We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, fabulous rooms but food poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The transfer is about 1 hour 30mins from FAO airport however this soon passed. The hotel is located up a private road with a private hospital adjacent. A Spar shop is located about 5 min walk away and is equipped with all your essentials. Water is priced at 50cents for 1.5litre. 

The beach is 20mins away and a complimentary train runs from the hotel and back at regular intervals. Alvor town centre consists of a lovely harbour and amble bars and authentic restaurants. Again this is approx 15-20min walk down a small incline. Bus stops are located near the hotel. We took a taxi ride to a large shopping complex (aqua shopping centre) about ten mins drive away and this costed €7-8. The centre has a primark, h&m, and loads of eating establishments. 

The hotel itself is very modern with a quirky feel, I believe it's in it's second year and has an occupancy of 1100people. When we stayed the hotel had an occupancy of only 100-120people at the most and I would worry in peak season if the hotel could cope with its first year as all inclusive. 

Food Is average. Two restaurants one called 'green' and the other 'blue'. Only the green restaurant was open during our stay. Breakfast was mix of fruits, cereals and selection of hot items. English tea always available.
Lunch and dinner were very similar. The buffet consists of pasta, chips and pork every day. monkfish and cod, turkey and beef also made appearances. Altogether we found the selection small and repetitive. The restaurant has a drink station where house wines (only red/white), beer and soft drinks were on a self service basis. When the restaurants are closed a snack area is set up with burgers, hot dogs, crisps, cheese, ham, juice etc. 

Drinks are all local brands, the beer is quiet nice however the wine was a little ropey! Cocktail of the day is available and hot drinks are no trouble. Your key card acts as your charge card for your all inclusive package so it is asked for when you order drinks! No nasty wristbands! Entertainment was none existent, parrot show,bingo and karaoke but due to the low occupancy this was hosted in the lobby bar which was cramped and lacked atmosphere. There is a larger evening bar downstairs  but this was not opened during our stay. 
There is a games room with air hockey, pool and arcade machine 


Rooms were fantastic, consisting of a big bathroom with power shower, living room with sofa bed, kitchenette with microwave and fridge. Large king size bed with a large balcony. 

What you don't need to take
Pool Towels (provided for €40 deposit on your room-no cash needed)
Iron/board delivered to your room on request. 

Free Wifi is available in public areas and some rooms close to the lobby. 

Pool area is large and no sun bed reservation was required. A children's play area is located at one end with a children's club which I assume opens in peak season. 
The hotel has an indoor spa and pool area. The circuit package gives you access to the Turkish bath, sauna, pool and invigorating showers for a cost of €10 a day and you also need to purchase a showercap at a cost of €2 for use in the indoor pool. It's worth noting you can leave the spa and return later in the day without being re-charged. 

Verdict: ultra modern hotel, however food and atmosphere let it down. A few tweaks and it would be perfect. 

Stayed: April 2012
23  Thank jetset1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
There are newer reviews for Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,409 - 1,415 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

Just returned from a holiday with husband and 18 year old daughter staying at the Alvor Baia. We loved every second there. The hotel is beautiful with lovely spacious rooms and balconies. I have never seen such a large swimming pool. The staff were brilliant and I must make special mention to Hugo the entertainment manager who went out of his way to find a lovely bottle of wine for me. The hotel has an army of staff who seemed to spend all day either cleaning or attending to guests. The food was delicious with something for everyone. We stayed on an all inclusive basis which worked really well for us. The noddy train to the beach is great and if you get chance do the tour of Alvor with Hugo. My daughter found plenty of other people her own age to hang out with, in fact we could only persuade her on 2 occasions out of the week we were there to leave the hotel she liked hanging out there so much and my husband and I chatted away with other guests all the time. A buzzy, happy hotel which we did not want to leave but we will return to. Well done Alvor Baia.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank climmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My family and I are veterans of this area and have had many many lovely holidays in and around Alvor; quite a few times we have stayed at the Plaza Real in Praia de Rocha and driven to Alvor every evening for dinner with the children. Plaza Real is ok, great kids club, nice rooms, bar snacks/meals ok, and ok atmosphere. The place has started to get tired and the pool furniture is in desperate need of replacement. We know what it is like and the children have a great time, we did try to get in but there were no rooms available, which is why we ended up at Alvor Baia Apartamento........
We booked this hotel direct towards the end of the summer and took our young family. When you arrive the hotel looks stunning, very modern and quite a grand reception/lobby area. It is all very pleasant, but the atmosphere is flat and there doesn't seem to be much character.

Parking: Yes, at no extra cost, although I could see it becoming over subscribed.

Food: We were B+B thankfully. We did dine on one occasion, it was ok. The meal was on the house due to another issue I'll cover later. We spoke to quite a few people who were on Half Board and they had become quite fed up with the meals after about 3 nights!! I could see why, the buffet didn't vary in choice at all. The beautiful fishing town of Alvor is only a 15 min walk away, the quality of the restaurants is superb and they are all child friendly. There is no need to eat at the hotel really.

Rooms: Really smart, the beds and sofa beds are really comfortable. The bath room is really nice too. However, there is absolutely NO storage space, the draws and wardrobes don't accommodate any where near enough. If you are able to empty your cases in to the wardrobes, there is nowhere for you to put the then empty cases. We ended up living out of the cases; the room was sold as a 2 adult and 2 child room. Four medium sized cases with clothes for two weeks and we could put very little of it away!!

Kitchen: Yeah don't get excited about it. Although this is marketed as an ApartHotel the kitchen is useless. We had budgeted to prepare some evening meals in the room, we have young children and sometimes after a hard day playing in the pool or out at the local attractions, all we want to do is prepare a simple tea and put them to bed. No chance. The two ring hob is great, there are just no pots and pans for us to use on them. There is no frying pan, no chopping boards, no kitchen knives for slicing or chopping, and no peeler. There are side plates, tea cups and knives, forks and spoons. There is a metal jug thing which we could prepare cups of tea and soup with as long as you are ok using the tea cups for the soup. No bowls. No oven, no toaster. Beans on bread for dinner, children?? Useless. Massive fridge for us to put milk, juice and beer in, oh yes you can keep cheese in there too. Had we have known it was so ill equipped we would have chosen to go somewhere else. Somewhere a little more rough round the edges that did have all the kit to boil rice or pasta or to slice an onion. I moaned a bit to the people at reception, "I am sorry sir, the kitchen is for just making tea and coffee. We don't really want the smell of food cooking in the hotel." A manager I spoke to after this apologised for his colleagues response. He said that "this is not true" Although he didn't give me the reason for the kitchenette being so pointless. He did organise dinner on the house that evening as recompense, dining that once was enough thanks, the food was ok. I'm glad we didn't have 14 of them to try and get through.

Breakfast: Really nice buffet; toast, bread, sweet bread, cereals, cold meats, cheese, yogurts pastries, cakes and some really great fruit. The Portuguese version of a fry-up too! Teas, juices and coffee's. The staff and service were excellent, very friendly and very attentive. A few high chairs too short I think. But on the whole a big thumbs up for Breakfast.

Swimming pools/activities: This area was a bit a disappointment too. Don't bother getting any pool toys, lilos, dinghies, balls etc. They are not allowed. There is a guy who supervises the pool and tells you off if you let you child use them. The pool supervisor is not a lifeguard, he just ties up the parasols and tidy's the sun loungers up a bit. I think he used to behave like a traffic warden, he'd hide round the corner and wait until the lilos came out and then pounce. We were all really annoyed at this. The pool outside is MASSIVE and a few children mucking about on inflatables seemed a small ask. By the way the "Boutique" in the hotel foyer sells all these things, but you have to go somewhere else to use them.
Don't try and take the children into the indoor pool, it is for adults only. It is really nice especially if you want a break from the sun, just don't expect the whole family to be able to follow you in.
There are no other activities to speak of.

If you are single or a couple, then you will be suited to this place, unless you really like using inflatables in the pool. If you have a young family stay away, go and stay at the Club Alvorferias over the road, it isn't as swanky but it isn't pretentious either and the rooms are spacious, with a properly equipped kitchen, Kids club etc The children would love it.
Don't expect to be able to prepare meals and certainly don't do anything more than B + B

Once the big package companies get hold of this place, a lot of my grievances may be resolved. As it stands from my experiences in 2011 I'll stay away. I will always recommend the Alvor area for everyone, young, old, families and singles. It is perfect. It has everything. I won't however be bringing my family back to Alvor Baia Apartments. If we leave the children at home I may consider it.
I hope this helps people with similar circumstances. I've tried to be fair and give credit where it is due.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My friend and I booked the hotel fairly last minute for a short break away. We were a little apprehensive as we could not find any reviews with it being so new. We weren't disapointed at all, the hotel is very modern, spacious and clean. The rooms are lovely with a small kitchen unit. We stocked the fridge up with beer, wine, water and snacks, which was good. There were some drinks in the fridge but no prices on them, so we were unsure to whether or not they were complimentary.

Check in was very, very slow and staff were struggling. I think this was purely down to the hotel having just opened and a staff training issue. I am not sure how they will cope with such a small reception desk when the hotel is open to full capacity. The same applied with the waiting on staff, they were slow but were trying very hard to get to everyone and get their heads round everything. Jose the bar man was great and made us some fantastic cocktails. Thanks!

The pool is lovely, it was in a bit of a wind tunnel but it was a welcome relief from the heat. We did have one horrible day, where we sought refuge in the lovely spa. The facilities are fantastic and for 10 euros I don't think you can argue with it.

The half board food wasn't great and we only ate in once. I can understand what people are saying about the canteen feel. It was a bit clinical and could do with a bit of atmosphere. Vegetarian choice was limited, however I appreciate that this is a cultural thing. Breakfast was good, the porridge was lovely.

Alvor is lovely too, we walked to the beach and into town which was a nice walk, the beach is beautiful and the beach bars are really nice to relax in. The restaurants in alvor are lovely too, lots of fresh fish and a good selection of places, all very reasonably priced. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
50  Thank LeylaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel the last week of Sept, based on TA reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very good overall. It is spotlessly clean and the rooms are very comfortable and of a very good standard. We stayed on half board basis, but never made it to breakfast. We only had dinner on two evenings, the food was only ok, it was very basic, it was typical buffet food, lukewarm or cold. There was no atmosphere in the dining room, so we weren't enticed to stay. We decided to eat in town for the rest of the week. My advice would be to eat what the chef is serving, at least the meat is hot when you get it.

The hotel itself is a little austere. We were told it was built by the same developers that built the private hospital directly across the road. They must have used the same interior designer for both ,as the whole hotel is brown and white, inside and out. It is totally devoid of colour, except for the brightly coloured chairs in the lobby, which really gives a very clinical feel to the place. The dining area is like a hospital canteen and has no atmosphere whatsoever. If they had some bright colours on some of the feature walls it would make a huge difference. This is just my personal observation and did not affect the enjoyment of our holiday in any way.
We booked this holiday through the Airlingus website, 'click and go'. I would highly recommend this. As part of the holiday we had a private taxi transfer from the airport and back again, a great bonus.
Alvor is a lovely village. Plenty of good restaurants and bars with live music. We were spoilt for choice. We would definitely recommend the kebab restaurant across from the Turistico Apts, stunning food, spotlessly clean and very cheap. We would return to this hotel if the price was right, but not if it becomes an all inclusive hotel next year, I'm not sure I would like to visit it if it was full to capacity. We will definitely return to Alvor.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms facing the pool open onto the lobby inside,especially on the first and second floo...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed at the Alvor Baia for a week on a half board basis and yes it was very enjoyable.The hotel is brand new opened I believe in July 2011 ,it is spotless.All rooms are apartments ith a spacious sitting room come dining room,leather sofa and flat screen tv with channels also in English,table 4chairs ,fridge,sink and hob which we had difficulty figuring out how it worked so ask at reception.Bedroom also spacious with a flat screen TV too and two single beds together to form one large bed ,very comfy matressess .Bathroom very nice with even a bidet.Toileteries supplied.The breakfast were quite good with plenty of choice with fruit to die for,unfortunately Kellogg's hasn't made it there yet.Dinners the same although sometimes warm not hot,service very efficient and when you engaged the staff they were very friendly and helpful but must be trained to not bother the guest,a shame makes it feel clinical.One thing that irritated the couple with us was drinks at dinner such as water and wine the waiter asked for your room number but did not say that you had to sign for it at the desk on the way out of the dining room and they were stopped and told in front of other guest that they had not paid for their drinks,they thought that it would automatically put on the room tab.Something the restaurant manager should have the staff inform people of the procedure.The hotel is about 15mins walk from the town and 20mins from the beach,there is a complimentary roadtrain to the beach which I believe next year will run all day.Lovely pool and large well equipped play area for kids.Beach is beautiful especially on the east side along the rocks.A tip if your thinking of hiring a car for a few days do it through the internet from the airport couple had it for a week same price as we paid for three days from the resort.All in all would stay there again and recommend it to all.

Room Tip: pool view is prettier but hasn't the sunsets
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Moonknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed at this Hotel on the 13th to 17th September after booking it via Asda Travel. Although it was advertised on teletext. We booked out flights seperately as it was cheaper.

This hotel does live up to all our expectations and more. It is spotless. It is brand new and hasnt (yet) been wrecked by ungrateful guests.
The pool is huge and hundreds of sunbeds available for use, yes it was windy but its a welcome breeze when its hot. How can someone seriously complain about the weather!??

our room was lovely, i think they are all the same with a small kitchen and table, sofa with plasma and a seperate bedroom with plasma, and a lovely bathroom. our room was on the 4th floor above the kids play area and got sun all day and a sea view. cant fault it! The complimentary toiletries are really nice and replenished every day.

The restaurant- i seriously dont know how someone has complained about this!!! Yes its white deco and has a weird green glow (blue for the blue room) but what else would you have it like. its a futuristic hotel so the dining area follows! Plastic chairs.. there is nothing wrong with the chairs, they dont leave marks on your legs and are comfortable! The food in the mornings consisted of a large fruif bar of chopped pineapple, kiwi, orange, necterine, plums. Lovely! cereal for the kids, and bread for toast, lots of pastries and salads. Nothing to complain about!!! Dinner was lovely too. it was buffet style, with gorgeous pesto chicken breasts, pork, beef, veal, fish, chips, wedges, a lovely salad bar! (if the hot food was cold or bad, surely people like salad, or maybe the people complaining are fatties who only want hot chips) live a little and try different food. if you want british food, go to Butlins not portugal!! we ate soo much and loved every meal. Drinks could be put ona tab, cans of coke were 2 euros and mateus wine was 12 euros for the bottle. They would also keep it for the next night for you.

we ate out twice in Alvor, it was about 15 mins walk down a slight incline of a road. not a hill!! its so not far to walk so dont listen to other reviews. There is a supermarket at the bottom of the road and sells nice fruit and bread and a deli! we ate out in pesitana (i think) and also the restaurant opposite it. we had a hanging beef kebab, fillet steak. to die for! cost 31.50 euros for the meat and would have paid more!

the beach is not far but is advisable to get the train at 10am and then return at 1.45 or 5.45. the walk back isnt that bad. the beach is a must as its so stunning. If you get off the train and walk to to the beach and then right along to the left you will find the secret caves. no one hardly goes there especially at this time of the year.

Also we had sardines in the restaurant with blue and yellow wooden chairs at the bottom of the alvor high street. we got about 6 sardines cooked on the bbq for 6.50 euros. easily enough for two!! yummy.

there is not much nightlife, only a couple of bars open late. but this was perfect for us as we didnt want to go out clubbing.

we also went on a sunset boat trip, which i would highly recommend!

all in all, dont listen to the bad reviews. if you have ever been to an all inc in turkey or egypt, this place is 20 times better. If you like all different kinds of food and are not fussy, then go here!

the room also had a hairdryer in the bathroom! x

Room Tip: choose a room on the top floor and ask for a sea view, you get evening sun!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Cardiff_chick22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellow Alvor Garden
Yellow Alvor Garden
#15 of 24 in Alvor
662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
14.6 mi away
Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvor Baia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvor Baia Resort Hotel

Address: Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-322, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range: £96 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvor Baia Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alvor Baia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing