We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't eat the buffet, had food poisoning for 4 days!!!”

Hang Zhou Restaurant
Ranked #114 of 151 Restaurants in Alvor
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Run by a young Chinese couple it offers a spotlessly clean venue with well presented and cooked foods at very reasonable prices.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't eat the buffet, had food poisoning for 4 days!!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Went here for a meal with a group of 7, they tried to charge us for 8 people. 3 of us eat the prawns and was very sick for days, my husband had to go to hospital and go on a drip and had a blood test which showed high levels of food poisoning, cost €300 in the hospital. Would defiantly not recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    23
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Over the years we always got a takeaway at least once, when we are in Alvor for the summer holiday. So this year we decided to try the buffet which seemed like good value. We were there early, so early that the food wasn't ready but that was no problem the friendly waitress that it would be a few minutes, which it was. The food was really nice and we had a good choice, the total for 2 adults , 1 teen, and 1 child came to €48 including 4 huge glasses of sprite. Its nice to have a change during the holiday and we thought this was good value,for money it was like having a 8 course dinner!!!! The food was good and would go again next year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Chinese”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Had the buffet as we do every year, 9.95 each for myself, the wife and my two eldest boys, the youngest 12 year old John just got in for the child's rate (under 1.5 metres) of 5.95 , food is typical Chinese fare and its all you can eat. 60 euro's for the total bill which included a bottle of house red + three soft drinks. Intend to visit again during my two week stay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wedens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Had a great fresh mushroom and bamboo shoots meal. Staff excellent. In a town where finding any vegetarian, never mind, vegan food, is difficult, Hang Zhou was a welcome find. We eat there twice in our five day stay. And by turning the (jasmine green) teapot lid upside down, they offered to refill the hot water.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellafae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

A good choice for a quick meal out. The buffet is excellent value for lunch or dinner but the problem is that many of the dishes taste the Same and they do not include favourites like crispy duck pancakes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hang Zhou Restaurant also viewed

Praia da Rocha, Portimao
 
Portimao, Faro District
 

Been to Hang Zhou Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing