We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cann't cook steak”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Toro

Don Toro
Ranked #80 of 149 Restaurants in Alvor
Price range: US$12 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: DON TORO - the highest quality steaks in Algarve! Don Toro Alvor is just moved to the new more spacious location with nice big outside terrace, right in front of the school, close to the pharmacy. Don Toro has earned a reputation for great service, great food and great staff. Perfect for a romantic dinner for two, an evening with the family or social meal with friends.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“cann't cook steak”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

we went to this reasterant due to the offer of ribeye for 10 euro. they said its changed to sirlion so agreed to the change. wifes steak ordered medium but came nearly raw, sent it back came back rare she ate half and I finished it left as soon as we had eaten. worst meal out of 14 taken in alvor

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    49
    30
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Worst Restaurant in Alvor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Ordered steaks of course (recommend restaurant for steaks!) although my wife's steak was edible but tough mine was tainted with scent and over-salted, I could not eat mine after a few bites - complained but only received a shrug. Charged us full price and expensive. The service was dismissive, the setting a bit dour and the restaurant virtually empty (why did we stop here to dine?) - we would certainly recommend a big miss here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BigG99_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Only go here if you like raw meat”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Unfriendly staff. Wouldnt recommend bringing children. Expensive. Asked for steak well done, came out with fresh blood in middle. Sent it back to cook another bit but came out more or less the same and couldnt eat same and so had to pay for meal but came out as hungry as we went in

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucylollipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fab steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Lovely restaurant with fab quality steak! Very romantic feel to the restaurant and the waiters are all very pleasant and extremely polite!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 Star Steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Excellent staff and best sirloin steak I've ever tasted
It was a special offer 10 Euros for a sirloin steak meal. I was expecting a smaller portion for this price, but I was very happy with the portion size.
When we first went in, we were the only ones in the restaurant so it was very quiet, however this allowed the waiter to explain things clearly and help us to make our decision on what we would choose. Half way through our meal the restaurant was full and everyone looked and sounded equally impressed.
Would highly recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IanMoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Toro also viewed

 

Been to Don Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing