We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty. Relaxing. Needs some TLC.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yellow Alvor Garden
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed 17th July for a week. First thoughts: this is never a 4 star. On leaving: I'm quite fond of the old place. The gardens are pretty, it's quiet, relaxing, the food was really nice, we had half board plus so drinks were free with our dinners... the staff are incredibly hard working and so friendly. Our room was cleaned every day with new towels and the air conditioning worked a treat. Gripes: the beds are rock hard! I got two, thick blankets out of the wardrobe, folded them in half and put them under my fitted sheet to make mine softer. Shower was pretty basic but ok. The indoor pool was nice but the sauna, steam room and jaccuzi were not working. Outdoor pool was ok but a bit greasy. There is no shuttle bus down to the beach so it's a fair walk - about 25 minutes. I asked at reception and got a very blank look and 'there is no bus' There is a local bus near the beach( 1euro75) that runs every 40 minutes if you can work out the timetable but there is a bar right at the bus stop which is handy. Alvor is pretty, like a portugese Whitby. The boardwalks around the estuary are great but when you've walked from the hotel to the beach and then around the boardwalks, you seriously need water. It's ok for a relaxing holiday if you're not too fussy and are easy going, just want to sunbathe, walk, read and check out the restaurants. Would go again but its a big world.

Room Tip: Get a pool/garden view room and check the beds before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed two nights at Yellow Alvor (not to be confused with the Yellow Lagos that is a 5star hotel). Hotel and rooms ok. The hotel is in walking distance of Alvor town, which is a small charter, but-friendly city. Recommend eating at Reataurante Ruccula. I recommend Praia da Rocha, and the beaches in Lagos. Try Meia Praia, Dona Ana and the beaches on the west side. We got the room for €100 pr. night and was happy. I would not have payed more than €120.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frkvivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Only the food was good!!!
The hotel definitely is not a 4****! It’s old and the maintenance is poor.
The building where the rooms are situated is old and dirty. I mean really dirty!!!! The building with the restaurant is more recent and clean.
If you stay in the rooms that face the hotel in front be prepared to stay awake until 23:55. The hotel in front has animation and the music is turned off at midnight.
We had full board and the food was excellent!
The pool’s water didn’t have the normal chlorine levels and PH what made the water cloudy. The gardens and lakes were well taken care of.
Most of the days the sauna and turkis bath were not worrking, so don't count on it.
I certainly will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fofura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed here mid July 2012 and the hotel was quite quiet, in a positive way. Its situated about 15 minute walk from the town, a nice walk. We hired bikes for three days of the seven and I recommend that anyone going to Alvor does the same! Perfect way to get around.

The rooms were good, just better than basic but clean and well presented. The only problem were the beds - when I read some reviews saying they weren't great, I thought people may be being fussy but they are VERY uncomfortable!!! I only had one good sleep out of the 7 days we were there. I requested a double bed when booking the holiday, but had twin which isn't great as a couple.

The food was pretty good, everything you'd expect - bed and breakfast is definitely the best option as the local food is amazing. Captains Table is a great place to eat.

The pool is fab, really lovely area. There is also a small gym and a games room with table tennis, only they charge 5€ to use it! One other thing that really disappointed me was a charge of 10€ to use the safe in the room, with a deposit of 25€! I just don't feel you should pay for safety when it's already located in the room.

The staff were again just ok, pleasant enough but nothing special to really note.

Overall the hotel is just ok, we got a good last minute deal and for what we paid I was happy. I definitely will be visiting alvor again as it is a lovely place but I wouldn't stay at Yellow Alvor and as fussy as it seems the beds are probably the mean reason!

Also - anyone that does book to go to Alvor, you must go on an 'Alvor boat trip'! We went on a sunset cruise which has champagne and strawberrys and some food on board. It really was fantastic. There are also cruises during the day, for families, couples, anyone really!!

I hope my review helps anyone that is thinking of going to Alvor, staying at Yellow Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The Yellow Alvor hotel was quiet when we stayed in July 2012 - in a good way. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The pool and gardens are superb. Stay bed and breakfast because the local restaurants are excellent - half a mile towards town there is a fabulous grill restaurant serving fish and chicken, and an intalian resturant opposite (Al Capone) - (the hotel food is mediocre). Beware, there is no free shuttle bus service into town/beach (this stopped 18 months ago) and it is a good 15 minute walk to town (uphill on the way back) but we enjoyed the walk. There is a supermarket on the way to town - hidden behind a new development - look for the Pingu Dolce signs. Information for your stay will be handed to you on check-in - there is no information in the rooms. Staff morale is low, which is a pity.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool/garden view (well worth it) - all rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRWirral_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of June 2012, if peace and quiet is what you are looking for then this is the place for you. The pool and gardens are lovely the busiest it got was 5 couples around at the same time, we had it to ourselves for most of the time. The food could be improved, we booked b&b but after the first night in the restaurant and breakfast we decided to breakfast at the beech each day at the Resta (great english breakfast) Some areas of the hotel are a little tired but it did not stop us enjoying our stay. The rooms are cleaned daily by wonderful staff. The staff bent over backwards to ensure we had a good stay with nothing being too much trouble. The bar staff were great too, especially the award winning bar tender Jose :) The hotel is a fair walk from the main town so if you're not a great walker be prepared to order taxis or hirer a car. All in all we had a very relaxing enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, the other side is a view of the carpark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

One of the best pool and garden areas I've experienced really clean and plenty of room for everyone, the only let down was the service at the pool bar only one member of staff and very slow service became a running joke between all the guests. Nice breakfast and not to busy, reception staff very helpfull

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
6  Thank jenWarringtonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
508 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.1 mi away
Luna Clube Brisamar
Luna Clube Brisamar
#22 of 24 in Alvor
476 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Delfim All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Alvor Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Alvor Garden

Address: Rua da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-034, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
Price Range: £55 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellow Alvor Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive: 08:00 to 10:30 - Breakfast Buffet in the Restaurant 10:30 to 18:30 - Soft Drinks (orange, pineapple, coke, soda and ice tea) and Local Alcoholic Drinks (Vodka, Gin, Brandy, house wine and beer) in the Pool bar 11:00 to 12:00 - Snacks (burger, hotdog, ham/cheese sandwich, tuna sandwich, chicken sandwich and chips) in the Pool bar 11:00 to 12:00 - Ice Creams (chocolate with vanilla and strawberry with cream) 12:30 to 14:30 - Lunch Buffet at the Restaurant (include water, softdrinks, national beer, house wine and coffee/tea) 16:00 to 17:00 - Snacks (burger, hotdog, ham/cheese sandwich, tuna sandwich, chicken sandwich and chips) in the Pool bar 16:00 to 17:00 - Ice Creams (chocolate with vanilla and strawberry with cream) 18:30 to 21:30 - Dinner Buffet at the Restaurant (include water, softdrinks, national beer, house wine and coffee/tea) 19:00 to 24:00 - Local Alcoholic Drinks (whisky, brandy, gin, vodka, almond liqueur, whisky liqueur, coffee liqueur, white port, red port and daily cocktail), house wine, national nacional beer and softdrinks at the Lobby bar 22:00 to 24:00 - Local Alcoholic Drinks (whisky, brandy, gin, vodka, almond liqueur, whisky liqueur, coffee liqueur, white port, red Port and daily cocktail), house wine, national beer and softdrinks at the Terrace bar Daily Animation: Entertainment Program for children during the day and live music at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yellow Alvor Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Hotel Alvor
Iberotel Alvor
Alvor Yellow Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing