We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Praia
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Another delightful 6 days at this hotel. Attentive friendly staff in an amazing location. Superb breakfasts as long as the sea gulls don't get there first if you are outside, I note they have put some cotton in the walls next to the tables to try and contain them!

There is a lovely ambiance about this hotel which makes us return time and time again. The reception staff and bedroom cleaners deserve special mention, but the bar staff are also excellent and have been there for years! My only gripe is that they charge over 5 Euros for a bottle of Erdinger Beer!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms higher up are obviously a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anton47SalcombeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    388
    143
    47
    29
See reviews for
297
531
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Lovely hotel, great staff, good food and brilliant location as long as you don't mind either hiking, or paying for taxis into Alvor.

The only bugbear was the behaviour of a small number of hotel users, 'the sunbed 12' as they became not so fondly known. They are up at 6, not only placing towels but pegging and bungee strapping them to the prime position sun beds in the pool area. They nab tables by putting books on them and grab sunshades by hanging swimwear on them. The biggest gripe is that they then don't bother using them until mid afternoon. Their rudeness to and about other guests was astonishing. Fortunately their antics provided much amusement for our stay, especially the little old lady with the walking stick who miraculously wielded metal sun beds around and hauled concrete based sun shades like an Olympic hammer thrower! Not entirely sure what the stick was for...

Anyway, if you want a decent sunbed it's best to stake your claim before dawn ;)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I've stayed at the Pestana Alvor Praia a number of times. We stay there because of it's central location and the fabulous beach. We stay B&B only because it's a very expensive hotel. Breakfast is great. No issues there.
Two main room types. Don't take a garden view room if you can choose the sea view instead. the sea view rooms are MUCH nicer - particularly in the evenings when the sun is going down.
The hotel is not 5-star. Not by a long shot. I'd say it's a standard 4-star. Some carpet is tired. The entertainment only average - more like a Cruise standard, than a 5-star standard.
The hotel beach is great. We usually stay on the beach for a few hours and then walk down the beach to the village. Lots of great restaurants on the beach and in the village for dinner.
We have stayed here on 5 occasions so I guess that speaks for itself. If you have any particular questions about the hotel, feel free to reach out to me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FD85114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is a nice, clean hotel and is set in a peaceful setting with lovely views over the bay if you book a sea view. The staff are very helpful and obliging - nothing is too much trouble for them. Their English is excellent (particularly as our Portuguese (mine) is limited to just one word and my partner Martyn to none at all!).
My partner and I stayed for one week in June 2014 and had a lovely holiday.
As we had booked for half board, we had the included evening meal on the first night, but although there was nothing wrong with the food at the hotel, decided to eat out after that as we knew that there were a lot of nice restaurants in Alvor and we'd had recommendations from friends of where to eat.
We exchanged the evening meal for a voucher for lunch at the hotel and eat lunch at the pool bistro which was very nice.
The breakfast was buffet style with a good variation of food to choose from.
The free wifi for the hotel is apparently confined to the hotel lobby and there are some computers near the poolside bistro where you can access the internet if you wish (I never bothered as I had decided that I'd gone on holiday to have a holiday from computers and the internet!).
A word of caution with the rooms however, do not stay in room 101 as it leads out directly onto the sunbathing area and the 'sea' view is obstructed by a building which houses the lift down to the beach! We had booked with Thomson holidays and paid the extra to Thomson for a sea view. When we arrived at room 101 we were not happy as there was an elderly gentleman on the terrace/balcony of the room towelling himself down and almost directly outside the window were people sunbathing. Whilst the hotel porter assured us later on that no one could see into the room, this was not reassuring and, in any case, we like to sit out on our balcony/terrace but there was no privacy there for us to do that!
That said, the hotel staff were most obliging and, although the hotel was full on the day we arrived, there were a couple of rooms which would become available the next day and the porter showed a couple of these to us once they became available.
All in all though the hotel staff are very helpful and obliging and even offered to let us have a superior room without us having to pay any more for it - this however would not be available until the following day, which would mean we were almost halfway through our holiday.
In the end, we chose to stay in the same block but moved upstairs to a room above room 101. This room had a nice view and sitting on the balcony was much more pleasant.
Moving rooms however did mean that it took a bit longer for us to settle down which, when you are only there fore a week, makes the holiday seem much shorter!
Nevertheless, once we had settled, we had a lovely, relaxing holiday and wished we were staying a few days more!
We are planning to return next year and may even book for longer next year......

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 101 if you can avoid it!! Pay extra for a sea view as the garden view appears t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've stay to a lot of Pestana Hotels and this one is defenitly the worst of them. Pestana hotels are not bad for the price but the Managers are very incompetants.
The room they give me was suposed to be na upgrade room but the bathroom was completly out of servisse. The rooms are very noisy for the childrens. The swiming pools are not secure at all for children. The food for lunch was terrible, very poor quality. Th hotel is very old for a 5 star and there's no space for sits in the swiming pool (in june) imagine in August!!!! The animation was depressive all the nights. As I said, is the worst of th Pestana hotels in Alvor, try to choose another one if you can

Room Tip: I had the sea view and that was not wonderfull at all. Imagine the garden view! A lot of mosquitos i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here in May 2013 and decided to return this year with our son, his wife and their son (who is 18 months). We both had suites and both were very comfortable. The staff here are very helpful, particularly in the case of our grandson. As he was too young to go to dinner with us, the manager very kindly arranged that he could have his own meal in his room at 6.30. This worked really well as we had our dinner at 7 and then relieved his parents so they could have a quiet dinner together while we looked after our grandson. The food was as good as ever and you cannot get a better location. The beach is fabulous, especially good for small children as the sand is so soft. I would agree with another reviewer who thought the drinks in the bar were quite expensive, but who cares, you're on holiday. A couple of small gripes - on several occasions, our rooms were not changed until late afternoon and when they were changed, the toiletries in the bathroom were not replenished, so we had to ask for more. Also the TVs in the rooms could not get any BBC programmes as we were told that there was a regional problem which had been going on for several weeks. Hope they got it sorted before the World Cup started! One other thing, my son was unable to access the WiFi despite getting the code from reception and we heard one or two other people complaining. However, that said, all in all it is a lovely hotel and a very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

just returned from the Alvor Praia hotel all I can say is that the Hotel and Alvor itself are still lovely but there has been a change in the service from last year.this year our holiday cost more but we had a room on the 6th floor with beautiful views the room was nice enough but the fridge was not working and the light on the balcony was hanging out of the wall with bare wires showing the table on the balcony was very shabby and cracked but I must say that the repairs were soon done although the table was repaired with lots of white filler and should really have been thrown away.Breakfast was always very nice but compared to last year the evening meal was very poor where last year the choice would be prawns smoked salmon etc this year the choice was trays of tomato's cucumber beetroot and little squares of pate or chickpeas as I said breakfast was always busy with all guests having breakfast but not so at dinner time it seems that most of the guests decided to go out for their meal, on our last night at 9pm I could only count about a dozen people in the dining room which I think says it all and some guests did ask if they could eat out on the terrace as people did at breakfast but were told that there wasn't enough staff for this ,The hotel and gardens and pool area are all kept spotlessly clean and the evening entertainment was much the same as last year and the drinks in the bar are expensive the beaches can not be beaten and there are some very friendly beach bar's/café to go to for lunch but would we go back again I would say yes but only on a bed and breakfast basis ,

Room Tip: the rooms on the 6th floor have the best views and larger balcony but the balcony is quite closed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
0.2 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 26 in Alvor
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Property: Pestana Alvor Praia
Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#7 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On top of a cliff overlooking the Três Irmãos beach, this hotel in Alvor is equipped with modern commodities, surrounded with extensive landscape gardens, and has a direct elevator to one of the best beaches in Algarve, with white sands, quiet and clear waters. Guests may choose between the open air salt water pool, or the inner pool, the sauna, the Turkish bath, a massage in the wellness center or enjoying one of the 7 tennis courts and 8 golf courses, available in a 15 km radius. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and satellite TV.At the Almofariz restaurant, you will find typically Portuguese and Mediterranean cuisine, as well as a great variety of theme buffets. The Restaurant has a fantastic view overlooking the garden, which is perfect for the whole family Grilled dishes and international meals can be enjoyed by the pool, followed by a drink at the pool bar. Equipped with the most modern facilities, Pestana Alvor Praia, 5 stars resort in Alvor, is surrounded by 4,5 hectares of green land and is ideal for rest and leisure, offering customers unforgettable moments in a lush environment, perfect for relaxation and rest. With a privileged location overlooking Três Irmãos beach, this hotel in Alvor is located at 1 km from the picturesque Vila do Alvor and its countless commercial and entertainment areas, 5 km from Portimão and 74 km from Faro International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing