We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$381
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$385
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$302
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,134)
Filter reviews
2,134 results
Traveller rating
702
884
386
117
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
702
884
386
117
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishgreen restaurantthomson repspay barfree bus to the beachevening entertainmentkids clubgrand barentertainment teaminclusive bardining roomschildren's buffetplay parkpool baraqua gympool viewmini disco
Filter
Updating list...
1,574 - 1,579 of 2,134 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I loved the hotel, it had all the comforts. The room was so big and comfortable, the outdoor pool great and service excellent. The only this that I missed is the indoor pool for which you had to pay extra to enter. Everything else perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms seem same great standard
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TatjanaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at Alvor Baia for 7 nights in September. We had a great holiday and enjoyed our stay in the hotel. The hotel is lovely and the staff are really friendly and helpful but the restaurant and food really let this hotel down. We arrived Saturday and went down for our evening meal - what a disappointment it was. The restaurant reminded you of school dinners or a works canteen. When we went to select something from the buffet most of the containers were empty and it was taking a long time for any of them to get replenished. We also noticed people queing at the restaurant door waiting for tables to get set for them. It was the same again on Sunday so we then went to reception and complained and to be fair the food quality and service did improve greatly.

Room Tip: If you want a sunny balcony or a view ask for a pool view room as the ones at the back are in the shade and look out over the car park.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BttyGrttn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The Baia hotel is brand new and the biggest in Portugal, situated in the area of Alvor.

We booked on line and we thought it was a good deal, the information was scetchy
due to it only opening in July 2011,and I visited a First Choice Shop in Bracknel to ask them to search for their Company reviews on it; they found nothing; that should have rang alarm bells.
On our arrival in Alvor which takes up to 2 plus hours on the transfer buses, the site was outstanding the Hotel was a WOW big and in your face as we pulled up.

We arrived mid-morning and had the time to unwind before having our first evening meal, as this year only it was half board to the english.

The eatng area is below ground level and opened at 7-730pm till 10 pm.
We showed our pass and went in and looked about, it seemed like a Hospital everything was white, and the chairs to sit on were like a cheap cafe).not a 4 star Hotel.
Looking at the containers which held the hot food, we few, and on inspection found most of them just warm or cold; that was the first visit, and maybe a bit hungry.
The next morning at breakfast (7 ish to 10am) we found most of the hot food cold, and went to the manager and asked why, his reply was it is OK for the Portugise and will like this until they close in Oct 2011.
Every day for the first week it was the same, chasing staff/manager, but nothing was improved, in this time we had informed the Rep and made out a complaint form,we asked to be moved as the food products on offer did match any Hotels we stayed in in Portugal over the last 10 years she replied I cannot get you a better offer the Hotel would be lower star and maybe the food also; she then asked us to speak with the managent team memeber, and we did he knew of the issues and said all things will change in 2012 as it is all inclusive only, and the dining area/ team are being replaced; but nothing changed whilst we were there we stayed and treated it as Bed and Breakfast..
So please go, enjoy the beaches and the town of Alvor which have dozens of eating pllaces; but take more euroes this year.

Unhappy Derrick and Sue from Berkshire

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool area as the rear faces scrub land and a Hospital
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank niceholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel design is very impressive, but in reality there are too many features that make the stay uncomfortable. The poor acoustics in the dining area is reminiscent of having a snack in the cafeteria of the local swimming pool. Unfortunately, the noise is carried up into the bar and reception area and the only escape is a retreat to your room or to go outside.
The standard rooms are very spacious and can accommodate four persons, but the wardrobe space is only sufficient for two persons on a short break.
The kitchen area has a modern two ring hob, a microwave, a sink and a fridge, but lacks a work surface. There were knife marks on the surface next to the sink made by a previous occupant.
The hotel is a long walk away from the beach or Alvor town centre and other than a little train type bus that runs down to the beach and back a few times a day it is a long walk and the hotel is at the top of a hill making it best suited to those who have a car for the duration of their stay. The hotel needs to provide a (chargeable) shuttle bus calling at the town centre, the harbour, the board walks, the beach and the cliff top.
The food was not of a 4 star standard... perhaps 3 star for the evening meal and 2 star for the breakfast.
Other than the above comments, it is a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: There are very few rooms with a sea view. If you want that view, ensure that the price you are paying gets you it and take a pair of binoculars.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pnk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here for 10 nights in early September 2011 and were very impressed with the hotel from the outset. Reception area and rooms are magnificent and all very clean. The pool area is also very impressive and bar staff and cleaning staff were very polite and couldn't do enough for you. We also made good use of the courtesy shuttle to the beach. Towels are also available from reception for a deposit of €20.
With all of the above said, we did have some issues with this hotel - we paid for half board but found that we had to eat out for 9 of the 10 nights because the dinners were poor.
The breakfast was better but cold at times and queues to get into the restaurant were the norm throughout our stay. I'm sure this is probably something that can be sorted with a good retaurant manager! One other issue we had was with the reception staff which we found to be a little unfriendly at times when we asked for help. The indoor pool also comes with a charge of €10 each time you use it which we thought was excessive for guests. All in all, we had a pleasant stay, but would probably go for one of the more established hotels the next time.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view tend to get more sun that those with a garden or car park view
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dec82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews