We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very few negatives.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very few negatives.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

this hotel and location are fantastic,all inclusive is the way to go.food was tremendous,there has to be something for everyone at breakfast,lunch and dinner.staff were so friendly,and all spoke excellent english.no need for people to try to reserve sun beds as there are hundreds.
the beautiful beaches are a 5 minute stroll from the hotel.alvor town is a 15 minute stroll,full of wonderful bars,shops and restaurants.
my title was very few negatives...so here is the negative...there was a lot of young children staying here,we were there from 21/june to the 28th.must clash with european school holidays, and if i had one piece of advice to the owners of this hotel, it would be to have one of the bars for adults only.
that said, it would not put me off using this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: family room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yornedwob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel with us and with all our potential clients.
I’m glad you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff extremely nice and helpful. I apologize for any inconvenience and promise to solve the problems you highlighted. We truly value our Guest constructive comments as they help us to continually monitor and upgrade the quality of our service.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kindest regards

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    357
    228
    76
    44
See reviews for
365
300
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here 28 years ago and the Hotel does not appear to have been updated. The positives were the room was clean and sheets and towels were changed regularly. The pool was filthy black on the bottom and bits floating about. The pool man made a feeble effort to clean it will a mop head on a long pole.The drinks were watered down, even fruit juice from the machine at breakfast separated after a few minuet's in the glass and tasted disgusting. Large amounts of fried eggs and beans put out for breakfast were cold and the bacon was just fried fat and cremated. Sometimes it wasn't even bacon it was fried ham.Lunch was much the same as dinner pork ,lamb sometimes rabbit and fries, fries, fries,Only once did we see boiled potates.The bread was dry, and the toast machine hardly toasted.The bar areas were dated ,old worn stained chairs, and stained carpets.Limited alcoholic drinks, and watered down sangria.
Entertainment only one evening for half hour like break dancing, supposed to be acrobats.No way 4 star have stayed at much better ,will not be returning here ever.

Room Tip: most rooms have sea view, not much noise as nothing was going on
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay at the Pestana Delfim Hotels. All your comments benefited my best attention and I apologize for all the inconveniences.
Just not to mislead other potential guests, at breakfast we serve bacon one day and another day fried ham and so on.
We would like to have another opportunity to welcome you soon.
Best regards

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alvor hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Firstly lets address the idiots that moaned that came before me. They are lucky to be on holiday to start with and not in a hospital bed dieing of some some incuruable disease.
1. one review Quote a long walk to beach, OMG how its only 5 minutes max , do you want the sea to be at your hotel door, if you think the beach is a long way away then maybe a care home might be necessary.
2. Another review too many kids, where you not a kid once before in your life , are they not allowed to go on holiday as a child, get over it and get a life moaning about something so trivial. I have no children and had no problems with hearing them.
3. Having to wait for a table for dinner, oh dear 5 minutes , think of the poor staff running around and getting paid low wages.
Now MY REVIEW : I cannot put into words how good a holiday we had. From first point of contact with Ricardo and Silvia so helpful , if you are pleasant to them they will be nice back remember that some of you moaners. The room spotless, bathroom and balcony , great job by the cleaning staff and lovely lady we met. Portuguese are so nice. Some nationalties should learn from them. The view from the bed and room spectacular . The food great and tasty, plenty of it and changed each of the seven nights and also breakfast. Hardworking kitchen and serving staff brilliant. Trying doing yourself for their pay and condition before moaning. Pool spotlessly clean, keep wondering what others are moaning about. maybe they are so unfilled in their lives they need something to gripe about.
The grounds are stunning, beach right by and spotless and clean, a short walk to some of the most beautiful coves and cliffs ever seen, weather amazing.
Great tours, Lagos is amazing and the buildings and Marina. Sagres and Cape St Vincent awesome. Alvor and Praia Da Roche beautiful and lovely hot weather.
The only moan I have expensive tennis everyday could be included in price or at least a concession.
Even the shop on site had two lovely ladies serving in it.
Thank you so much for making our holiday the best we will be back.
Don't change a thing you are doing a great job and ignore the sad moaners they need to get a life before its too late.

Room Tip: Lagos a must, Alvor and Sagres and the amazing Cape St Vincent. Room with a view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mepbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Delfim Hotel. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Generally a nice hotel in a lovely setting but be warned ....... Dont go in the Portugese holiday period as it is overrun with kids who are allowed to do as they please by their parents. They reduce the restaurant to something equivalent of a school canteen, running around getting their own food and drinks resulting in inevitable spillage. I was surprised not to see any accidents during our stay but guess there will be many in the future and of course the hotel will be blamed!
The food was excellent Breakfast, lunch and dinner but the dining experience was ruined as indicated by my first comments. Our room was fabulous when we eventually got it ! we arrived at 1:30pm and was told our room would not be available until after 3pm but it was nearly 5 oclock before the cleaners were finished.This resulted in us losing the entire afternoon that we intended to have in the sun NOT HAPPY. The indoor pool advertised is no more than a kids splash pool and is in the same room as the bar where the entertainment took place and most of the time the floor was wet, slippery and dangerous. We even had a game of football taking place in the lounge one night while most adults were trying to have a quiet drink but nobody on the hotel management seemed to be bothered! Pity becaues the location and beach are FAB.

Room Tip: Garden view was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanpeart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services.
I apologize for any inconvenience and promise to solve the problems you highlighted. If the others can do, I’m sure we will also be able to meet our guests expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kindest regards

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here in may until the 1st of june for 7 nights. Going to TRY to keep this short and sweet.
- Pool is disgusting. Was incredibly cold. Handful of people went in. Pool attendant didnt clean very well. Dead fly's and twigs in the pool and they gathered at the entrance and steps.
- Room was main positive, big bathroom, requested low floor and got it. Happy with that.
- Beach is quite a walk, say about 5mins? Easily do able. There is no specific area for delfim guests though (not a negative just an observation).
- Food is very sameish. Not very well suited for childre you or your children are picky/simple eaters you must go to snack time that is at half 4. Thats the only opportunity as they serve chicken nuggets, crisps, lemon cake, burgers hotdogs etc...Salad was fresh though.
- Male receptionist INCREDIBLY RUDE. It was disgusting, at night there is not much to do. So most spend money on the games. But ask reception for change. Before I spoke he shouted at me no. As I got closer he continued no no no. This was to tell me they had no change (fair enough) he could have done it nicer. But actually I was after the wifi code!! - awkward! Other women very good though.
- Entertainment were POOR. Events only on certain days, not every night. Reptile show was BAD. Lady kept animals in wooden boxes for nearly an hour on stage. No one said reptiles e.g. python and another snake was in the box. Nobody watching them either. Snakes seemed stressed, then lady gave little children them to hold? Very irresponsible. No entertainment team approached us in the day, no activities were promoted. Therefore didn't take part in any despite really wanting to. Once again..not great for anyone age 12 - 18 let alone anyone else who is active.
-Didnt use golf facilities so can't comment.
- Overall probably say this is a 3 star? Did not pay 3 star price though... Wont be visiting again. It was an experience, but won't be reliving it.

Room Tip: If you have requirements, ask for them! The rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KE458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t met at all your expectations. kindly accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience special about the staff.
Kindest regards

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

went to the hotel in may for 10 days,the weather was sunny but a cold wind the food and drink was good on a all inclusive package the hotel is very clean and tidy.the beach is just a short walk from the hotel the village of alfor is a really nice place

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana DelfimHotel and to other guests that consider a trip to Alvor - Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Delfim Hotel.

Ricardo Teixeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is great! firstly the staff are very helpful and speak great English. The hotel is clean and has all amenities, wifi, huge pool area (towels given daily with umberellas on request) they hold games in the pool, kids club around the pool area, games room inside, tennis court, 2 bars, restaurant, gym, spa, shop that has all what you may need and a hair dressers.

The hotel rooms are great, I was on 16th floor in a double room, studio rooms I hear are the bigger rooms. Ours was fine to fit 3 adults. Theres also a good sized balcony area. Iron is available on request.

The all inclusive is amazing, one of the best all inclusive I've been too, food changed daily and was very tasty, I'm actually a fussy eater! eat the steak it's better than any restaurant steak! I was pleasantly surprised. Snacks are served 4pm which are also of a good standard.

Hotel location is ok, it's not far from the beach, just a small walk down a path from the pool area to the beach (5/10 min approx) the beach has many restaurants. The Alvor town is no more than 5 euro to get to.

I would return to this hotel again and again, pestanna hotels are a definite go to, I've stayed in another in Alvor on Tres Imos beach last year and returned because of how great the hotel and location was. Alvor is beautiful and Tres Imos beach is one of the best beaches.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Zoe913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we also look forward to welcome you again next year. Please let us know of your return as soon as possible.
With kind regards,

Ricardo Teixeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Delfim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Delfim Hotel

Property: Pestana Delfim Hotel
Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#6 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Delfim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Delfim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pestana Delfim
Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing