We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

There was aparty of 10 adults we had a lovely holiday food was good plent of variety no complaints from any of our party. Yes the Hotel is dated but it is very clean. The beach is lovely to stroll along with especially all the coves to go in. We will be returning next year, men play golf and the girls chill in the sun what more can anyone ask for!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank julie012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    366
    234
    80
    47
See reviews for
369
311
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

on a return visit no overall change since last visit.The hotel looks dated and in a time zone, rooms though large andfunctional are outdated. The hotel is 15 minutes from town centre though easy access to good beach.the food was average .The staff were polite and friendly.Mostly occupied by groups of golfers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomandbridie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Hotel needs a refurbishment, rooms are a good size. Food disappointing,nothing really to complain about but similar every day. Air con not very good, everywhere was too hot. Staff very helpful but not enough of them.

Room Tip: Sea view or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel Oct 2013, party of twelve golfers. Hotel was somewhat dated and in need of refurbishment, but rooms were clean and the food was good. Entertainment was poor but as Alvor was only 5 mins. in a taxi good selection of bars and restaurants. Having played golf in Spain and Turkey I have always found the Hotel phones to be cheaper than my pay as you go mobile. I made two 4 min and one 4 sec.(answer machine at home) calls to the UK and when I checked out was present with a bill for 36.05 euros for my calls, what an absolute rip off. I will always check the hotels telephone charges in future if we go back to Portugal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

After the trauma of being victims of the deliberate overbooking policy of the Dom Joao 11 (not being told until we arrived at the desk ! ) we were transferred to the Delfim - along with 35 other guests over a two day period !
However we soon settled in and overall had a excellent holiday .The hotel is very clean , the staff are very friendly (unlike the Dom Joao ) the food is more than adequate and there was plenty of space in the outer areas .
We would definately use this hotel again but Thomson really need to find out what Dom Joao"s game is - one or two overbookings is understandable but tens every day is not .
Thomson rep Clara saved the day - absolutely superb girl with her help , efficiency and friendliness .

Room Tip: We had rooms 902 /903 sea facing - excellent .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alan-brown-harrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We went to the hotel for our third visit on September 12th. and again we travelled with Jet2Holidays. There was a delay after someone else's bags were stowed on the plane but after that all went smoothly. The transfer was OK if a bit warm on a coach with only a whisper of air conditioning.

The reception process at the hotel was quick and smooth and fortunately our rooms were available for immediate occupation. This enabled us to make an early start on the all inclusive package. Although the hotel was full or nearly so there was plenty of space for all and there was never any problem in finding a table for a party of six in the dining room.

The range of food and its quality was much as we had experienced before; maybe not haute-cuisine but well cooked and presented. There was certainly no excuse for going hungry. As for the rest of the all inclusive experience the drinks were of decent quality, even if the usual local brands. One pleasing feature was the freely available bottled water. This was very welcome for early morning cups of tea etc.

Some reviewers do mention that the décor of the hotel may be a bit tired. That may be so for some tastes, but it is very comfortable and has the advantage of space both inside and out. Nowhere are there scrambles for chairs or dining room places or sunbeds.

As the pictures show the hotel is set in very spacious and grounds and there is never any need to be crammed together cheek by jowl. The poolside area is well tended and the 'man in the hut' does a good job. The towel exchange system works very well. If I have any complaint about the pool area it is about those widespread blue beds. All hotels seem to use them but they singularly uncomfortable and hard on the bum. Why doesn't the hotel take a leaf out the book of the beach concessionaire and provide a cushion.

The evening entertainment was of a decent standard but must we have those bloody parrots. Its a demeaning experience for the parrots and just an excuse for a photo shoot and sale of pictures. What's more it ruined what looked like being a lively evening in the bar: if they must appear why not at the start of the evening when avoiding action could be taken.

To sum up, the Hotel represents good value for money. The rating is fair and you certainly get more than you pay for. It seems to be well run and the staff happy in their work. There is non of the surly service that is offered in some all inclusive hotels and many of the staff are ones who were there on our first visit. Would I go again. Yes

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a really good holiday despite our holiday being changed 2 weeks before departure. We had originally booked the Dom Joao which we will never book again as they are guilty of treating their guests abysmally. No need to comment further as there are sufficient complaints on the Dom Joao reviews.

As for the Delfim. We have stayed before and made the most of our holiday. The Hotel staff were friendly, really helpful and very accommodating when we asked to change to a higher room. The room was good and had amazing views over the bay.

We stayed to watch the entertainment on one occasion but to be honest Alvor is too much of a magnet to hang around in the Hotel. It really comes alive at night and we mainly ate out in the restaurants around Alvor harbour. Amazing!!

The all inclusive option is ok, however, we did not really use it as much as we could have done, as we were rarely in the Hotel. On the occasions we did use the restaurant the food was average, and as you would expect from this type of buffet food.

All in all we had a great holiday. However, its unlikely that we will book with Pestana again after our stressful overbooking experience at the Dom Joao.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Delfim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Delfim Hotel

Property: Pestana Delfim Hotel
Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Delfim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pestana Delfim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pestana Delfim
Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing