We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We are here at the moment. The hotel is excellent, spotlessly clean and staff very friendly. Great range of food at all meal times. Not much of a healthy choice at snack time though but not a huge problem. The one issue I would have is the sun loungers. There aren't enough for the amount of guests. They have a "no reserve" rule and say if you do the belongings will be taken to the entertainment office. I have never seen this be done. Came out at 0915 today and half were being used and the other half reserved!!!! This isn't the first time since we've been here.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,935)
There are newer reviews for Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,935 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We're currently staying at the Alvor Baia so thought it best to report whilst here rather than waiting until we get back and forget all about it.
Rooms - Fab. Very clean and spacious. There might not be a great deal of storage room but it's not the end of the world. Nice to have a fridge in case you want to get a few groceries and stay in a night or equally good for keeping a bottle of milk in case the bairn needs some cereal or a cold drink. Sofa bed is quite nice actually as I spent a good deal of the last week there as my 5yo had pinched the big bed. It is big actually as 3 can get in but he likes to kick me most of the night.
Pool Area - Large pool with couple of shallow ends and small toddler pool. Depth at most is 1.4m. Is a bit chilly but once in you are fine, especially at 30c. Play park is good though floor does get hot if you don't wear something on your feet.
Food - 2 restaurants serving similar food. As you would expect in all inclusive. Nice Portuguese night and BBQ night. However Alvor 10 mins away with a plethora of places for every need at a decent price.
Bars - Pool bar is great. So you may wait 2-3 mins in a queue sometimes but staff are good. Be careful if you ask for a large wine as you get more or less a pint!!! I agree that the inside bar is a bit of a waste as it is pay only but don't go. There may be guests who are half board etc but we don't know this.
Sunbeds - no reservation policy is good as I think it acts more of a deterrent. Never had any trouble with the so mentioned 'vigilantes' as they are forever cleaning up glasses up for those who can't be bothered to put them in the bin.
Overall - Yes a few more parasols would be nice. Entertainment ok but you're hardly in the West End. Food good, rooms good, Alvor good, cleanliness good so basically a lot lot more goods than bads.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Cannon2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was our first family all inclusive family holiday. We are family of x2 adults & 1 two yr old & 1 four year old.
The hotel was very impressive and the rooms are or excellent standard. The beds were very comfortable and massive!!!
If you read the instructions carefully and remember to put the door message outside your room and your towels in the bath the maids will do up your room and change your towels every day!
The food in the restaurants was very nice, a little bit more variety on the children's selection would have been appreciated but this is only a slight niggle.
The pool area was huge!!! But I do agree they could def do with some more sunshades! I don't thing they could fit in anymore beds though. The water was a lovely temperature.
The area was very pretty but not a lot do do. If we went again we would definitely hire a car. The staff were extremely helpful, especially the lady at the desk at the entrance of the green restaurant with the blonde hair and red glasses, she was lovely to the children!
The night entertainment was excellent for us as we had little ones but it might be an idea to maybe have a teenage disco running alongside, the hotel is def big enough.
All in all a lovely hotel and holiday. We never return to the same place, but I wouldn't have said no to a few more days there.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seagulls75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

+ves: Went at Easter - nice and quiet. Alvor village is a lovely 15min downhill stroll - taxi 4€ back.
Plenty of sun loungers.
Good premium brand alcoholic drinks and mixers.
Rooms minimalistic and clean - but sparse. Think IKEA but without colour.
Balcony great.
Good value
Good for breakfast and bar snacks.

-ves:
Awful cheap plastic dining furniture in dining room - you would feel out of place dressing up for dinner. Food is tepid at best and very bland and unimaginative.
Considering the wealth of fantastic restaurants in the town of Alvors, I would give the evening meal a wide berth.

Weirdly there's nowhere for guests to socialise other than the hotel lobby or at the downstairs bar (which resembled Butlins at best some evenings - and this was early season!!!) therefore slightly odd layout makes for a strange atmosphere - I would not recommend this for a family hotel for young kids.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyMac1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The entertainment from Hugo Teixiera and his team from 'Top Clubs' made the holiday special. They create an atmosphere that is great for everyone, and get everyone involved which gives something significant to staying at Alvor Baia!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomledson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have just returned from a week in this hotel, with very mixed feelings.

On the positive,
The whole hotel is modern, and immaculate. Our room was great, with a fab bathroom and huge bed, with a lovely balcony.
The food was good, fairly varied and we loved having the two resturants so us with older children could have a peaceful meal away from younger guests. The house wine and beer was of a decent quality
The staff were so friendly and efficient,

On the negative,
Our kids (9 and 8) were sharing the sofa bed in the lounge area but found it extremely uncomfy and we had one sleeping in the middle with us most nights. Would suggest it is not suitable for more than one occupant.
There is no where near enough sunbeds and parasols. How can a platinum hotel only provide about 1/4 of the parasols needed for the amount of sunbeds they offer? I got up at 8am every morning to get a decent bed with shade and thus did not eat breakfast with my family so to avoid 'reserving' beds which was not allowed.for long periods during the day very loud music is played by the entertainment team around the pool, the volume is extreme and at times you had to shout when trying to talk to someone. Also a afew songs were played that were very unsuitable for a family crowd, swear words in the songs and sexual references, not on at all.
The entertainment in the evenings was fairly poor, mini disco was great for those under 7 but shows/etc were not great.

With more sunbeds and an overhaul with the entertainment this could be an excellent hotel, and we would like to try it again but only if these were looked at.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nice 10 day break,
great rooms with a small kitchen and seating area, 2 tvs and a balcony all inclusive aspect needs a bit of work, but wine ok,beer fine, white port makes a good start to the evening, no cocktails without paying is a bit of a let down and the pool bar could be improved. Food was generally quite good, plenty of choice in the meat and fish department, salads a bit samey each night. New sunbeds where arriving as we left.

Room Tip: Typical all inclusive music and pool activites make it quite noisy during the day, bars close at 11p...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank gdt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorgePalma, Gerente geral at Alvor Baia Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the Alvor Baia Hotel, and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments. Your opinion is of great importance to us, as it helps us to monitor our performance and improve our services.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
497 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellow Alvor Garden
Yellow Alvor Garden
#15 of 24 in Alvor
664 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
14.6 mi away
Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvor Baia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvor Baia Resort Hotel

Address: Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-322, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range: £92 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvor Baia Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alvor Baia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing