We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”

Restaurante Chefe Joao
Ranked #7 of 148 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
coventry
Level Contributor
106 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I’m not quite sure why this restaurant is languishing in the 20’s on trip advisor because the food here is astonishingly good. We both had scallop starters and fresh fish as a main course, and all were beautifully cooked and served: you pick a fish, and the owner cooks it on a griddle at the front of the restaurant; his wife rustles up either great salad or selection of veg, and his daughter serves you. Simple stuff but just brilliantly done. At €40 with a bottle of wine, there isn’t another Portuguese style restaurant in Alvor to touch it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mozwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    65
    13
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEST RESTAURANT IN ALVOR - BY A MILE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is one of the best restaurants in Alvor. Over the last ten years of going to Alvor have gone in this restaurant every time, time and time again. I have not had one bad experience in this restaurant at all hand on heart. Chef Joao, his wife and Suzanna are unbelievable hosts and friendly, great atmosphere and a great little side street restaurant. Have tried everything on the menu and all is excellent, it is clean, hot home made portugese food and great service.
If you are not easily distracted by fancy signs and bright lights and are willing to try then you will not be disappointed with this restaurant. The prices are amazing along with the food, when holidaying I am stuck on a Sunday night as the restaurant is shut. Recommend the shrimps and fish soup for start and also fish, stroganoff and meat kebab. Excellent and well done to you all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 298LANCSLASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Have visited this small restaurant many times and although the menu is limited I must say the food is well cooked served simply and always fresh. You need to go early or book as it gets very busy.
Not the best frontage or decor but this just proves don't look at the wrappings- just give it a try you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food in a small restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Part of my holidays is trying different restaurants this is a very friendly small restaurant serving fantastic food. The food is cooked on a charcoal grill in the restaurant, the restaurant is family run and the waitress was a lovely as the food. would recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Incredible value and honest local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had been to Chefe Joao on a previous visit but I simply forgot to report how good it was. (sorry Suzanna)
During previous visits I had seen many people get the lamb chops and they have often run out. This time we went early to make sure!

Like other small restaurants in Alvor you're obliged to sit cheek by jowl with other patrons and this can make for an interesting evening as it forces interaction.

The place is run by three people, Chef Joao who mans the grill at the front ensuring perfect meats and fish are fed to the kitchen at the back run by Mama, who is unbelievably adept in what she does. We have watched her perform amazing feats in producing dishes such as Portuguese Steak and Stroganoff. Finally manning the tables is Suzanna who is like a whirling dervish as she handles all the orders, drinks and service and still has time for banter.
It runs like a well oiled machine!

We both chose prawns in avocado which were large prawns in a perfectly ripened avocado (if they're not ripe enough Mama won't serve them)
For mains I got the lamb cutlets I desired which I managed to get nearly every ounce of meat from. My wife had the Stroganoff yet again and that too was excellent. Washed down with a very nice Borba Tinto we couldn't possibly go for a desert.
Excellent food at very reasonable prices, and done so with repeatability. What more do you want!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lozzmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Chefe Joao also viewed

 
Alvor, Portimao
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Restaurante Chefe Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing