We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a restaurant!!”
Review of Tasca Morais

Tasca Morais
Ranked #47 of 154 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Cork Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gem of a restaurant!!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had read the reviews of this restaurant before going to Alvor & boy did it live up to our expectations! The restaurant itself is homely and not as flashy as some of the restaurants in Alvor but the food definately makes up for this. It was divine good home cooked Portuguese cooking and excellent value for money. I had the fish soup to start which I had most nights when eating out but it was by far the best at Tasca Morais and the sea bass was second to none. My husband had the squid and thought it was mouthwatering !We liked it so much there we booked it again for our final night in Alvor. The main waiter was so nice very friendly and so helpful. Unfortunately we didn't ask him his name. Tasca Morais is a truly authentic Portuguese restaurant and we simply loved it!!! Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kk12CorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    60
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mostly good”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I ate here one evening. Service was polite and efficient. We both ordered the steak Portuguese style and whilst my husbands was spot on, the chef must've been a bit enthusiastic when seasoning mine as it was salty as anything (and I like salt on my food!). Would we go back? Probably but we wouldn't rush.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SwanseaFishergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

we visited this restaurant twice during our stay and the service and quality of food was excellent. It is a small restaurant and you may need to book on certain nights. It was very reasonably priced and the staff were very polite and friendly

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Doesn't look much from the outside and only a small amount of tables but inside you get the feeling of a traditional portuguese restaurant . Lots of locals eating there on our visit . The best Portuguese steak i had in Alvor and my wife had a lovely fish kebab . My son also says they have the best burgers! We have visited many times over the years and never been disappointed . Gil is a gentleman especially when he gives us some port at the end !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fawlboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala Vinyes
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My Favourite Restaurant in Alvor”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a tiny restaurant and there is no outdoor seating, which out me off for a while. However since our first meal there we can't keep away.

We love the cataplana with clams, and the chicken piri piri is the best I ever had. The service is good and the staff friendly.

If you want to guarantee a table its best to book, as there is only seating for about 30 people it soons gets full.

Definately my favourite for an evening meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tasca Morais also viewed

 

Been to Tasca Morais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing