We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family hotel.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Went for week start of May 14 with my partner and my 3 year old son. Had a brilliant family hotel here. It's a massive hotel and large pool.the animation staff are great laugh and very friendly. Everything is pretty much orientated for children so i don't recommend this for anybody without kids. The only thing I must critize is the food. Same thing over and over again every day . Lunch and dinner is same. If u don't like fish or spaghetti bolognaise then you will be starved everything else is sea food like octopus etc. Seriously who would eat that. The food was nice but just too repetitive and bland ok after couple of days. That is only thing letting down hotel .if they had a spicy Spanish dish or anything with bit of spice. The desserts are lovely though. Staff were always helpful they work hard. Spa is great too. Very clean hotel and modern. Just please change the buffet to get a curry or spicy dish on menu. You pay a lot of money for all inclusive just wish variety was better had to eat out couple of times was loosing will to live at end.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionamcgarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    744
    316
    103
    39
See reviews for
888
596
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the Alvor Baia at the beginning of June and let me say the reviews were awful before we went
.But from arriving at the hotel to handing our keys back at the end of the holiday we have nothing but praise and thanks to the hotel staff for making our holiday really special.
We were a party of 22( yes that's us the big group of geordies) and the checking in at the hotel was quick and efficient with luggage being taken to our room for us We were all given rooms in a row on the ground floor which was ideal as we had little ones. we faced the hospital but that was ok as there was no noise and the sun was on our huge balconies at tea time.
The rooms were very spacious with very big beds and very clean(cleaned every day)with a big bathroom.
The food was well presented and the variety was outstanding with nothing being repeatedly served. plenty of fish and meat dishes, pasta, salads, fruit and yummy cakes .On two occasions the food was not very hot but a zap in the microwave soon helped that.
The pool area was enormous with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas and no need to hurry up in the morning as all the sunbeds were in the sun all day. You can hire a pool towel for 20 euros at the beginning of your holiday and have them changed as often as you like and at the end of the holiday you get your money back. Dont buy the inflatables sold in the shop as they are not allowed in the pool. Health and Safety I know but children like an inflatable on their holiday There is also a childrens park up from the pool area and this is very clean and very safe for all the children.
The entertainment was varied although we did not use the childrens entertainment very much but Carlos the singer was great and always encouraged you to join in the singing or have a dance. Well done Carlos we had some great nights
Although there is only one bar around the pool we did not have to queue very long for service and the bar people were very friendly and cheerful. We had rain one night and the outside bar closed so we had to go downstairs to the childrens entertainment room for drinks which was ok but we could not borrow a tray to bring them back up.
The two Thomson reps Katie and Nicky were lovely girls and were very friendly and were always happy to have a chat to make sure you were enjoying your holiday. We had one problem with someone being very rude about our group but the girls reassured us that after speaking with hotel management that they would not tolerate guests behaving in this manner and tried to find out who it was.Of course this person was never traced as cowards never are.
Overall if you have booked the =Alvor Baia for your holiday you can rest assured you will have a fantastic time

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pau091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

What are people complaining about!!? This hotel is immaculate, clean, with very friendly staff. The rooms are fantastic with full bath and super size beds!! The food is fab too, nothing i disliked, and always hot and very fresh, from fish to meat cooked in front of you to pate and cheese boards and fresh fish displays including, king prawns, squid, green lip mussels, etc.
pool was amazing!! Perfect for adults and children of all ages. The park was fab couldn't get our 2yr old off!
Only slight niggle was the evening entertainment and kids disco, needs improving and times more suitable for the children. But all in all, couldn't fault it would defiantly recommend and return next year.

Room Tip: Pool view a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed for 8 nights from 13th - 21st June, 2 adults and 2 children aged 5 and 3 on the bed and breakfast basis.

Room was lovely and spacious. Shower fantastic. Air conditioning worked a treat and was quiet. Room was cleaned everyday we was there. Great having the fridge. English speaking channels on TV.

The breakfast was good, cereals, fruit, yogurts, meats and cheeses, bread, buns, croissants, English breakfast and more. We enjoyed the breakfast.

The pool was great, its not heated so was a little nippy when you first get in, but it was not freezing. We had no problem getting sun loungers at about 10am but could see at about 11am there didnt seem to be any left. The kids loved the pool and they did the park as well.

We walked into Alvor every lunch and evening and to get to the main street walking with children took us about 25 minutes each way. When we first got there it was 37c and walking back in the heat up the incline was hard work with the kids but was a nice walk on the evening.

We had a fantastic time in Alvor, the restaurants were amazing. The beach is stunning and the kids loved the caves and coves and searching for crabs. There is a shuttle bus from the hotel to the beach. It was our first time in Portugal and wont be our last :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lyndsaya1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Nice clean hotel,however some bad points.Could not get a sun bed all week,the pool is the coldest I have ever used.The food started off ok but by the third day I had to eat out due to the fact there was no variety.the allinclusive stops at 11pm and at one bar you have to pay for drinks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WalesAndrewwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is brilliant. It is very clean, great pool, lovely restaurants and really nice fresh food and the alcohol is good. Not watered down like some all inclusive.. I thought my little boy and myself would struggle with the food as we are fussy eaters at the best of times but everything was so nice and it was fab to see my little boy tucking in and eating better than at home. We also had our 5 month old with us and the facilities in the room made it all very easy. The only 2 things I would complain about was when it was hot we struggled a couple of times to get a parasol which we desperately needed for the baby and lack of sunbeds. Sometimes it took nearly 2 hours!!!! And the other thing is there isnt an iron in the room and they won't loan/hire you one as there is a laudrette and they want you to pay to have them done there which I think is really bad. My husbsnd had to go out and buy an iron as he hadn't ironed them before we went so the travel iron wasnt any good. But other than these 2 things I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here as a family of 4 at the beginning of June for 11 nights and we wish we were still here.

As most people probably are due to all the negativity, we were worried but as others have said in there reviews some people simply must expect the red carpet treatment when they go away

Rooms: Absolutely spotless

I read one review that the rooms are not cleaned properly i was there 3 times due to a sick child when the maid cleaned are room, she hoovered brushed mopped etc under the beds wiped down sides cleaned dishes etc she even apologised when i asked her to leave the dishes so she didnt wake my child.

i read that bedding is not changed even when requested due to sickness, again due to my child being sick whilst i was away i had the cot bedding and my bedding changed daily for 3 days with no problems what so ever.

Cutlery : You can obtain cutlery, plates etc from the dining area for your room JUST ASK !!!!!

Food : As others have said so much choice you are spoilt for choice, i really would like to see what these people in other reviews eat at home if they could not find anything they liked

Pool; Of course its cold on holiday you do not want to jump into a boiling pool do you !!! At first its cold like ANY pool move about and you warm up there was people including us in it everyday we were there.

Entertainment ; i have to agree is rubbish we spent most nights in the apartment but this was also due to having a toddler who was asleep.

The entertainment staff really could do more to interact with the children and the disco should start say 6.30-7.30 with all the party songs kids love so that the younger kids can join in before they go to sleep.

The entertainment in my opinion is the only thing that i can honestly moan about everything else is fantastic the place the staff the food.

There is a shop on site that you can get fags,sweets, crisps, biscuits, fridge magnets, lighters, lilos, bucket and spades, papers, magazines etc it was great.

Plastic glasses ; Again i do not understand what the problem is the hotel is full of KIDS !!!!! If one smashed a glass and cut themselves or even an adult it would not be pleasant.
Some of the plastic glasses were the hard plastic so looked like a glass anyway. Again in my opinion moaning about nothing just to moan

Dining Area ; Is noisy but not like people are making out. We heard each other every night no problem and are plates were cleared yes as soon as we finished but i personally do not like looking at left over food on plates i would rather they be taken away.

Ignore the bad reviews i for one would love to see how these people live in the real world who are so negative.

I do not think you will be disappointed in this hotel we would of course return to this hotel without a problem it was lovely.just we would bring our own entertainment lol.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsT200816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
861 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.5 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvor Baia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvor Baia Resort Hotel

Property: Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Address: Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-322, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvor Baia Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alvor Baia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing