We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious food but slow service”
Review of Dom Pipas

Dom Pipas
Ranked #87 of 152 Restaurants in Alvor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“delicious food but slow service”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

food gorgeous,we had various dishes such as chicken,salmon, pork kebab which my husband craved for the rest of the holiday and fillet on the stone for myself which i loved cooking myself. the only downside was the really slow service, we had 2kids with us and they were getting really irritable and hungry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gaswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing Find!”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Fantastic food and service! May not look much but fish was simply amazing! Very friendly and very reasonable in price! Would highly recommend!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small and homely”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Dom Pipas is a small restaurant and feels like an extension of a Portuguese dining room - small, quaint and homely. No complaints about the food quality or the service. Unfortunately it was quiet on our visit and atmosphere always adds to the dining experience. greta value for money - 2 starters, 2 mains and drinks for approx 30 euros. Wouldn't complain about going back although would like to try the other 50 restaurants Alvor has to offer!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value and freshly cooked food”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

When you just want a great meal without all the cost of expensive decor go to this family style restaurant

Everything is good Food freshly cooked Service friendly and how Portugal used to be

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Valken2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I went to this family run resturant for the first time last week. I had an excellent golden bream, my wife enjoyed her steak in mushroom sauce and my Mother raved about her sea bass. The staff entertained my 10 month old daughter as we ate which was nice. I will be going back next time I'm in Alvor.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MartyGillcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dom Pipas also viewed

 

Been to Dom Pipas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing