We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Buganvilla

Buganvilla
Ranked #26 of 148 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Been to this family run restaurant many times over the past 30 years. Friendly staff. Try the Portuguese Steak (cooked in an earthenware dish with gravy and topped with a slice of ham, fried egg and hand cut chips) and the fillet steak with pepper sauce, which were both delicious.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RossReds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    153
    49
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Amazing food, you cook your own steak on a hot piece of thick stone. Fresh veg and very reasonably priced. We will be back again soon. If you are in Alvor then this place is worth a visit. You may need to book a table as it is very busy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank valleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value and simple honest food”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Steak on a stone and the fresh bream are perennial favourites for the family. We'll be back next year.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Duck_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get...”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The Buganvilla is a good honest Portuguese restaurant. Not too many frills but well prepared and fresh food. As other reviewers have posted out the steak/meat on a hot stone is an excellent dish. The quality of the meat is good and you get this with chips and rice and three different sauces.

The service was good and the staff were busy keeping everyone happy. The night we went there it was full and a balance of tourists and locals.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Orms114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Evening Meals”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

During our recent holiday in Alvor, we visited The Buganvilla twice. Each time the food was excellent and the wine list was reasonable. Our only complaint was that the meal was "rushed", no sooner had we finished one course that the next course was put before us. The staff were too attentive and were "hovering" waiting for us to finish. On holiday when we go out for an evening meal, we always wish for it to last most of the evening, but at the Buganvilla, we were " in and out" within 40 minutes

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buganvilla also viewed

Alvor, Portimao
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Buganvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing