We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hotel in the algarve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Praia
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best hotel in the algarve”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

stayed at the pestana alvor praia for the 7th time we were half board. this hotel is just fab the food is second to none the rooms are fantastic; The staff are so helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble. Aduarda on reception was so helpful and friendly service with a smile also cathy on the front desk was also great.the pool area was beautiful and so clean towels were supplied for guest to use at the pool and on the free sunbeds at the beach. the hotel is on a cliff top over looking the most beautiful beach you ever seen. we just wouldnt stay anywhere else you feel so special staying at the pestana alvor praia we will be booking to there next year again we went twice this year and twice last year we just love it. oh and the food what can i say the breakfast was so special out on the terrace over looking the sea all the waiters were dressed to perfection and so polite and the evening meal had so many choices fresh fish lamb steaks desserts to die for and a cheese board to finish off with the beautiful wine. its a must if you go to alvor

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank marianm778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    388
    143
    47
    29
See reviews for
297
532
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

First of all, the location is absolutely stunning. On a cliff top above an amazing beach. Taxi into Alvor only cost 5 euros or you could walk but it's a good 30 min walk on the beach. There's also a bus out on the main road that takes you either to Lagos or Albufeira. There are 2 supermarkets nearby.
Secondly, the hotel pool was very nice and one of the biggest we've seen. Sunbeds are free both by the pool and on the beach but you have to be there at 8am to get one.
Rooms were a very good size and clean although the maids would only come tidy up around 3-4 pm.
Negative points: dinner was quite bad, certainly not worth 20 euros/person (bland & tasteless). The entertainment was also quite poor and very tired.
Also worth noting for young couples that most hotel guests are of retirement age which we didn't mind but were surprised by.
All in all though the hotel is worth it especially for its fantastic location and incredible beach. Hint: take a walk on the clifftops at sunset. Amazing!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

If you like a little luxury at your hotel, this is not the hotel for you. My husband and I have just returned home after 11 nights here. There are quite a few negative points I would like to mention (1) The reception is very dark and tired looking, not like the elegant receptions we have been met with in the past. (2) The whole interior of the hotel needs a full refurbishment, we have stayed in 5 star hotels in the past and this is by no means 5 star !! (3) If you are staying here, stay B & B as the Buffet evening meal is bland and repetetive. We stayed at the Hotel for lunch one day and went into Alvor for a change for our evening meal. Best meal we had in our 11 night stay at Pestana. (4) Our room was a good size and we had paid for a sea view, which was what we got. The room itself could have done with a makeover, it was shabby and tired and the carpet was stained and bathroom lighting was very dull. (5) Could do with investing in some new pool towels and bath towels too, very thin and worn in places. Positives (1) Maid service I could not fault. (2) All staff at the Hotel were very pleasant. (3) Location was good, only a 20-25minute walk along the boardwalk on the beach into Alvor and taxi return was only approximately 5 euros. Hope this review helps. We won't return to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room, at an extra cost. Otherwise you may be overlooking the car park !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a ten night stay. Overall we had a great stay, the rooms were nice with plenty of facilities including a fridge which was useful however the standard if cleaning in the rooms was not very good. All the staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast every morning which was buffet style. There was plenty to choose from including freshly cooked eggs and waffles. Its location is beautiful right along the beach but can take 20 mins to walk into town but a taxi is only €5. Would definitely return here again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were really looking forward to staying here............... But left feeling very disappointed!! As a few people have said this is not a true 5 star hotel! You don't even have a iron and ironing board in your room... Come on even Travelodge have that, no stocked mini bar and no free wifi in your room either... Some of the facilities are lovely and the setting and view (from a seaview room) is fantastic and on the whole it is a nice hotel.... But not 5 star and you expect a lot more for the money you pay.

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon after getting married in Alvor, and as I said we were really looking forward to staying here as it is the only 5 star hotel in Alvor and the setting seemed perfect. I found the rooms nice but not 5 star nice and the whole hotel had a slightly tired feel for a 5 star hotel. The worst thing was the staff are extremely rude and that was the main reason for such a poor rating, I felt like we were an inconvenience and that they only really wanted to be nice to the guests that you could see had plenty of money and the rest of the guests just got in the way! They were also very rude to my wife on the morning of the wedding day as she dared sit on a six seater table in the restaurant, when there was only four of them!!

For the money we paid this hotel was such a let down and would not rush back to stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalton84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelwaterford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable 10 days at Pestana Alvor Pria Hotel with family. Took two rooms with sea view.this is third time in hotel and fifth in the area. Alvor very nice and Lagos nice but busier.
Staff at hotel very friendly and welcoming and helpful . Brilliant location, sea facing is the only way, get a superior room with upstairs level for the views, rooms cleaned daily at a consistent time which is nice to a good standard freshened up in the evening which is a lovely touch. Breakfasts best meal of day here but lots of options locally for dinner such as o Louis and Atlantico on the beach, good mini market called Orange on the holiday village to left facing the hotel for your small everyday items etc. pool is magnificent , sauna and steam room are basic , sunbeds are scarce enough but you can get one if you search but the beach ones are very scarce. The hotel is fading a bit from
It's traffic and heavy use but overall it's a good beach hotel and condition , do I recommend it yes. Would I go back , yes , could it be improved upon possibly but those are only the small things. There were two small weddings there when we were there, I reckon if people choose this hotel for that special occasion in their lives on such a consistent basis as seems to be the case it is doing a lot right .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just returned after 10 days and have to agree that this hotel is not up to the standard of last year. It was six days before sheets were changed, and then they replaced them with sheets that had holes in! Being aware of environment we didn't change all towels everyday but we didn't expect when putting them in the bath for a change they would just take them out and hang them back on the towel rail damp! Also the rooms were not given a proper clean. Breakfast was the best meal of the day as evening bland and tasteless. On the plus side the waiters were charming. The main attraction is location with a fantastic beach area, albeit loungers and shades in desperate need of updating. Please get your act together and bring this back up to the standard of what is expected for a 5 Star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
0.2 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 26 in Alvor
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Praia

Property: Pestana Alvor Praia
Address: Praia dos Tres Irmaos, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#7 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Alvor Praia 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On top of a cliff overlooking the Três Irmãos beach, this hotel in Alvor is equipped with modern commodities, surrounded with extensive landscape gardens, and has a direct elevator to one of the best beaches in Algarve, with white sands, quiet and clear waters. Guests may choose between the open air salt water pool, or the inner pool, the sauna, the Turkish bath, a massage in the wellness center or enjoying one of the 7 tennis courts and 8 golf courses, available in a 15 km radius. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and satellite TV.At the Almofariz restaurant, you will find typically Portuguese and Mediterranean cuisine, as well as a great variety of theme buffets. The Restaurant has a fantastic view overlooking the garden, which is perfect for the whole family Grilled dishes and international meals can be enjoyed by the pool, followed by a drink at the pool bar. Equipped with the most modern facilities, Pestana Alvor Praia, 5 stars resort in Alvor, is surrounded by 4,5 hectares of green land and is ideal for rest and leisure, offering customers unforgettable moments in a lush environment, perfect for relaxation and rest. With a privileged location overlooking Três Irmãos beach, this hotel in Alvor is located at 1 km from the picturesque Vila do Alvor and its countless commercial and entertainment areas, 5 km from Portimão and 74 km from Faro International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Alvor Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel Alvor
Pestana Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing