We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great break.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great break.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We decided on a quick, last minute break away back to our beloved portugal with our 4 children and found the delfim and the reviews for a 4 star seemed pretty good.

On arrival we were met by very friendly receptionist, I believe we were one of the first to check in as the hotel opened for the season on the day we arrived (1st April,2012) we were promptly checked in and then offered a delightful glass of champagne, the children orange juices.

The hotel is very much in need of a lick of paint and some outside maintenance ( cosmetic). I believe ther has been some refurbishment during the closed season internally. I'm assuming these are new lifts and general touch ups.

Our room was spacious and overlooked the sea and pool with great balcony with furniture and a sheltered area. Cleaned and maid service every day. Cleanliness excellent. Bright and garish colour schemes and dated old teak, very 1980s.

We sadly were hugely unlucky with the weather 6 days of rain.

Inside the hotel we found that the entertainment team was virtually non existent in the day. The indoor pool, well, it simply represented a simple decorative water feature more than being able to call this a pool, any more than 5 kids/people and it was rammed! Doesn't make much sense as for small investment that could extend into the space in front of it and it could be a decent size. Kids were bored silly because of the terrible weather and it would have been worse if the hotel was not so quiet and then they had no chance to get into this small indoor pool.

The health club really needs updating and a jolly good scrubbing. All water comes out brown ( hot tub, baths sinks) sauna was working but dated, hot tub and steam rooms dated and out of order.
It could be a really nice spa facility if it had a little money spent.

The food was of good quality in terms of its freshness but I had to say, it was so so samey! Day in, day out, pretty much the same things on offer. They had tried to consider something for everyone but it could have done with maybe being themed, or just a bit more exciting!

Was concerned about the high rise but needn't have been, all 4 lifts worked well and effectively.

The staff were all really good and helpful I can honestly say we didn't meet anyone unfriendly. If you have kids this is a great hotel - no-body minds them running around and having fun. Evening entertainment is a bit ' benidorm' cheesy organ music with a singer or man with guitar and backing track. The highlight was the friday evening when we finally saw the entertainment team put on a show...really surprisingly good. They should organise more stuff like this nightly!

However despite all this I can honestly say we will return. Why? Because when the sun is out it truly makes the holiday. The pool area outside is great. Theres a kids club / room by the pool ( nothing much special but nice to be there) the staff are soon friendly and take pride in remembering who you are. ( we loved Sonia in restaurant) the kids had fun and we met some nice people. There is a great games room ( many euros needed! ) the beach is reached by the hotels on private walkway and is lovely, takes less than 2-3 mins to get to.

Please please though Delfim. Could I plead with you to bring in 'diet' drinks ( coke/Pepsi) ? I couldn't drink anything but water because I wouldn't have ' full fat coke' this is a really huge thing. When you go all inclusive youd like to assume you can enjoy an alcoholic drink but I couldn't and neither could most of us ( either because concerned by the huge amount of calories npor because of diabetes) all the people we spoke with said of everything this was one of the most annoying and upsetting thing of all and hugely disappointing. I'm sure with a bit more alcohol flowing becuse of diet mixers, there would be much happier clientele being able to relax just that bit more...

I'm hoping by the time we return and knowing the size of the Pestana group that they would be able to bring in the diet drinks. While I'm not expecting branded alcoholic drinks to be available, just being able to have some healthier mixers would be a godsend ( and for the kids too, stop them getting the crazy 'sugar-highs' associated with full sugar drinks.) it's certainly not conducive and in line with your healthy food option choices in your restaurant.

The 2nd thing is that having stayed in other all inclusives, there is some food snacks available ALL DAY. This is not the case here. If you have breakfast at 7.30am, there's no food of any description available till they open for lunch. (12.30) there should be something available to eat 24/7 for all guests.

We will return and thanks for your friendliness and cleanliness, location and personal touch.

Room Tip: If you're scared of heights don't go above floor 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SarahJaneMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    357
    227
    76
    44
See reviews for
364
300
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auchterarder
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We had a very relaxing stay at the pestana delfim. Being early in the holiday season,the hotel was quiet,however all the facilities were available. The rooms were spacious and clean,the food was of a very good standard and well presented and the staff,without exception,were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bobh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We initially booked to stay at the Pestana Dom Jaoe II and on arrival was told we were upgraded to the Delfim. We were a bit apprehensive as I like to check out hotels before staying at them but all fears subsided as we arrived.
The hotel is a high rise (never stayed in one before as I thought they were tacky and a bit Benidormish, I was wrong).
We stayed in room 301 which was spacious clean and had a lovely view over the pool and sea.
It was all inclusive and I must say the food was the best part of the whole stay for us (a couple in our 20's and a 2 year old girl). Breakfast was great, full english if you wanted, porridge , endless choice of cereals and full continental were on offer.
Lunch and dinner you were always spoilt for choice and the cakes were gorgeous!
The hotel was a short 5 mins stroll to the beautiful beach and we took a taxi most days into Alvor which cost about 4 euros each way, (it is easy walking distance but with a 2 year old and no pushchair we just got a taxi)
We went on several excursions organised through the hotel, plenty of leaflets on the desk at reception.
Staff really helpful and friendly, especially the singers in the main bar with my little girl.
All in all I wish I could move this hotel to wherever we holiday next year!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
35 Thank gemmabjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We have just return from our holiday in Alvor. Delfim hotel is of high quality and beatifully situated. All people working in this hotel were very nice and helpful. Because it was the end of the season the water in our outdoor swimming pool was very cold and a lot of floating leaves and other stuff deteriorated the quality of swimming. It was a very quiet place and we enjoyed our stay despite very windy and even stormy season.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sonofmyparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Pleasantly suprised by this high rise hotel. The room we had on the 11th floor was spacious and comfortable with a stunning sea view. There is a large swimming pool and an easy walk to the beach. There is a swim up bar at the pool but this was closed this week because I guess it is the winter season. Buffet breakfast was fine but we did not eat other hotel meals because there are so many beach front bars and restaurants in the area (two or three within walking distance) that it seemed a shame to eat indoors. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view and request one away from the lift shafts. All carpetted so you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lamethley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My wife,sister-in-law and her partner spent a very enjoyable week at the hotel from September 30th,to October 7th.The food on the all inclusive basis was superb with plenty of choice while we happened to be there when an Irish music week was also at the hotel which added to the enjoyment.May i also compliment the assistant manageress who was very pleasant and was on hand at all times to oblige everyone.
C.N.+J.A.James

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 7James291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel with four other members of our family and our 1 year old grandson for a short break in mid September. The hotel was very good and we were delighed by the suites, very spacious with fantastic views of the beach and sea. The grounds were excellent and only a short walk to beautiful coves. The evening entertainment could have been better, in fact it was pretty non existent and the food was a bit of a let down but neither spoilt our stay. The waiters in the restaurant were always helpful and happy to have a chat with the baby. I would recommend this hotel to others although do be prepared it may be a little difficult if you have a fussy eater.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tickenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Delfim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Delfim Hotel

Property: Pestana Delfim Hotel
Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#6 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Delfim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Delfim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pestana Delfim
Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing