)

Add a glass or two of Sangria on the way back to harbour for the adults, and all was well with the world.

Highly recommended.

1  Thank andystaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Owner at Trigana Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thanks for the review Andy,

We don't always get lucky with the starfish but I'm glad we did that day. Creatures from the sea always fascinate the little ones. Glad you enjoyed it.

Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A lovely trip, highly recommend it :)
Slight problem in that our 7 yo daughter who had a v bad experience on a kayak in Anglesey earlier this summer was upset for the first 2 hrs by the sea spray and tilting of boat -Bart was great with her, explaining how much history of un-sunkeness the little ship had, but after me and dad sharing hug duties at the swim/snorkel site (which I think would have sorted her out anyway)...
We set sail with full sails and she loved it ! :)
Great trip because is aimed at families so Bart and Rick took it in turns to dive down and bring sea creatures up for the kids to look at and touch, saw lots of the coastline, lovely jumping/diving off boat (nice sangria for mums too ;))
Just before coming into harbour Anfi really became our little chatterbox again, kids challenged to collect as many different coloured shells as poss on a sandy spit of beach, then watched the amazing stunts of kite surfers jumping the 'island'.
A fabulous family afternoon :)

1  Thank SusieQ216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Owner at Trigana Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

We really enjoyed your company too.It was so good to see Anfi warm to the the whole sailing experience after her cautious start. Sailing boats are at their most stable when sailing like they should. Difficult to believe until you are on one. She really transformed throughout the afternoon and was a real joy to see so full of beans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trigana Boat Trips also viewed

 
Portimao, Faro District
Portimao, Faro District
 

Been to Trigana Boat Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing