We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Security nightmare and cold food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Security nightmare and cold food”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

All inclusive hotel that on first impressions is decent enough if very dated, but that's all positive that can be said really. The all inclusive food is cold if you are not first in the madness queues for each serving, plus you will struggle to find a table to eat at. Trying to get served an evening drink is another chore, if you are not Portuguese.

One of my party was assaulted in a lift by a local and the hotel management had no interest at all, claiming it was the supervisors day off so they couldn't deal with it. Fortunately he was OK but they showed no urgency at all. Thankfully it was our last day after being asked by the cleaner to leave my room at 10.00 despite a 12.00 checkout time.

Also at weekends the locals just wander in off beaches without all inclusive wristbands and take sunbeds, food and all inclusive stuff without anyone batting an eyelid or a Security Guard in sight. This is very disappointing considering I paid top dollar for this trip, but it seems you don't need to be a resident at the hotel to make most of the facilities. Possibly worth bearing in mind as Alvor is a beautiful resort but has much cheaper accommodation nearby and the food and drink seem free to anyone if you come in off the beach or street.

OK there is one positive which is the pool, that is salt water but kept very clean by the hard working pool staff who are constantly making sure people's parasols are OK as well, but if you get there before the non-residents there are normally plenty of free sunbeds available.

Such a shame, as could be a cracking hotel only if they managed their security and monitored their guests. Not worth the money I paid for the high season at all.

Room Tip: Don't get a Garden view, it's over a Car Park that is like a racetrack 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 412WearyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay at the Pestana Delfim Hotel. All your comments benefited my best attention and I apologize for all the inconveniences.
About the assault, we have the security reports and if you need further information, please contact fo.delfim@pestana.com

Best regards

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    381
    235
    82
    48
See reviews for
376
322
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Arrived at one o'clock in the morning, and we were greeted by a lovely guy who booked us in and explained about there being 24hr tea or coffee available and offered to make us a sandwich if we were hungry, This was a very nice touch when you have been travelling for most of the day.The rooms were large and comfortable,plenty of wardrobe space, beds comfortable, carpet on the floor, and very little noise coming from other rooms. At the time we went there seemed to be lots of portugese families there, all the children were very well behaved, Very good choice of food, nice outside area to eat in also. Good sized pool area and pool bar, small inside heated pool that the children loved, lots of sunbeds and grassy area with trees you could lie under, with a view of the sea and beach, which was only a short walk away, down hill. Entertainment everynight, maybe not to everyones taste, but over all a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank ScouseSeasider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your good review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we also look forward to welcome you again next year. Please let us know of your return as soon as possible.
With kind regards,


Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for 7 nights recently but were very disappointed with the whole experience if I'm honest.

The room we had on the tenth floor was dated, yes we had a fridge, but a) it was empty and b) it was placed smack bang in the middle of the room and the TV was something from the 80's and again placed in the middle of the room inhibiting the access to the wardrobe.

The solitary restaurant was very hit and miss with the food options limited, very chaotic, and the noise levels at times horrendous due to the number of families with young children that were staying at the time, not somewhere you could enjoy a relaxing meal that's for sure.

Entertainment was non existent in the evenings apart from a bloke howling to a backing track in one bar and children again dominating the second "sunset bar" so thankfully Alvor only a short taxi ride away for a choice of restaurants and bars.

I could go on but your board and I'm board now so I'll leave it there other than to say we won't be making a return trip as have stayed in better 4 star all-inclusive resorts for less..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinon about our hotel with other people. We took note of all your comments about our services, faciliteis We sincerely regret we did not meet your expectations in some aspects.
Best regards

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Food good drinks great no rush for sun beds get one anytime of the day, hotel a bit dated but spotless, we had a room on the 10th floor and the view was amazing, hotel staff very friendly,
Not very impressed with the indoor pool right next to the bar it is an accident waiting to happen and should be cordoned off.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view and from the 8th floor upwards, I never had to wait for a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel with us and with all our potential clients.
I’m glad you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff extremely nice and helpful. Regarding our indoor pool , I apologize for any inconvenience.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kindest regards

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

It is a lovely hotel overall, stayed here from 19th-26th July. Very big spacious hotel with beautiful grounds. The restaurant staff worked very hard to make sure tables were cleared and were very friendly and cheerful, the lady on the door of the restaurant for the evening meals was particularly pleasant. As for the food, there was a decent selection every day. Different cuts of meat, a grill where steaks and chicken were cooked and lots of other lovely meat dishes. The deserts were fantastic, the best deserts we've ever had in a hotel - definitely give the chocolate cakes a try, they're lovely! The chef was also very cheerful behind the grill! Also the option to sit outside which was great. The only downside to the restaurant was that you couldn't sit down and have a quiet meal, the atmosphere was comparable to a school cafeteria with kids darting around and lots of noise and people came in with shorts and vests etc and made no effort to look more presentable which was quite disappointing and something that the hotel should enforce more perhaps. However, soft drinks and wine and lager were available on a help yourself basis which was fantastic and the food was never left for too long without being changed for fresher food and nothing ever ran out which was great.

Secondly, one of the bar staff seemed to like to give out half pints of vodka with a dash of coke as opposed to a shot of vodka and topped up with coke. I am a barman in a hotel in the UK myself and i've never in my day seen anything like it. I had to throw my drink away because it was undrinkable and tasted like a cup of bleach. I know us brits have a reputation for drinking to stupidity but I didn't fancy spending my first night in Portugal in A&E. After that, I asked him for less and pointed out how much to put in but he still put too much in and I again couldn't drink it. After that, I stuck to soft drinks which was quite poor because I couldn't be bothered going to the bar and then throwing the drink away because they were incapable of putting a little bit of vodka in and filling with coke. I was also disappointed to find the bars didn't have any Malibu which I was looking forward to.

The hotel and grounds are absolutely spotless, not a speck of litter or damage anywhere which was lovely. The snacks available during the day are great, cheese and ham toasties and hot dogs - fine by us! The pool was absolutely freezing as it is a natural saltwater swimming pool so only went in once; but once you're in it's not too bad. There were games going on in the pool which was great to see everyone taking part in, and the kids club seemed popular with the little ones.

Just another point is that the hotel is quite far away from the main attractions like the aqua portimao shopping centre and the zoo, and the bars in Alvor like to make out they are cheap advertising 1 euro for a pint or 70 cents for a pint, but then charge 4 euros for a can of pepsi so just a heads up!


Overall; It is a lovely hotel but if you're after a relaxing break without kids then this definitely isn't the hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manchester221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give feedback it’s the best award we can get.
Our main objective is to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction and we promise to focus on that! On the other hand we are sorry that the restaurant noise and the bar drinks offered at our Hotel did not meet your expectations and we promise we will do our best to focus on that!
Kind regards

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW/Highlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at the Pestana Delfim at the end of June into July for a 7 night break. This was my first experience of Portugal and certainly won't be the last! We arrived to a very warm welcome and introduction by Ricardo and went to our room on the 12th floor. We had booked a sea view & were not disappointed, awesome views right across the bay, we were very happy with the bedroom & ensuite and had everything we needed, fresh towels, soaps, good sized comfy beds, fridge, (TV, didn't need it though) and plenty of wardrobe space with a lockable safe (paid a little extra for the safe but worth it) The balcony was private & big enough for the two of us & had a table & 2 chairs.

We explored the hotel to get our bearings and everywhere looked clean & tidy, the staff were all very pleasant. The hotel grounds are very tidy with a (saltwater) pool & lovely gardens. We booked this hotel due to it's proximity to the beach sea & cliff walks, a short walk through the grounds & the beach is only 10 mins away, not far at all. As keen tennis players the use of 6 courts was an important factor for us and are run by a local small club. We played tennis each day and had no delays getting on a court during our stay. There are extra charges for the tennis paid directly at the club with two hard courts (10 euro) and 4 clay courts (15 euro) a little steep considering we played every day but that was our choice.
There are so many local walks directly from the grounds & we ventured out plenty along the coastline, bear in mind some steep pathways if you're not a regular walker. There are so many coves & small bays along the coast, well worth the extra distance to explore the awesome scenery. We also took great advice from Sylvia on reception and took a local bus ride out to Lagos, a very clean small town with plenty of cafe's etc and a beautiful marina and also took a coach trip to Sagres & Cape St Vincent, two great days out.

The dining area was large enough with an outside area that we used at breakfast time but watch out for a few hungry seagulls! We were offered a choice of evening meal times & we chose the 7pm slot which turned out to be a wise move as we never queued once to get into the restaurant, it seemed the latter meal times were busier & some queues formed, Monica at the dining area was always helpful & very pleasant. The waiters were always kept busy & were very attentive, they worked hard to keep tables cleared & the restaurant flowing. There was plenty of choice with the food & the nightly "grill" was popular and cooked very well. We were more than happy with the quality of food which we found tasty & plentiful with no complaints, the young chefs were even on hand to answer any queries with the prepared dishes.

Before arrival we had been concerned about the reviews concerning noisy kids! although there were children staying at the hotel and using the dining room, we didn't witness any outrageous behaviour that affected our comfortable stay. There were kids being kids enjoying their holiday like everyone else.

The Wi-Fi access was another important essential for us & was available 'free' in the reception foyer with several seating areas and 2 dedicated hotel pc's to use or using your own devices.

We'll try & return to the region to explore some more & would certainly stop at the Delfim again.
Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

Room Tip: Definitely get a sea view room, overlooking the pool seemed the best side covering the whole bay (we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelfimHtl, Unit Surpervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Delfim Hotel. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I loved it! Friendly helpful staff, food was fab lots of variety, something to suit everyone. Room was spacious and cleaned every day with fresh towels. Yes the décor is a bit dated but overall I found the hotel was ideal for me. I loved the mixture of nationalities, lots of local Portuguese families who were just lovely. Our son soon made friends with kids his age and had a great time

Room Tip: We asked for a pool view and could see the sea too, lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelfimHtl, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Delfim Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Delfim Hotel. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Ricardo Teixeira
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yellow Alvor Garden
Yellow Alvor Garden
#17 of 24 in Alvor
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Delfim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Delfim Hotel

Property: Pestana Delfim Hotel
Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Delfim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Delfim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pestana Delfim
Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing