We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Just arrived back (4 May 2012) from the Delfim. This is a friendly golfing hotel, I say golfing because not many couples the week we were there, but lot's of golfers. The choice of food was good, and presentable. Drinks are available all day, but local spirits are palatable (just). The lifts are very quite and very reliable. Bedrooms are OK and double with Sea View are roomy. Bathroom was fine, however, do not expect fluffy bath towels, the towels need changing for new one's as very thin, bit like tea towels!. Cannot fault the staff as very reliable and friendly. Please be aware that the hotel is on a bit of a hill, so reaching it from road,or beach, could be a bit hard for some elderly people. We also found the Balconies rather small and basic. The Hotel is rated as 4 star, but, items noted above would leave this open to question. Overall we had a pleasant stay and enjoyed Alvor.

Room Tip: always ask for a sea view, most are, but no sun at the rear ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheKnower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    405
    249
    89
    50
See reviews for
418
343
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I am actually still in the hotel at present using a very costly wi-fi service to write this report - it actually states there is free wi-fi on the online hotel description.

This hotel is dire - it is very old, tired and in desperate need for restoration and development. There is one small pool - I've still to find the indoor pool although I think it is actually loacted in the bar.

The staff are less than helpful and whilst one of our group was subjected to a very dangerous prank which could have cause serious injury if not fatality the staff including the hotel manager and the "Director of Golf" did not want any police involvement and tried to charge the victim for the damage. There is absolutely no security in the hotel - no cameras, no security guards NOTHING!

If you want bland food, where there is little choice and eat it within a dining room with the atmosphere of 1960's school canteed then this hotel is for you. We've actually eaten out on 3 nights so far and we're on our 6th day.

This is not a hotel for Families - its a cheap hostel for golfers. I am a golfer myself but the standard of accomodation is at least 2 stars below the 4 star rating on the sign stuck to the outside of the hotel. Obviously someone has a star transfer kit.

We spoke to a few locals who told us the hotel has just re-opened after the winter during some major redevelopment - I really dont know what it is as everything is tired.

There are other choices in the are - think wisely before you commit to this hotel

Room Tip: To ensure you get a good room - choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DDM620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alvor hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

great sea view from our balcony. The location is superb beautiful beaches and walks along decked pathways just off seafront. The food is good fresh fish,meats veg and salad the best desserts all inclusive I have had. The wines beer and sangria are all good,no tiny cups here you get a decent size drink.Rooms and hotel clean.Staff are very accomodating. We used the courtesy bus this is a nice service.Towels provided at the pool smelt very fresh.If you want a relaxing holiday to just walk to beach this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnyshez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Most of the rooms in this hotel have a sea view which is excellent. The staff is nice and the hotel very clean. One of the best hotels we have stayed in anywhere. Alvor is a lovely peaceful and friendly part of the Algarve, and we would highly recommend the resort to people who love Golf, Beaches and generally walking around in nice peaceful area's.
Our room was massive, had cable TV, and payable movies, the bathroom was so nice to and so big even had two sinks. You don't need to take towels as they are all supplied as well as beach/pool towels. The swimming pool, is very nice, with a pool bar in the middle it wasn't open though as we were out of peak season, there is a snack bar and a bar open all day right next to the pool though and there are lots of sun lounges all around the massive pool, there is a plunge/small indoor pool, there is a small gym, hot tub, sauna and steam room, there is also treatments available like massages etc. The beach is only 5mins walk away. The beach is amazing and so clean.
The Food at the hotel was very good, there was enough selection and was something different each evening, even if your a vegetarian. The breakfast has a hugevariety of foods .
The staff are very good, they allow us to check out later at no extra cost.
We really liked it here, so relaxing just what we wanted, even thinking about going back next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cerqueira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We returned today from a relaxing and enjoyable week at the Pestana Delfim. It was our first time at an all-inclusive hotel. Normally we prefer a villa holiday where we enjoy eating out a variety of restaurants but we got an offer of a good deal and we wanted a break. We have stayed once previously at a Pestana hotel - the Miramar in Funchal - and could recall the food being good. We were not disappointed: the food at the Delfim was very good indeed. They do, however, need to find a better tea supplier and the coffee from the dispenser was similarly awful. But the beer (Super Bock) and the red wine were certainly palatable. We had a room on the 8th floor facing the ocean and it suited us very well. The weather was unkind for a couple of days but improved very considerably by the weekend and yesteday was beautiful. Having the balcony was ideal. We're not beach people but anyone who is would be delighted with the location of the Delfim. There's a lovely beach a stone's throw away. The hotel also has a large and attractive pool. Some brave folk used it although at this point of the season it must have been freezing. The hotel's location, if you have kids, isn't great for access to Alvor. It's a not terribly pleasant 15-20 minute walk into the town. We are lovers of the Algarve but we weren't taken with Alvor. We like it quiet but it seemed just a little too quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alphonse49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We decided on a quick, last minute break away back to our beloved portugal with our 4 children and found the delfim and the reviews for a 4 star seemed pretty good.

On arrival we were met by very friendly receptionist, I believe we were one of the first to check in as the hotel opened for the season on the day we arrived (1st April,2012) we were promptly checked in and then offered a delightful glass of champagne, the children orange juices.

The hotel is very much in need of a lick of paint and some outside maintenance ( cosmetic). I believe ther has been some refurbishment during the closed season internally. I'm assuming these are new lifts and general touch ups.

Our room was spacious and overlooked the sea and pool with great balcony with furniture and a sheltered area. Cleaned and maid service every day. Cleanliness excellent. Bright and garish colour schemes and dated old teak, very 1980s.

We sadly were hugely unlucky with the weather 6 days of rain.

Inside the hotel we found that the entertainment team was virtually non existent in the day. The indoor pool, well, it simply represented a simple decorative water feature more than being able to call this a pool, any more than 5 kids/people and it was rammed! Doesn't make much sense as for small investment that could extend into the space in front of it and it could be a decent size. Kids were bored silly because of the terrible weather and it would have been worse if the hotel was not so quiet and then they had no chance to get into this small indoor pool.

The health club really needs updating and a jolly good scrubbing. All water comes out brown ( hot tub, baths sinks) sauna was working but dated, hot tub and steam rooms dated and out of order.
It could be a really nice spa facility if it had a little money spent.

The food was of good quality in terms of its freshness but I had to say, it was so so samey! Day in, day out, pretty much the same things on offer. They had tried to consider something for everyone but it could have done with maybe being themed, or just a bit more exciting!

Was concerned about the high rise but needn't have been, all 4 lifts worked well and effectively.

The staff were all really good and helpful I can honestly say we didn't meet anyone unfriendly. If you have kids this is a great hotel - no-body minds them running around and having fun. Evening entertainment is a bit ' benidorm' cheesy organ music with a singer or man with guitar and backing track. The highlight was the friday evening when we finally saw the entertainment team put on a show...really surprisingly good. They should organise more stuff like this nightly!

However despite all this I can honestly say we will return. Why? Because when the sun is out it truly makes the holiday. The pool area outside is great. Theres a kids club / room by the pool ( nothing much special but nice to be there) the staff are soon friendly and take pride in remembering who you are. ( we loved Sonia in restaurant) the kids had fun and we met some nice people. There is a great games room ( many euros needed! ) the beach is reached by the hotels on private walkway and is lovely, takes less than 2-3 mins to get to.

Please please though Delfim. Could I plead with you to bring in 'diet' drinks ( coke/Pepsi) ? I couldn't drink anything but water because I wouldn't have ' full fat coke' this is a really huge thing. When you go all inclusive youd like to assume you can enjoy an alcoholic drink but I couldn't and neither could most of us ( either because concerned by the huge amount of calories npor because of diabetes) all the people we spoke with said of everything this was one of the most annoying and upsetting thing of all and hugely disappointing. I'm sure with a bit more alcohol flowing becuse of diet mixers, there would be much happier clientele being able to relax just that bit more...

I'm hoping by the time we return and knowing the size of the Pestana group that they would be able to bring in the diet drinks. While I'm not expecting branded alcoholic drinks to be available, just being able to have some healthier mixers would be a godsend ( and for the kids too, stop them getting the crazy 'sugar-highs' associated with full sugar drinks.) it's certainly not conducive and in line with your healthy food option choices in your restaurant.

The 2nd thing is that having stayed in other all inclusives, there is some food snacks available ALL DAY. This is not the case here. If you have breakfast at 7.30am, there's no food of any description available till they open for lunch. (12.30) there should be something available to eat 24/7 for all guests.

We will return and thanks for your friendliness and cleanliness, location and personal touch.

Room Tip: If you're scared of heights don't go above floor 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SarahJaneMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auchterarder
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We had a very relaxing stay at the pestana delfim. Being early in the holiday season,the hotel was quiet,however all the facilities were available. The rooms were spacious and clean,the food was of a very good standard and well presented and the staff,without exception,were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bobh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.9 mi away
Yellow Alvor Garden
Yellow Alvor Garden
#16 of 24 in Alvor
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Delfim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Delfim Hotel

Property: Pestana Delfim Hotel
Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#5 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Delfim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Delfim is an all inclusive hotel in Algarve, specifically designed for families. The all inclusive plan includes breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, as well as snacks, ice cream and domestic beverages. It is located 5 minutes on foot from Praia dos Três Irmãos and 10 minutes on foot from the Alvor town centre, with free parking. This hotel is the perfect place for those who want a worry-free holiday and wish to relax under the sun and enjoy the beach. Take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and enjoy the extensive lawn area. You can even schedule a Magic Spa massage and/or treatment for a complete sense of wellness. You can also play a game or two of tennis or a round of golf, or even visit the town centre using our free transfers. Kids are welcome at the Pestana Delfim and can play at the Kids Club (available from June to September). Most of the rooms have balconies with front or side views of the sea, and are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Delfim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pestana Delfim
Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing