We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Trip”
Review of Trigana Boat Trips

Trigana Boat Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trigana Boat Trips is a sailing trip company that consists of two classic Portuguese sailing cargo vessels that have been adapted to serve the tourist industry. We pride ourselves in sailing the boats without engines whenever possible. We have been running for over 13 years now and provide personalised high quality trips. We usually offer 3 trips per day in the high season and are open from April 1st till 31st October. Our new official video is viewable on you tube Trigana sailing.Worth a look! We have a ticket booth in Alvor harbour.
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked a two and a half hour coastal trip on this boat. It was the last day of our holiday and the best! We hadn't expected such beautiful scenery and such great hosts.It was also a great surprise to have the sails up. There is nothing quite like the exhiliration of the quiet speed on a sailing boat. It was perfect windy and sunny weather and the views around the famous sandstone rock formations were spectacular. There were 12 passengers on the boat and Nunu and Pedro were such knowledgeable and helpful crew. Soon after setting off they gave fishing rods to 2 young boy passengers who were delighted at the chance of trying to fish, even though they didn't catch anything. They helped us on and off the boat, provided us with lots of information en route and also a beer!

A trip we shall certainly recommend and will repeat if ever we're in the area again.Thank you.

1  Thank Imatravellinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Owner at Trigana Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review. Glad you enjoyed being part of what we do. If you make it to Alvor in the future we would love to see you on board again, best not to leave it till your last day though just in case the weather changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"day trip"
in 46 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 33 reviews
"sea urchins"
in 12 reviews
"sand bank"
in 9 reviews
"dropped anchor"
in 10 reviews
"free sangria"
in 7 reviews
"sailing experience"
in 6 reviews
"captain rick"
in 6 reviews
"beach combing"
in 5 reviews
"great sailing"
in 5 reviews
"fantastic afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"double act"
in 4 reviews
"interesting information"
in 4 reviews
"collect shells"
in 4 reviews
"guys were great"
in 4 reviews
"glass of sangria"
in 6 reviews
"coastal tour"
in 9 reviews
Filter

306 - 310 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked a day trip to Lagos on Fri 9th May.What a day we had took a cruise round the caves on route breath taking views and beautiful blue sea.Nuno and Pedro were great hosts told us anything we needed to know.Arrived in Lagos around 12 30pm had lunch wandered the cobbled streets and went back for the sail home around 4pm.Only 4 of us on boat on way back to Alvor and 3 crew.What a surprise we had when a school of dolphins appeared of the side of the boat they came alongside the boat when under sail what a sight to see it was amazing.Big thankyou to all the guys and Rick&Lynne will def be back.

Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Owner at Trigana Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Our Lagos day trip is a wonderful day out. Glad you liked it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have been on many boat trips out of Portimao and Alvor previously but have never experienced it under sail.
We took a 2.5 hr coastal tour with skipper Rick aided by his local crewman Nuno.
Nuno provided commentary on the environment, the estuary and the beaches and wildlife while Rick talked some of us through the details of the boat.

We sailed out of Alvor heading west and ended up getting quite close the cliffs and caves just around the corner from Lagos, where some customers opted to take a plunge of the boat.
The highlight for me was when Nuno and Rick got three sails out on the homeward leg and really got up some speed. To sail across the bay in a boat as historic as this was thrilling.
Both the guys are excellent sailors and we always felt very safe in their hands

Thank Lozzmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Owner at Trigana Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thanks very much for your review. You just can't beat the feeling of travelling in one of these boats under full sail can you. Glad you liked it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spent the afternoon on board with crew Rick , Bart and Pedro , have to say it was without doubt the best afternoon of our holidays . They were knowledgable about the area , and made us feel very relaxed . The trip to Lagos was fantastic , then the swimming in the sea and sail down the coastline to see the caves was so beautiful .
If you are in Alvor or staying close by you really should go out with these guys , I assure you that you will not regret it .
Thanks for an amazing time !!

Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Owner at Trigana Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

It was our pleasure to make your day a special one. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday to Alvor, on our last day we booked a trip on the sailing boat Formosa, We had the choice of sailing east to Praia Da Rocha or west to Lagos, we decided on going on the east trip but don't think it would matter which trip you take as the coastline is amazing which ever way you go We have got to say this was the highlight of our holiday Rick and Pedro who skippered the boat were great hosts and very informative. Next year when we hope to return to Alvor we will definitely do another trip with Rick and Pedro

1  Thank 369Diana2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick A, Owner at Trigana Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thanks Diana,
We look forward to seeing you and your family again onboard either Formosa or Trigana. Maybe try one or our other trips, I'm sure you will love them all.

Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trigana Boat Trips also viewed

 
Portimao, Faro District
Portimao, Faro District
 

Been to Trigana Boat Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing