We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$302
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 22/07
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$292
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$327/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 21/07
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,135)
Filter reviews
2,136 results
Traveller rating
703
885
386
117
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
703
885
386
117
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen restaurantfishthomson repsfree bus to the beachgrand barevening entertainmententertainment teamkids clubinclusive bardining roomschildren's buffetpool baraqua gymmini discopool viewlovely hotelfamily hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,579 - 1,584 of 2,136 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel design is very impressive, but in reality there are too many features that make the stay uncomfortable. The poor acoustics in the dining area is reminiscent of having a snack in the cafeteria of the local swimming pool. Unfortunately, the noise is carried up into the bar and reception area and the only escape is a retreat to your room or to go outside.
The standard rooms are very spacious and can accommodate four persons, but the wardrobe space is only sufficient for two persons on a short break.
The kitchen area has a modern two ring hob, a microwave, a sink and a fridge, but lacks a work surface. There were knife marks on the surface next to the sink made by a previous occupant.
The hotel is a long walk away from the beach or Alvor town centre and other than a little train type bus that runs down to the beach and back a few times a day it is a long walk and the hotel is at the top of a hill making it best suited to those who have a car for the duration of their stay. The hotel needs to provide a (chargeable) shuttle bus calling at the town centre, the harbour, the board walks, the beach and the cliff top.
The food was not of a 4 star standard... perhaps 3 star for the evening meal and 2 star for the breakfast.
Other than the above comments, it is a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: There are very few rooms with a sea view. If you want that view, ensure that the price you are paying gets you it and take a pair of binoculars.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pnk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here for 10 nights in early September 2011 and were very impressed with the hotel from the outset. Reception area and rooms are magnificent and all very clean. The pool area is also very impressive and bar staff and cleaning staff were very polite and couldn't do enough for you. We also made good use of the courtesy shuttle to the beach. Towels are also available from reception for a deposit of €20.
With all of the above said, we did have some issues with this hotel - we paid for half board but found that we had to eat out for 9 of the 10 nights because the dinners were poor.
The breakfast was better but cold at times and queues to get into the restaurant were the norm throughout our stay. I'm sure this is probably something that can be sorted with a good retaurant manager! One other issue we had was with the reception staff which we found to be a little unfriendly at times when we asked for help. The indoor pool also comes with a charge of €10 each time you use it which we thought was excessive for guests. All in all, we had a pleasant stay, but would probably go for one of the more established hotels the next time.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view tend to get more sun that those with a garden or car park view
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dec82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed at this lovely hotel from 1st - 8th Sept. 2011. The whole place is spotless, gorgeous rooms and bathrooms although you do have to step into the bath to use the shower it's worth it! Maid service is very efficient and thorough and we found all staff in all areas very friendly and helpful. The pool area is huge with lots of sunbeds availlable and a very safe pool with lifeguard on duty while we were there, easy to get in and out of with shallow walk in at either end - most families seemed to catch the free road train from the hotel to the beach which meant that the place was very quiet during the day - got busier after 3.30 every day. Hotel bar prices are reasonable but much cheaper in town. A few disappointments - there was no kettle in the room only a saucepan thing to boil water which was quite dangerous to pour. Also, we were half board but felt the need to eat out several evenings as the buffet food was uninspiring and often cold, even when we were first in one evening. Breakfasts were better but still sometimes not hot enough. Be aware that garden view rooms hardly get the sun on the balcony - pool view rooms are what you need if you like sun. We would go back but only on bed and breakfast, but the hotel will be all inclusive next year which won't suit us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saints_fans_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Have just returned from a stay in the Alvor Baia. The rooms are lovely and the pool area is magnificent with loads of beds available. Children are well catered for and there is a shallow part at each end of the massive pool. We stayed on a B & B basis so didn't try the dinners. Breakfast was a bit chaotic but there was a reasonable choice of food if only they kept it warm! The staff are fabulous and cannot do enough for you. No hotel entertainment although Alvor is a short walk/taxi ride away.




All in all I would recommend this hotel - they just need a good restaurant manager to oversee things.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Silly222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The hotel measures up to any 4* holiday accommodation. Hotel, staff and management had only been up and running for a month or so but had managed to iron out most of the teething troubles that come with a new venture. Reception was modern, light and airy with large wall mounted TV's showing MTV day and night, WiFi hot spot and a separate room with PC's and internet access for use by guests also a small boutique selling pool toys, sunglasses, sun creams etc. The bar area the same serving drinks and snacks.
The rooms (ours was a "superior suite" with pool view) had space enough for two adults and two teenage daughters. Cleaned and freshly prepared everyday by the excellent house staff. The only gripe was that there just isn't enough hanging space for clothes or storage for suitcases and cups and glasses were only one each but I believe the problem is being addressed.
The dining rooms, one green one blue, had large sliding doors so you could choose to eat inside or out. The food, a typical holiday hotel running buffet was quite varied though picky children and teens may struggle on some nights. Again only one complaint, and again I believe the restaurant manager has rectified it, was that if you arrived towards the end of the dining session you sometimes had to wait. They did open the other dining room, the blue one, but this only alleviated the problem in the short term as the waiting staff had two rooms to work and they seemed stretched at times.
The pool is fabulous, very large and clean though only 1.4 metres deep (rumor has it that the hotel is part owned by Portuguese footballers and that Ronaldo paid for the pool though it was also said he had it designed to practice his diving skills) so its pretty safe for children and with a "toddler pool" at one end which is also close to the playground with a variety of climbing and sliding activities for younger children. Lots of sun beds, parasols and tables. Waiters do come round but not very frequently so a trip to the bar for a "cold one" is the easiest option. Watch out for the "light" breeze in the afternoons which put more than one brolly in the pool.
Other amenities, a gaming area and spa though to be honest this area seemed to be a work in progress as well as the usual pool towels for hire and dry cleaning service etc.

Overall an enjoyable stay and had it not been for the fact that next year its going to be a First Choice hotel and all inclusive rather than something a little different to the usual British holiday - maker type of hotel we would have returned. Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Small supermarket a couple of hundred yards down the road near the dentist or a short walk into Alvor town.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank cratchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews