We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scotiascotland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“scotiascotland”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very modern hotel with a very large pool. Staff were very good all round. Rooms were a large sitting area with a small kitchen complete with micro wave, fridge,and cooker. Indoor pool was nice though did not use owing times and child restrictions .Food in hotel was reasonable but required more labeling. Dining rooms could get rather noisey especialy one with childs buffet. Alvor lovely village 15mins away down hill abit steep if you have walking difficulties. Taxi back app 4 Euros

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandCelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    741
    316
    103
    39
See reviews for
887
591
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to an all inclusive hotel. Myself,partner & our 14yr old daughter. First impressions when we arrived were great,such a nice clean new hotel,porters took our cases to our rooms(nice touch). Our room,very spacious the bed was massive and very comfortable. Bathroom & small kitchen with a microwave,and pull out sofa bed for my daughter was also very comfortable. Room cleaned everyday if u put your card on outside door! Pool huge and to be honest i thought it was cold but when its so hot its welcome to cool you down. We never had a problem getting a sunbed or umberella and we had our own towels. Food served in two restaurants,both similar one was more child friendly with high chairs & kids buffet. We ate in both and yes it can be a little noisy but with the amount if guests dining thats ineveitable. Very quick plate clearing. I didnt mind the food but i did think it was quite samey and my daughter ate chips at most sittings and a few times from the kids buffet. We didnt go hungry but i do think better labeling would encourage most people to try more of the dishes. For me breakfast was the best meal of the day!! Many options for drinks & the staff are certainley not shy in filling your glass! So what if you only get a plastic glass. Did not bother us. Alvor itself is a lovely little town not tacky in any way and only a ten minute walk from the hotel. I have to commend all the staff at this hotel from bar staff,pool attendents to gardeners & especially the cleaners(who i have to say i made a point of saying " Good Morning" & Thankyou to when we saw them as many people just walked straight passed & ignored!!!) All working away to make it a great holiday. I would love to go back to Alvor Baia BUT on a self catering option,please please make this an option then i can get booking for next year!!! Xx

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Fuzzybeay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Was not sure what to expect with a Portuguese all-inclusive holiday, as the reviews were mixed (although overall positive). Holiday was with Thomson, and we flew from Luton in August 14.
Hotels and room were very clean, and the hotel still felt new (must have been recently built, as doesn't appear on google maps yet). Overall staff were helpful.
Very close to small harbour town of alvor, which is nice without being tacky. Lagos is a 20 kin water taxi away.
Pool is enormous, with plenty of room (see parasol issues below).
2 main restaurants (blue and green) with same buffet menu in both. Selection ok but limited, I would imagine even the kids would get bored with the same selection after a week. Branded beer (super bock) available on tap
Note- usually very fast table clearance

I guess it's always easy to list the problems, so here they are;
- towel deposits. Asked to pay a 20eur per towel deposit! I can't ever remember being asked to do that before - management don't trust the guests?
- wind in the afternoon at the pool. I know they can't control the weather, but they could prepare for it better. There are nowhere enough parasols, which led to an early morning stampede (if not downstairs by 8am - no chance of a parasol), and the ones that are there are in poor condition.
- poolside 'entertainment'. Way too loud, and it felt like we were attending a rave each day. I thought holidays were about relaxing as well? Tone it down, and just do it for an hour in the morning and afternoon please
- wi-fi (or lack of) : available in reception and main lobby, but not elsewhere. In this day and age, hotels should offer free wifi around the property
- room safe: usual self programmable, but amazingly a separate initialization and daily charge of 1.50 euro! Come on, just put it in the room charge

Overall we had a good time, and the best feedback is that we would probably go again, but we would feel better if the issues above were taken care of first.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ajcatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from the Alvor Baia hotel. We had a lovely week. This hotel has huge, clean, well presented rooms. The pool is enormous and not too cold, there were lots of people in there everyday. We didn't have any issues with getting sunbeds each day. We were always around the pool by 9am at the latest, never used the umbrellas, just made sure the little one had factor50 suncream on regularly. We also never saw people's towels being removed as people did not reserve beds then disappear for hours. It was very windy and everyday brollies, plastic tables, drinks etc blew over, we didn't see this as a problem, the cooling breeze was very welcomed to be honest. The food was of a very high standard, however would say it was very similar each day, fish, and meat cooked at live stations, great choice of salads too. The hotel management were always visible around the hotel, saw them each day in the restaurants and the pool area checking food, cleanliness and the pool water. All the staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was any trouble. The hotel is out of the town, however only a 15-20 min walk or 4 euros in a taxi. We visited Slide and Splash water park, definitely worth a visit, our 9yr old could go on all the rides, some had to be accompanied ie the Black Hole. We were there from 10am until 6pm. The hotel have a deal where with 2 adults a child under 10 goes free. Taxi was 20 euros each way.
Would we return to this hotel...... Definitely.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Having read some very negative comments on here we were very apprehensive about our holiday before we had even arrived, however, the people who were so negative must have stayed at a different hotel!
We like the finer things in life and this hotel certainly lives up to that!

From the moment we arrived we knew we'd made a good choice in booking, the hotel is stunning!!! Check in was very quick, our room wasn't ready but this wasn't a problem as we went for some lunch. The porters took our bags to our room which saved us having to carry them.
The rooms are beautiful, we've been to a lot of hotels and by far these are the best. The beds very comfortable, very spacious bathroom with powerful shower, large balcony and living area. It was perfect as our two year old slept in the living room and we still had some space.

The food was excellent. Different theme nights, lots of variety, superb breakfast choice. We didn't have one bad meal and the kids buffet was brilliant!

I'm one for cleanliness and this is by far the cleanest hotel we've ever been to. There isn't a mark on the floor.

There is a great children's play area which my son didn't want to leave!

The pool is huge but isn't 'freezing' like previous comment say. We never had an issue with sun loungers but we aren't a family that stays in bed until 10am! The hotel did but more loungers and brollies whilst we were there. It can be quite breezy though so be careful not to let your umbrella blow away!!

Alvor it's self is beautiful, quite quiet during the day but at night it's buzzing. It's about a 10 minute walk which is very pleasant.

This hotel has a thousand positives, ignore all the negativity, we as a family will definitely be back to stay!

Room Tip: High floors have good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at the end of June 14.
The hotel was good and Alvor is lovely.
As previous reviews have said the restaurants are fairly noisy at the hotel.
But the food is very good.
The staff were very efficient and friendly.
And reception staff were very helpful with any problems we had.
The rooms are huge and very clean, also well equipped .
The only downside for us, was that it wasn't beach front.
But this wasn't a problem as we had a car.
Also there is a bus service to the beach.
We will definitely go back to Alvor as the beaches are amazing and the town is full of character !

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dankatestanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Had a great holiday, hotel was lovely staff was friendly and welcoming, food was varied and we was spoilt for choice. Pool was lovely and big. Accomodation was spacious, clean and very comfortable lovely bathroom. Enjoyed the theme nights. TUI representatives were very friendly and accommodating always ready to give assistance. No complaints whatsoever definitely would recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 285Cecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
853 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.5 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvor Baia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvor Baia Resort Hotel

Property: Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Address: Estrada do Alvor, Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-322, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvor Baia Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alvor Baia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing