We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Just returned from one weeks perfect stay at the Alvor Baia. The hotel is absolutely fantastic, modern decor throughout the whole hotel inside and outside. Giant sizes beautiful swimming pool. The rooms are sensational, very large with a really clean modern bathroom, lounge area with wide screen tv and leather sofa. Dining table and four chairs, and a well equipped kitchen. Very comfortable bed, plenty of storage space and a second wide screen tv. Super double sized balcony, suggest you book a pool view room otherwise the view isn't particulary nice. The staff are very helpful and pleasant and always eager to help. Food is good with plenty of variety, the only comment I would make is that the food could be hotter, but otherwise really good. The evening entertainment we felt was rather poor but with a lovely bar and outside area to enjoy we didn't mind. Only takes 10mins easy walk into the village of Alvor which is full of lovely shops and bars, do try the fish restaurants down at the mouth of river and enjoy the lovely board walk over the marshes. Good places to visit are Silves, Lagos, and Loule. Would definately go again.

Room Tip: Floor one, with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    758
    324
    108
    39
See reviews for
914
614
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My partner and I have just returned from 1 weeks holiday at the beautiful Alvor Baia hotel. We absolutely loved it!
We travelled with First Choice and although the transfer time was stated as being 1hr 45 mins it only took just over 1 hour so that was a pleasant surprise!
On arrival at the hotel we were told that our room would be ready in about 15 mins which was fair enough as it wasn't even noon yet! We were given our all inclusive cards and they took our luggage so that we could go for a welcome drink!
One thing to note-This hotel doesn't use wristbands so your room key card acts as your proof that you are AI- you will need to give this to the staff when you enter the restaurant/get drinks.

ROOM- Our room was ready 10 minutes later, and was on the 3rd floor. Absolutely beautiful! Lovely comfy bed, 2 great big TVs (with quite a few channels in English) a lovely sofa, dining table, wee kitchenette(we didn't use this- apart from the fridge), lovely clean and spacious bathroom (fantastic shower!!!) and a HUGE balcony! Couldn't get over the size of the balcony! Very spacious with a table and 2 chairs and a pool view (I had emailed ahead to request this and the hotel were nice enough to oblige! :) so always worth doing this!) Rooms were cleaned often, with fresh towels and toiletries, and a safe was available in the wardrobe.

FOOD and DRINK- We stayed at the Alvor Baia on an all inclusive basis. We personally thought the food was great! My partner is a very picky eater and can be hard to please but he always managed to find plenty to eat so I wouldn't worry about that! Draught soft drinks, wine, beer and water, as well as fresh orange/tea/coffee/hot chocolate is available with your dinner- you can just help yourself! The hotel has 2 restaurants, the green and the blue, but only the green was open during our stay. It was never too crowded so this was perfect. I must say here that the restaurant staff were SUBERB- always so friendly and were very quick to clear plates/show you to a table etc. As for the food choices: there is a great salad bar, with all the usual bits and pieces along with dressings, cold pasta dishes, meats, cheeses etc. They also quite often had sardines(a Portuguese speciality)and other fish dishes here. There is then also usually 2 different choices of soup, and a table with all kinds of bread and rolls (including croissants at breakfast time). We thought that the food choices were great- there was always a couple of pasta dishes- with a couple of different sauces available to choose from as well as parmesan cheese/chillis etc if you wanted to make something a bit different. There was then always a few different meat dishes, with steak, chicken , pork, veal, and various fish dishes appearing throughout the week. One night there was even octopus tentacles in some kind of sauce as well as oysters and fish pate (which in a nice touch had been shaped in to a shark shape!). This was as well as roasted potatos, mini jacket potatos(they were delicious!), boiled potatos and chips, as well as a few different types of veg. There was also a kids buffet area that usually had something like pizza,chicken goujons, slices of roast beef etc, along with mini desserts for the kids. The dessert table was fantastic- with plenty of cakes to choose from (the chocolate cake was delish!) including some traditional custard tarts which were excellent. There was usually also jelly, plenty of fresh fruit, and tubs of either chocolate&vanilla or strawberry&vanilla ice cream.

Breakfast comprised of lots of different breads and rolls as well as croissants and there is a couple of toasters. They also have 3 different cereals, with milk, yoghurts and fresh fruit. There is then the hot food selection with bacon, sausages, 2 types of scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, fried eggs, fried tomatos, mushrooms etc. I honestly don't know how anyone could complain that there is nothing to eat!!!

The snack bar was also open between meal times which had breads, cold meats, cheeses etc as well as crisps and biscuits.

The drinks were great, not every drink is included in the all inclusive package but there are signs up making super clear which ones are. If you insist on named spirits like we have at home then you may not like this but we didn't care! Can't comment on the wine as we don't drink it but my partner enjoyed a few nice cold beers, we both had the spirits (rum and vodka) and the 'cocktail of the day'(the only one included in the AI)and were happy with them all! We did buy a couple of cocktails one night, only as we fancied something specific, and a Pina Colada and a very good Margharita cost us 12 euros.

POOL SIDE- The pool is HUGE and pretty chilly! Looks great though and plenty of sun loungers with table and parasols! Had no problem at all getting a space but then it was quieter season while we were there!

STAFF- We thought that every single member of staff that we encountered were great! Special mentions to the entertainer (the only thing we went to was the Quiz Night, which was nice) and was a really friendly guy who took the time to chat to everyone and make them feel welcome, and the lovely lady in the restaurant with the blonde hair (we didn't get her name) who always gave us such a beautiful welcome. Everyone was lovely!

HOTEL FACILITIES- This hotel is beautiful and we loved the clean modern design, with the funky lifts and giant blue sofa in reception! The grounds are well cared for and everywhere is very clean. Personally we loved the minimalist design of the hotel, with lots of glass and light. We didn't use the spa so cannot comment, but we did go down to the games area for a few games of air hockey so this was nice to have. There was also a children's play area that looked great and a pool for the little ones.

OTHER things to note- The hotel were happy to call us a taxi to go in to Portimao, the Aqua shopping centre is nice to take a walk round! This only cost us 10 euros each way in the taxi.
We did the organised Lagos and Sagres trip with Thomson/First Choice and would recommend this- good value for money if you want to explore a bit!
There is a spar supermarket 5 mins walk away- next to the Alvor Ferias.
You can easily walk in to Alvor- it's only 10 minutes away, and there are a few nice wee shops/a perfumery here, as well as some bars and restaurants if you fancy a change. You can also easily walk to the beach, or the hotel runs a train shuttle if you'd prefer.

CONCLUSION- To sum up, we LOVED the Alvor Baia! We were very lucky with the weather (it got up to 36 degrees while we were there!!!) and thought that the hotel was great! We would definitely return to the Alvor Baia, we think with that they did fantastically especially as the hotel hasnt been running as AI for long! With a few tweaks and some practice this has the making of a 5* hotel! ENJOY!

Room Tip: Email the hotel before you go and request a pool view room- we did and this meant we had a lovely su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank nikislynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed in the Alvor Baia for a week, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Contrary to a couple of previous reviews, I thought the food was excellent; and I say that despite being a very fussy eater.The selection of food on offer was more than adequate and I've no complaints about the quality of it either. I never once went hungry due to not liking what was on offer.

The service at the hotel was the best I've ever experienced. The staff were approachable, efficient, and went out of their way to help you. I can't fault the service at all.

The rooms were excellent too: stylish, clean and with plenty of room. I would imagine they would be no less comfortable with a family of four sharing, either. The kitchen would present a problem if you were cooking, but considering I was all inclusive, I really couldn't have cared less. There is also a decent-sized fridge, which came in handy.

All in all, I was delighted with my stay at the hotel, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel. I would more than happily go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Watson2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Before we went to this hotel I was a little unnerved by some of the negative comments and wondered if we had done the right thing in booking. This was our first toe in the water of package holidays as a family of four and we were hoping everything would go smoothly. We were very pleasantly surprised!

The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble and were very soon greeting us at the bar, reception and restaurant like old friends. Our room was lovely and spacious with a generous balcony and inspired glass front which the children could see out of. We noticed lots of little touches throughout which made a difference to families - we'll leave them to you to discover them all!

Food was amazing - tons of choice and lots of local dishes. My little boy was even compelled to tell the chef that his food was the bestest ever! Though my children aren't fussy eaters, maybe those who are might struggle - an opportunity to try something new for sure! Kids club and park loved by mine, no complaints from me.

Looking more closely at the reviews already given, some complain about their total holiday experience, things which are nothing to do with the hotel. This is my first review for trip advisor, and I felt compelled to write it. Don't be put off by some of the others

Room Tip: Pay a bit more to get a pool view, it's well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Ejr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights and had a very good week. The staff were very helpful and friendly, food was good with plenty of chooice, even though it could have been hotter, but there was a microwave in the restaurant if you wanted to use it. We are quite fussy eaters and found something to eat each meal time, vegetarian was also readily available
The only let down to a four star hotel was the garden style furniture in the restaurant which in our opinion really needs upgrading. All in all a very good weeks holiday!

Room Tip: ask for a pool view the front of the hotel overlooks the road where you are woken by the cockerels c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank tracey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My friend and I stayed here all inclusive at the end of april
We found the staff very friendly and helpful, they all work hard to please the guests.
I don't personally understand the criticism of the food, we always had more than enough choice at mealtimes and the quality and range of meals was good.I think someone had probably commented on the main course "vegetarian" option as within a few days of us arriving that choice had increased to several dishes,I feel this shows the hotel is trying hard to cater to the guest needs and should be recognised.
Yes the food is not all piping hot but I have rarely found an all inclusive buffet that was. We certainly had no problems with it.
I also didn't see any "unsavory" guests while there and people seemed perfectly happy having drinks in the bar in the evenings.Yes there is some noise from the childrens entertainment downstairs but if you don't want to hear children enjoying themselves go to an adults only hotel.
The hotel is not "typically portugese" or "quaint" and if this is what you want you need to look elswhere, however we wanted a relaxing time in a well appointed, clean hotel and that is what we got.
The rooms were as shown in the brochure, excellent, the whole hotel is very modern.
The cooking equipment in the room is limited,as has been pointed out eleswhere, plates, cups, cutlery and glasses, enough to have a cold snack/salad or something from the microwave and make a cup of tea or coffee in your room but not to cook meals, then I think all inclusive is how this hotel is being marketed and what was available was a bonus, especially the full size fridge for your own water etc which you could get from the local supermarkets.
The grounds and pool were great, although it was a bit early in the season to make good use of them.
The Town is a short (approx 10 min) walk away and is down a bit of a hill however the free "train" is available if you don't want to walk.
We had great time here and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank HABLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We Stayed at the Alvor Baia in early May 2012. If we’d stayed B&B this would have been the best hotel we have ever stayed in for a holiday. Unfortunately we were staying all inclusive. The food is OK for all inclusive but the drinks are VERY poor.
The hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant and the place is very clean. The hotel was quite empty when we stayed only around 50 or so other guest’s.
The main swimming pool is VERY cold. I would have thought a newly built hotel wood have at least used solar heating to at least take the chill off the water!
The evening entertainment was also poor, a quiz night, a parrot show, or the entertainment team (2 people) dressing up in wigs and singing kids songs and a disco (a tape playing all night).
I would stay at this hotel again if I was travelling to the part of Portugal again, but not all inclusive!

Room Tip: The NON pool side rooms have a pleasant country side view. you can see the sea from the other side b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tommybritten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
462 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
21.7 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvor Baia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvor Baia Resort Hotel

Property: Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Address: Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-322, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvor Baia Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alvor Baia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing