We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Alvor Praia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Praia
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I book a private apartment each year and so didn't stay at the hotel however we did approach the reception staff early on in our holiday as my son had a piano exam on return and he needed to practise. Now bearing in mind they had no obligation to help me out I was most impressed by their generosity. In particular Angela the Deputy Manager and Carina were so accommodating of our request that we ended up using the piano every other day for 2 weeks. Now the Portugese are wonderfully friendly anyway however I am very grateful to these 2 people in particular and for that reason if you want good service on your holiday and what looks like a most beautiful hotel with a stunning view then book ASAP.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dotty1cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    384
    142
    45
    29
See reviews for
294
525
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

On a broad note, I have to agree with the past reviewers and say overall this property provides a great vacation in a spectacular location. My biggest gripe is this hotel has so much potential, and could be amazing, but it fell short on some key things. I will break up my review per amenity to better explain:
Rooms- Definitely get an ocean view room. The balconies have both a table with two chairs, plus a very comfortable sun bed. Inside the room was not so appealing- the bathroom appeared old and dirtier than it actually was since the caulking and fixtures were dated. The bed in our room was very comfortable, however the cleaning staff did not seem to rearrange shoes, items on counters, etc. like other hotels do. They also left some dishes around for a few days, until we put them outside of our room. Counters also seemed a bit dusty- perhaps they just try to steer clear of all your belongings?
We didn't have loud or disrespectful neighbors, however, we could hear whenever our neighbors opened and closed their closet/drawers in the closet- this was annoying if they got up earlier than us. I think this is a mixture of thin walls, and the closet fitment which seemed to be put together by a "do it yourself" person. Great AC system!

Food and drink- PRICES ARE EXTRAORDINARILY HIGH, at least 40% higher than nearby bars, restaurants, and small shops. They don't have a real blender to make frozen drinks which is unfortunate and a potential area for big improvement of guest satisfaction and revenue. Mixed drinks were fine, nothing special.
Breakfast was OK, but did not have fresh fruit, only canned. One day the doughnuts were still half frozen which was not so pleasant. Beautiful view as you eat- wait staff hit or miss. I only ate at the hotel once for lunch, I had a burger which was fine. Had once a nice dinner in our room for our birthday and the food was excellent, although pricey.

Pool and lounge chairs- This is my biggest complaint- I don't agree with the previous reviewer who states finding a seat wasn't a problem. Most days we spent most of the morning at the beach, then came back to the pool in the late afternoon to find many chairs 'reserved' with towels, but no butts in them! This was especially annoying if you wanted to be in the shade or wanted an umbrella. People get up at the crack of dawn to put their towels on chairs- in my opinion, this should not be allowed. The yellow lounge chairs are very uncomfortable, try to get a black one- they are newer and much more comfortable. Pool was decently clean. It would be nice if the pool area and reserved beach area could be smoke free.

Spa- I only spent a total of about 15 minutes here- nothing special honestly. Three small showers, a small indoor pool, another small warm water pool, a sauna, and a turkish bath- most of the times we walked by there were noisey kids running around with parents. Policy states kids can be there with parents, however most other hotels I've been to don't allow children in the spa area under the age of 16.

Common areas- clean, but outdated, carpet looks very old and has some bad stains- but the layout of the hotel is beautiful and they could really spruce things up. All outside areas were really well manicured and beautiful.

Beach is gorgeous- go buy a cheap umbrella somewhere and lay in the sand, away from the "no reservation" games of the pool lounges.

The walk to the town is alright for adults, but for the first half there really isn't a sidewalk which could be dangerous for kids. Taxis speed up and down the curvy road to the hotel which can be dangerous. Town has some nice restaurants, very UK oriented... this is good or bad depending on your taste.

Other notes: I didn't find the hotel to be very green. At breakfast, all condiments like butter, jelly, etc., are all individually packaged which creates a lot of waste. Yogurt was also individually packed. We got a 2 inch stack of paper when we arrived about general hotel policies and announcements- why not have a laminated or mounted copy of such in the room to avoid waste and duplication of work?
On the note of announcements, the hotel should do a better job about advertising the 20% off happy hour and the small classes/lectures they offer. Some amenities like these were a bit "hidden".

Overall, if the hotel made some small improvements based on my comments above, I think it would be a fantastic place!

Room Tip: Opt for the ocean view and ensure the balcony has a day bed. Also ask to possibly be placed next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Passionfruit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Last year we had booked to stay at another Pestana hotel at the resort, which when we arrived had been overbooked - luckily for us! We were upgraded to the Pestana Alvor Praia which has a fantastic position overlooking the beautiful bay. We were so impressed with the hotel last year that we went there again this year. Last year we had bed and breakfast but this year half board. We had planned to eat out a couple of times but the food in the restaurant was so good, with a very wide selection, that we only ate in the hotel. The desserts in particular were excellent - clothes with elasticated waistbands are a must if you stay here! The house wine was very drinkable and reasonably priced. Bar prices are high, though, with a half pint of Coca Cola being almost the same price as a pint of beer. Facilities at the hotel include indoor and outdoor pools, gym, sauna and shop. From the pool area there is a lift which takes you onto the beach where there are sunbeds with canopies, free for hotel residents to use.
The resort of Alvor is about a 25 minute walk from the hotel, either by road or along the beach which has boardwalks most of the way. Or you can get a taxi for about 4 euros. If you walk along the beach there are a number of very good, reasonably priced bars on the way where you can stop for meals/snacks, drinks or coffee It is a really nice resort with plenty of shops, bars, restaurants and cafes in the centre. It also has the usual seafood places where you can eat fresh fish daily, including sardines of course. Food and drink costs roughly the same as in the UK.
We found all the hotel staff without exception to be very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any rooms have a good outlook but the sea view is absolutely stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

If you are planning a first trip to the Algarve, I would definitely recommend the Portimão region. Is around 80 kms from Faro airport and a round trip journey to the region from the airport should be no more than €20 per person.
In Portimão itself, I would suggest staying in Alvor - a 15 minute drive ( €20 taxi) from Lagos and if you are looking for a luxury hotel I would highly recommend the Pestana Alvor Praia hotel. We have just returned from a week long journey to the Algarve and stayed at this hotel. All amenities and facilities were top notch, staff extremely hospitable and the hotel is situated on a cliff overlooking one of the most exquisite beaches in the world. The rocky formations along the beach create a series of bays that serve almost as private beaches to the guests staying at this hotel. There is even an elevator that takes you to from the hotel down to the beach of you don't fancy walking along the beautiful crafted pathway. The hotel has around 60 sun beds on the beach with plenty more at the pool area. The sun beds cannot be reserved which means that you are likely to get one no matter what time you visit the pool/beach, although there is an attendant who will look over your items if you decide to go for a swim or head to the hotel for lunch. The hotel has two main restaurants - one for the day situated poolside and one that offers a nightly themed buffet. At €28 pp I found the evening buffet, lively as it was, a but steep. But for between €7-€9 you an get a return taxi to Alvor which is teeming with a variety of eateries catering for the Alvor crowd and these operate nightly from around 6pm till midnight. We dined twice at the earthy Vagabond restaurant in Alvor which does a sumptuous grill and with seating outdoors shaded by lime and orange trees, this was a perfect escape from the bustle of restaurants lining the street.

After dinner we walked along the small but scenic marina and headed further into this little town which was laden with arts and crafts stores, bars with live music and trinket shops. Against the panorama of the setting sun and the subdued marina, this bohemian treasure of a town was a perfect site for perusing after a long day of being sun kissed on the beach.

There are some great options for cruises -half day, full day, sunset - all between €20 -€25 pp, depending on duration and menu / drink options. Price includes hotel pick up and drop off. Don't feel the need to book before your trip, there are plenty of trips with different cruise companies and availability is never an issue. You can book directly at the Alvor marina - booking directly will afford you the chance to be flexible with dates/ times and probably save you a buck compared to booking ahead or before your trip.

The cruises take you to the nearby towns - we went to Silves through the caves formed by the rock formations and were even allowed time to dip into the water, with lunch served on board, inclusive of price!

This was our first trip to the Algarve and I wasn't sure of what to expect from the choice we made to go to Alvor and stay at ths hotel. I can assure you now, having just returned, that if you, like me, are unsure whether this is worth your hard earned cash, trust me, it is. The hotel, the location, the amenities, the activities, they will be more than you are expecting and better than you are imagining!

Room Tip: Ask if its possible to have a garden suite. Though the garden rooms are cheaper, the do not have a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sathvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Irelans
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Alvor Praia offers 5 star service with breath taking vistas, manicured gardens and even a lift that takes you to the beach!!! Sun beds or large umbrellas await and your beach towels are provided. If the fittings were a replaced a little more frequently I would be giving it 5 out of 5, but on this occasion 4.5 overall I think is fare.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

An excellent stay at a beautiful location
The beach is clean and well maintained, pool is beautifully located with great sea views.
There is tennis and mini golf should it be cool enough to enjoy these options.

It is possible to walk for miles on both the beach and along the boardwalks around Alvor itself.

There are many beach side cafes and restaurants which sell drinks to really nice meals at reasonable prices.

facilities and rooms were of a high standard

I had an appointment at the Hairdresser at the adjacent Del Fim before travelling home and can really recommend her, my hair was beautifully soft and well styled.

A really good holiday!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have great panoramic sea views but you must request them The rooms at the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLOUCESTER
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

An excellent hotel in all areas, very clean and worthy of it`s five stars. Only negative would be the gym which was poor with very little choice of exercise machines Breakfast excellent as were the staff, a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavePGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
2.4 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Property: Pestana Alvor Praia
Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#7 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On top of a cliff overlooking the Três Irmãos beach, this hotel in Alvor is equipped with modern commodities, surrounded with extensive landscape gardens, and has a direct elevator to one of the best beaches in Algarve, with white sands, quiet and clear waters. Guests may choose between the open air salt water pool, or the inner pool, the sauna, the Turkish bath, a massage in the wellness center or enjoying one of the 7 tennis courts and 8 golf courses, available in a 15 km radius. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and satellite TV.At the Almofariz restaurant, you will find typically Portuguese and Mediterranean cuisine, as well as a great variety of theme buffets. The Restaurant has a fantastic view overlooking the garden, which is perfect for the whole family Grilled dishes and international meals can be enjoyed by the pool, followed by a drink at the pool bar. Equipped with the most modern facilities, Pestana Alvor Praia, 5 stars resort in Alvor, is surrounded by 4,5 hectares of green land and is ideal for rest and leisure, offering customers unforgettable moments in a lush environment, perfect for relaxation and rest. With a privileged location overlooking Três Irmãos beach, this hotel in Alvor is located at 1 km from the picturesque Vila do Alvor and its countless commercial and entertainment areas, 5 km from Portimão and 74 km from Faro International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing