We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a location”

Restaurante Navegador
Ranked #61 of 152 Restaurants in Alvor
Price range: US$0 - US$49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant opened in September 2011. We offer the tastes of the Algarve, fish, seafood and meat. Entertainment is usual each evening in the summer, and on selected nights during the winter and early spring. We have a wonderful view of the harbour whether you dine upstairs or downstairs. Visit us for a leisurely drink. If you would like a function we can seat more then 200 guests. Find more information on our web-site.
Scotland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“What a location”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Was recommended here by a local ex pat and was not disappointed. The staff are EXCELLENT being extremely friendly and helpful giving advice freely. The view is to die for being right on the harbour next to what seems to be a disused lifeboat house. The food is extremely good. We had fried prawns in piri piri to share and it was very tasty. As mentioned earlier they do a jazz night on a Sunday night with a 5 euro entry fee. I am not sure if you pay this when eating. We dined on the waters edge but there is a lovely rooftop terrace with great views which we looked at but turned down only because at lunch time there was no one else dining there. Very nice place

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hopefultraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Friend helping to respond to reviews at Restaurante Navegador, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, and I apologise if you have already received a reply, but some of my submissions seem to have gone astray.
We would like you to visit us again some time in the future, but in the mean time, we hope you have a good year,

david
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    104
    39
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We ate here on Friday when a Faso singer and accompanist gave a wonderful performance.”
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful night here.
Staff top whack ,
Prolbably not the best place in the world to order steak, which I did to get away from fish which seemed to be excellent.
We ate inside in a fine room down by the harbour.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mushroomking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Friend helping to respond to reviews at Restaurante Navegador, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your review, I seem to have missed a few reviews , and I may have replied to you already.

I would like to know which Steak dish you ordered, but understand if you do not have tiem,

Thank you again,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This was one of the best restaurants we have been to in all the years we have been going to Alvor.
The fish dishes were excellent, especially the monkfish and prawns kebah, which they made up at my request as it was on the menu as monkfish and pork kebah. Ribs also very good. The views are beautiful especially when the sun is going down, The staff are welcoming, helpful and always smiling.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Friend helping to respond to reviews at Restaurante Navegador, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for your review, I have just been checking our responses, and you may not have received a reply from us.

We hope you will have the chance to visit us again sometime in the future, have a very good time , in the mean time,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“What a fantastic restaurant!”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We've been to Alvor for the last four years and not noticed this restaurant before, so it may only have recently opened. It'll be the top rated restaurant in Alvor in no time if our experience is anything to go by.

It's perfectly located next to the harbour. We sat outside, with a great view of the sunset. The waiters are excellent: very helpful and friendly, very attentive but not intrusive - everything that decent waiters should be.

The food was fantastic. We had grilled fish on both occasions we were there and it was incredibly tasty. Very reasonably priced, and the waiters will let you know in advance how much your fish will be, and will offer alternatives to suit all pockets. Great advice on which wine to have too.

The best restaurant we've eaten in at Alvor for service and quality of food, wine, etc, and we've eaten in quite a few of them.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clearwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, at Restaurante Navegador, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thanks for your review, my original response seems to have been electronically lost, if it has not I apologise for replying needlessly.

July seems a long way away, we hope you have had (and are still having) a good summer.

The fish dishes remain our most popular but I have noticed that curry has been the choice on some days.

We would like you to visit us some time in the future, if you have the opportunity,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best new restaurant in Alvor”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Have been coming to Alvor for 15 years. Of all the new restaurants opening this is definitely the best. The staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly. The food was excellent and this was the first place this year to serve the local carob, fig and almond tart, fantastic. Good location on the harbour next to the lifeboat station. I found the portions more than generous and full of flavour.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natural-athlete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Friend helping to respond to reviews at Restaurante Navegador, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for your review, and especially the mention of our desserts.

We are busy now, as we should be in August, and our music starts again in September.

Please visit us again, if you have the opportunity,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Navegador also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Navegador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing