We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,259)
Filter reviews
2,261 results
Traveller rating
734
945
407
124
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
734
945
407
124
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen restaurantfishpay barevening entertainmentthomson repsfree bus to the beachinclusive bargrand barkids clubentertainment teamdining roomschildren's buffetpool baraqua gymlovely hotelmini discofamily hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,666 - 1,671 of 2,261 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This hotel was amazing. It was clean and the service was 101%. I have never been to a hotel where everything is to a high standard but the Alvor Baia Hotel was. The room service was efficient and the staff friendly. The cleaning of the rooms were always well done and the reception, waiters and waitresses were all very helpful and friendly.

We only had to leave at 5pm on the Friday and they allowed us to stay in the room till 3pm which I thought was very good of them. It gave us time to do some last minute sightseeing without having to worry about our suitcases.

The area does require some walking but it is an enjoyable and peaceful walk to the beach, bars and restaurants or you can take a taxi which is 3-4 Euros. If you want to go to Albuferia or Lagos it is more or you may want to hire a car for the day.

The swimming pool is massive and clean and the balconies are very long. You have a games area and internet room and the internet is free.

I would recommend this hotel. I had a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Get the room with the seperate living area and bedroom
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Huge brand new hotel which I suppose just needs some suggestions to improve. Our lovely big balcony got no sun at all at anytime of the day which was disappointing as we like to sit out with a drink etc. When we asked about it we were told you had to pay extra for a sunny room!!!!! The pool is so big and exposed that The wind regularly blew over umbrellas and made it uncomfortable to sit out so we went to the beach which was lovely. Alvor is a nice place. We have been before but we won't go back to this hotel as it is soulless. Positive points , good food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronicalynch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

staying here has been the most relaxing holiday i have ever had! Do NOT listen to any bad comments you may have read already!

my partner and i have had a 2week stay at the Alvor Baia and i have simply nothing to complain about!

the rooms are very spacious with a large fridge and simple kitchen, enough to make lunch in. a large bathroom, living area and bedroom. they were cleaned daily and nothing to fault.

the hotel is very clean and staff are more than happy to help with anything and offer advice. we booked through travel republic so did not have a rep to ask for advice and this was never a problem! as the hotel was not full we were able to check out of our rooms late easily.

the pool is massive, never seen one so big! plenty of sunbeds around the pool and we found most people ventured to the beach so the pool was empty and more than enough sunbeds so getting up late was never an issue. all that can be heard is the water from the pool, it was so peaceful.

the food was standard for a 4* hotel, its a buffett style as every other hotel ive ever stayed in offering this type of service. if you want luxury wining and dining then dont come all inclusive or half board. the restaurant staff were continuously replacing the food and i always had a hot meal. the staff were friendly and provided an excellent service.

as for people saying you need a car and the hotel is up a steep hill, they are just plain lazy. we walked to alvor town most nights, a 5-10 min stroll depending on how far into the harbour you want to go. the beach was 10-15 min walk away and after getting the hotel train there we walked back, so really not that far at all! there is also a small supermarket, us stop and banks 5min walk away. all you really need on holiday!

we hired a car for 2 days from alvor town to visit slide and splash water park and lagos town, well worth doing and we only paid 65 Euro for this.

overall the best holiday ive ever had!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 25couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I loved the hotel, it had all the comforts. The room was so big and comfortable, the outdoor pool great and service excellent. The only this that I missed is the indoor pool for which you had to pay extra to enter. Everything else perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms seem same great standard
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TatjanaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at Alvor Baia for 7 nights in September. We had a great holiday and enjoyed our stay in the hotel. The hotel is lovely and the staff are really friendly and helpful but the restaurant and food really let this hotel down. We arrived Saturday and went down for our evening meal - what a disappointment it was. The restaurant reminded you of school dinners or a works canteen. When we went to select something from the buffet most of the containers were empty and it was taking a long time for any of them to get replenished. We also noticed people queing at the restaurant door waiting for tables to get set for them. It was the same again on Sunday so we then went to reception and complained and to be fair the food quality and service did improve greatly.

Room Tip: If you want a sunny balcony or a view ask for a pool view room as the ones at the back are in the shade and look out over the car park.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BttyGrttn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews