We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small can be good”
Review of Panda Bar

Panda Bar
Ranked #67 of 152 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“small can be good”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We dined four times in this restaurant on our recent stay in Alvor. We got the impression that the resort was quieter than this time last year We did not eat out every night but when we did we supported the smaller restaurants,i think they need it.Panda bar has very friendly service with well cooked good value dishes.Their house red wine was the best I had in Alvor and a steal at 4.80 euros for a litre.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loftywex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    50
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We ate here on a recommendation, we had squid to start which was fine, but were disappointed by the monkfish kebabs (served with frozen chips) the vegetables were cremated but the fish, while hot, appeared undercooked and was still on the bone which was very tricky to debone when in little chunks. The owner was very friendly and took our grouchy daughter for a walk around the restaurant to let us eat in peace.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmassie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Homely Diner”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

A very nice and friendly restaurant with a husband and wife team providing first class fare. Prices very reasonable and decent house wine by the carafe. well worth a visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank glessart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely bar and resturant”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I thought this was a lovely little bar from the outside but when you go in it is a lovely restaurant which I was not expecting having been going to Alvor for 17 years I can't belive I have always just walked past and never tried it. The Portugese couple running it took over 12 months ago and are really friendly and welcoming. Look forward to going again in September

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Abigail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“nice little bar”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The bar is on the way into the village as you walk in fron the Alvor golf end.

staff were wellcoming and a very welcome stop after such a long walk from where we stayed in the Alvor golf

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom_The_Tailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panda Bar also viewed

Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Panda Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing