We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with views to die for, on the best stretch of beach in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Praia
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This is a very nice hotel, not sure it is up to its 5 stars, probably more like 4 stars, but the views from the hotel are definitely 5 stars. We booked a garden view room but were lucky enough to be upgraded to a sea view and after experiencing the fabulous view from our room I would definitely recommend booking a sea view room. Apart from the fantastic views you also get a larger balcony with a table and chairs and a large bed/sofa that you can lounge on to read a book or sip your wine, whilst taking in the views. The garden view rooms have much smaller balconies with no bed/sofa and overlook the front of the hotel.

The breakfast was very good, with a large selection of fruit, breads etc. and the normal hot dishes. My only grumble would be that the queue for the egg station was sometimes up to 15 people long, with one poor woman tying to juggle 4 frying pans and on some days 2 waffle machines. For a 5 star hotel I think this was unacceptable. The said queue was also in front of the hot food counter which meant you had to continually weave your way in and out of the queue of people just to get to the dishes you wanted.

We did not eat lunch or dinner at the hotel as we were bed and breakfast. It seemed expensive, but we did see some people having the ‘buffet lunch’ located next to the pool which looked very nice and was 14 euro. We chose to eat lunch at the restaurants on the beach, which had lovely views and were very reasonable. Lunch for 2 with drinks never came to more than 15 euro. In the evening we went into Alvor as there are so many lovely restaurants to choose from. We did however eat twice at the Atlantida Restaurant which is directly below the hotel on the beach. The food is fabulous and the view of the beach at night is worth the visit alone, but if you want a table outside I would advise you book as the restaurant is very popular and always full. You also have the Buzio Restaurant next to the hotel, which I understand to be very good and the Canico Restaurant which is set in the cliff overlooking one of the bays next to the hotel, so if you do not want to go into town you have at least 3 good restaurants within a few minutes’ walk.

We did find the sun bed saga every morning a little tiring, we went down at around 9.30 and always just managed to get 2 beds and were told by regulars that to get a bed by the pool or in a ‘good location’ you needed to be down by at least 7am. The pool boys were very good and always managed to find us an umbrella. The same with the beach, only once did we manage to get beds and this was not until after lunch, however we were height of season, so it is probably much quieter at other times.

We walked into Alvor most nights and got a taxi back. The walk was no more than 15 minutes to the outskirts of Alvor and the Dunas Complex where the Cactus Bar, Marco’s Restaurant and the Chill Out Bar are, and it is another 5 minutes walk to the main restaurant area and another 5 to the harbour. We walked in front of the Delfin Hotel and then turned right at the bottom and then a quick left and we found that to be the quickest route into town. The taxi has a standard 3.90 euro price for the first few miles and this covered the trip back to the hotel.

We love walking and decided to walk along the beach from the hotel and join up with the ‘boardwalk’ in the town. To get to the new boardwalk takes about 20 minutes along the beach and is well worth it or you can take a taxi into town and just do the boardwalk. There are many different routes to take with a few benches and jetties if you want to sit in the shade to enjoy the peace and quiet and the views, which are stunning.

All in all, this is a lovely hotel with views to die for, on the best stretch of beach in the area, with many little coves to choose from. The staff were really nice, it was our anniversary whilst we were there and a waiter delivered strawberries dipped in chocolate and a bottle of bubbly to our room free of charge, and on our last evening 2 cakes and a bottle of water arrived with a card saying have a great flight home, which was a really lovely touch. If you are looking for a good standard hotel, near one of the best resorts along the Algarve, with fabulous views and a wonderful beach then you won’t go wrong if you book this hotel.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must !
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tingley2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,213)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Alvor Praia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

Enjoyed my stay at this relaxing hotel. Rooms are beautifully appointed and very clean. The staff are very approachable and attentive. The pool and many rooms offer lovely sea views and fabulous sunsets. Breakfast is well presented with cooking stations. My only complaint about the food on offer would be that smoked salmon wasn't provided. The pool caddies work very hard but the hotel does suffer from incredibly selfish people who book four loungers for two. We watched this every day. You really had to be up early to bag a lounger. The lift to the beach is super and certainly cuts out walking back up the steps through the garden.
We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as Alvor has amazing restaurants.

Room Tip: Better view from higher floors
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Relaxed atmosphere with attentive staff, bar the odd slight slip. Public spaces are good but young children need watching in the lounge bar because of the unguarded pool that meanders through it.
Evening meals are series of regional speciality themed buffets, a chance to try lots of new tastes. The battered calamari were the first I have had that weren't like chewing sliced inner tube, if they are on the menu give them a go.
Breakfast cold food pretty standard but hot food would benefit from being hotter, the bacon is rubbery and sausages are american 'link' type - not to my taste. However the omelet lady and waffle king always have a small queue of people, again try them.
Pools are well cared for with cleaning and treatment every night. Usual problem over sun beds but helped by the extra sun beds on the beach.
The beach is lovely fine sand and when wet this is nice and firm so young children aren't likely to have the sand beneath their feet washed away by a wave. The rocks they feature in the pictures hide four coves which are successively quieter, avoid the second one, disco music at ten in the morning!
Would I recommend it to a friend, yes if they are looking for somewhere to chill out.

Room Tip: Save money by having a garden view, you won't spend much time there and the view is pleasant any...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Excelent facilities and services..Private acess to the wonderfull beach of Alvor .Alvor have a great offer of seafood restaurants . The pool overlook the beach .
The seaview room is recommended. A very convenient beach hotel for relax . Very good atmosphere.
Beeing a five stars hotel the management have to look for a renewell of the bath equipment at rooms already deteriorated .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LisbonRomao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Had a lovely stay at this hotel. Beautiful sea views from well equipped balconies. Elevator to private beach. The most amazing breakfast, food and experience. Very tranquil and relaxing holiday. Alvor itself is my favorite resort in Portugal, beautiful seafood restaurants and a real Portuguese experience.

Room Tip: Obviously the higher up the better the view, lovely to sit on a balcony and hear the waves crashing...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NeedABreak2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We've stayed here before some years ago, but this was even better! A great hotel for a short break, easy to get to, excellent service and facilities, even in the middle of August when it was busy. We found it a very relaxing break, plenty of room and space to sit by the pool and a great 'help yourself' breakfast. Our room was clean, comfortable and had lovely balcony overlooking the quiet garden towards the sea beyond. Do consider this hotel in Portugal as a short break destination, well served from the UK for a three night break, we shall be back!.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden area rather than the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at the Pestana Alvor Praia again this year after visiting twice before. We have found it utterly relaxing -- the rooms, restaurant, bar and poolside overlook the beach, and a sandy cove with cabana chairs beckons below. There is no piped-in pop music, it is not overrun with loud tourists, there are families but not screaming children or late-night discos. It seems mostly to cater to Portuguese couples and families on holiday, with the smattering of Brits, French, Dutch and Germans, from what we could tell. We struggle to ever leave the hotel complex -- instead preferring to make a gentle circuit from the room to the restaurant, the pool, the beach, the bar and back again. Be sure to book a seaview room for the view, but the 'garden view' rooms do overlook the quiet, lush front of the hotel for a bit less money. We will definitely be back..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DixonsInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
1.1 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Delfim All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#7 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range: £79 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Alvor Praia is a 5-star hotel in Alvor, Algarve. Located on Praia dos Três Irmãos, one of Algarve's best beaches, complete with white sands and tranquil, crystal-clear waters. It's surrounded by expansive gardens, an outdoor swimming pool and an elevator for direct beach access. If you wish to relax, visit the indoor swimming pool with plenty of natural light, the Spa where you can schedule a Magic Spa massage or beauty treatment, the Turkish bath or the gym with the latest equipment. If you wish to enjoy your meals with your family or have a cocktail, the Pestana Alvor Praia offers 2 restaurants and 2 bars. You can even make use of one of the tennis courts or golf courses only 15 km away. The little ones can enjoy mini golf, the playground and Kids Club (available from June until September). All rooms have Wi-Fi and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing