We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Lets The Hotel Down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food Lets The Hotel Down”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at Alvor Baia for 7 nights in September. We had a great holiday and enjoyed our stay in the hotel. The hotel is lovely and the staff are really friendly and helpful but the restaurant and food really let this hotel down. We arrived Saturday and went down for our evening meal - what a disappointment it was. The restaurant reminded you of school dinners or a works canteen. When we went to select something from the buffet most of the containers were empty and it was taking a long time for any of them to get replenished. We also noticed people queing at the restaurant door waiting for tables to get set for them. It was the same again on Sunday so we then went to reception and complained and to be fair the food quality and service did improve greatly.

Room Tip: If you want a sunny balcony or a view ask for a pool view room as the ones at the back are in the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BttyGrttn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    779
    339
    110
    42
See reviews for
960
626
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binfield england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The Baia hotel is brand new and the biggest in Portugal, situated in the area of Alvor.

We booked on line and we thought it was a good deal, the information was scetchy
due to it only opening in July 2011,and I visited a First Choice Shop in Bracknel to ask them to search for their Company reviews on it; they found nothing; that should have rang alarm bells.
On our arrival in Alvor which takes up to 2 plus hours on the transfer buses, the site was outstanding the Hotel was a WOW big and in your face as we pulled up.

We arrived mid-morning and had the time to unwind before having our first evening meal, as this year only it was half board to the english.

The eatng area is below ground level and opened at 7-730pm till 10 pm.
We showed our pass and went in and looked about, it seemed like a Hospital everything was white, and the chairs to sit on were like a cheap cafe).not a 4 star Hotel.
Looking at the containers which held the hot food, we few, and on inspection found most of them just warm or cold; that was the first visit, and maybe a bit hungry.
The next morning at breakfast (7 ish to 10am) we found most of the hot food cold, and went to the manager and asked why, his reply was it is OK for the Portugise and will like this until they close in Oct 2011.
Every day for the first week it was the same, chasing staff/manager, but nothing was improved, in this time we had informed the Rep and made out a complaint form,we asked to be moved as the food products on offer did match any Hotels we stayed in in Portugal over the last 10 years she replied I cannot get you a better offer the Hotel would be lower star and maybe the food also; she then asked us to speak with the managent team memeber, and we did he knew of the issues and said all things will change in 2012 as it is all inclusive only, and the dining area/ team are being replaced; but nothing changed whilst we were there we stayed and treated it as Bed and Breakfast..
So please go, enjoy the beaches and the town of Alvor which have dozens of eating pllaces; but take more euroes this year.

Unhappy Derrick and Sue from Berkshire

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool area as the rear faces scrub land and a Hospital
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank niceholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel design is very impressive, but in reality there are too many features that make the stay uncomfortable. The poor acoustics in the dining area is reminiscent of having a snack in the cafeteria of the local swimming pool. Unfortunately, the noise is carried up into the bar and reception area and the only escape is a retreat to your room or to go outside.
The standard rooms are very spacious and can accommodate four persons, but the wardrobe space is only sufficient for two persons on a short break.
The kitchen area has a modern two ring hob, a microwave, a sink and a fridge, but lacks a work surface. There were knife marks on the surface next to the sink made by a previous occupant.
The hotel is a long walk away from the beach or Alvor town centre and other than a little train type bus that runs down to the beach and back a few times a day it is a long walk and the hotel is at the top of a hill making it best suited to those who have a car for the duration of their stay. The hotel needs to provide a (chargeable) shuttle bus calling at the town centre, the harbour, the board walks, the beach and the cliff top.
The food was not of a 4 star standard... perhaps 3 star for the evening meal and 2 star for the breakfast.
Other than the above comments, it is a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: There are very few rooms with a sea view. If you want that view, ensure that the price you are payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pnk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here for 10 nights in early September 2011 and were very impressed with the hotel from the outset. Reception area and rooms are magnificent and all very clean. The pool area is also very impressive and bar staff and cleaning staff were very polite and couldn't do enough for you. We also made good use of the courtesy shuttle to the beach. Towels are also available from reception for a deposit of €20.
With all of the above said, we did have some issues with this hotel - we paid for half board but found that we had to eat out for 9 of the 10 nights because the dinners were poor.
The breakfast was better but cold at times and queues to get into the restaurant were the norm throughout our stay. I'm sure this is probably something that can be sorted with a good retaurant manager! One other issue we had was with the reception staff which we found to be a little unfriendly at times when we asked for help. The indoor pool also comes with a charge of €10 each time you use it which we thought was excessive for guests. All in all, we had a pleasant stay, but would probably go for one of the more established hotels the next time.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view tend to get more sun that those with a garden or car park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dec82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed at this lovely hotel from 1st - 8th Sept. 2011. The whole place is spotless, gorgeous rooms and bathrooms although you do have to step into the bath to use the shower it's worth it! Maid service is very efficient and thorough and we found all staff in all areas very friendly and helpful. The pool area is huge with lots of sunbeds availlable and a very safe pool with lifeguard on duty while we were there, easy to get in and out of with shallow walk in at either end - most families seemed to catch the free road train from the hotel to the beach which meant that the place was very quiet during the day - got busier after 3.30 every day. Hotel bar prices are reasonable but much cheaper in town. A few disappointments - there was no kettle in the room only a saucepan thing to boil water which was quite dangerous to pour. Also, we were half board but felt the need to eat out several evenings as the buffet food was uninspiring and often cold, even when we were first in one evening. Breakfasts were better but still sometimes not hot enough. Be aware that garden view rooms hardly get the sun on the balcony - pool view rooms are what you need if you like sun. We would go back but only on bed and breakfast, but the hotel will be all inclusive next year which won't suit us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saints_fans_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Have just returned from a stay in the Alvor Baia. The rooms are lovely and the pool area is magnificent with loads of beds available. Children are well catered for and there is a shallow part at each end of the massive pool. We stayed on a B & B basis so didn't try the dinners. Breakfast was a bit chaotic but there was a reasonable choice of food if only they kept it warm! The staff are fabulous and cannot do enough for you. No hotel entertainment although Alvor is a short walk/taxi ride away.




All in all I would recommend this hotel - they just need a good restaurant manager to oversee things.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Silly222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The hotel measures up to any 4* holiday accommodation. Hotel, staff and management had only been up and running for a month or so but had managed to iron out most of the teething troubles that come with a new venture. Reception was modern, light and airy with large wall mounted TV's showing MTV day and night, WiFi hot spot and a separate room with PC's and internet access for use by guests also a small boutique selling pool toys, sunglasses, sun creams etc. The bar area the same serving drinks and snacks.
The rooms (ours was a "superior suite" with pool view) had space enough for two adults and two teenage daughters. Cleaned and freshly prepared everyday by the excellent house staff. The only gripe was that there just isn't enough hanging space for clothes or storage for suitcases and cups and glasses were only one each but I believe the problem is being addressed.
The dining rooms, one green one blue, had large sliding doors so you could choose to eat inside or out. The food, a typical holiday hotel running buffet was quite varied though picky children and teens may struggle on some nights. Again only one complaint, and again I believe the restaurant manager has rectified it, was that if you arrived towards the end of the dining session you sometimes had to wait. They did open the other dining room, the blue one, but this only alleviated the problem in the short term as the waiting staff had two rooms to work and they seemed stretched at times.
The pool is fabulous, very large and clean though only 1.4 metres deep (rumor has it that the hotel is part owned by Portuguese footballers and that Ronaldo paid for the pool though it was also said he had it designed to practice his diving skills) so its pretty safe for children and with a "toddler pool" at one end which is also close to the playground with a variety of climbing and sliding activities for younger children. Lots of sun beds, parasols and tables. Waiters do come round but not very frequently so a trip to the bar for a "cold one" is the easiest option. Watch out for the "light" breeze in the afternoons which put more than one brolly in the pool.
Other amenities, a gaming area and spa though to be honest this area seemed to be a work in progress as well as the usual pool towels for hire and dry cleaning service etc.

Overall an enjoyable stay and had it not been for the fact that next year its going to be a First Choice hotel and all inclusive rather than something a little different to the usual British holiday - maker type of hotel we would have returned. Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Small supermarket a couple of hundred yards down the road near the dentist or a short walk into Alvo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank cratchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellow Alvor Garden
Yellow Alvor Garden
#16 of 24 in Alvor
646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
14.6 mi away
Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvor Baia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvor Baia Resort Hotel

Property: Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Address: Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-322, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvor Baia Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alvor Baia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing