We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent home cooked”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Duartes Restaurant

Duartes Restaurant
Ranked #87 of 148 Restaurants in Alvor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
bexleyheath kent
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“excellent home cooked”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

we were recommended this restaurant by a couple staying at the hotel who had excellent food there. it is up a side street. the place itself it very quaint they have a fresh fish counter and a special of the day. the food is home cooked with love and you can tell that with very meal that comes out of the kitchen. there is one cook only and a kitchen assistant both elderly ladies.
they even do a steak on a stone which you cook yourself. the portions were adequate and you won't go hungry. this was perfect for us and we actually went twice

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bignells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont judge a book by its cover!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This restaurant is one of my favourites. Although it doesnt look very appealing from the outside, it is worth forgetting about the decoration. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and although basic, comfortable. The menu isnt very large but has something for everyone and the food is always very fresh. Has free wifi so children can keep themselves busy! Very good value for money. We have taken lots of people there and never had a complaint.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TJH1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Home Cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great steak on a stone. Vegetable soup was the best I have ever tasted. Nice people who value your custom.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank London_UKWebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“first not last”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just back from our first trip to this restaurant.No reflection on the restaurant,the atmosphere was poor due to what i believe is still a lack of money and therefore a lack of customers in Alvor in general.We had two main courses,both superb fish,large water.litre house wine,total 25 euros.You may ask how they do it as i do but i believe the wages in Portugal are pittance in comparison to someEuropean countries

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loftywex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“genuine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Have passed this numerous times and never went in so this time said i would give it a go.So glad i did.From the moment we went in you knew they were glad to see you It is a small traditional portugese restaurant with a fairly decent menu although he does not seem to have fish in reserve to what is on show so you may not get what you want. I went twice/first time had swordfish which was very nice.Second time had to settle for scabbard which although not as nice was still acceptable.He was very apologetic and offered a free drink to both of us which some bigger places should learn from.He is very good at his job and also very nice so will be back in august[i am not a stew person but i know the monkfish in white bean stew is good]

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cabradub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duartes Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Duartes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing