We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all inclusive holiday.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellow Alvor Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yellow Alvor Garden
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“all inclusive holiday.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

this is definitely not a four star hotel.It would just about make a three star rating. Food was inadequate with a very poor choice and the hot dishes were more tepid than hot.There was never a member of staff in the restaurant that could either speak or understand English so complaining was never an option. A report was recently sent to both you and the hotel regarding the accident my husband had when a bar stool completely collapsed like a pack of cards, which you have acknowledged since our return from holiday. The total layout of the restaurant was not easily to move around as there was insufficient space. The only good feature of the hotel was the grounds which were very restful. We had booked this hotel for 10 days.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be quiet at all times as there was not a lot going on in the hotel apart from a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donald b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    182
    158
    83
    68
See reviews for
197
270
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel for 1 week, 4 adults and 2 children, there was nothing to do for children aged 3, in the play room there was only 2 or 3 toys to play with, freezing swimming pool, broken deck chairs, out of sangria whenever asked, food disgusting, at lunch time we only ate fresh salads as hot food where horrible. I can only rate this hotel 1 star. Never stayed in this kind of 4* hotel. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, ruined our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chef_Regimantas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alvor hotels

Northampton, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Booked at Last minute trip for a long weekend. Could not fault the hotel, checked in at 10.30am and were giving our All Inc wrist band and rooms straight away. Hotel very quiet and we were surprised of the amount of free sun loungers all day. Food was adequate, enough choice with hot and cold selections, fine for the money we'd paid. We went into Alvor one evening (4e taxi fare). Hotel Service was good & staff helpful, as the hotel was so quiet. Rooms adequate, a little dated but clean and all you require when you're round the pool all day anyway. We had a room with a balcony & nice view on the pool area. We definitely would recommend this hotel and sure we will return for longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Footstepstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week from the 26th June, I saw the injury to the face of the last review writer!!! There were no spare beds... even thought 40% were broken... there were public arguments with the brits over umbrellas and they were flying all over the place every day!! I am surprised there was only one injury!! The food was vile ! I lost a stone in a week there!!!!! The rooms are like box rooms with stone mattress beds!!! The pool was soo cold it was unbearable !! Only one beer Super Bock (very strong) other inclusive drinks were cheap!! The entertainment was awful!!!!!! and not often!! The local area was lovely ... book another hotel self catering by the strip!!! The staff served an locals before ourselves even if we were there for quite some time !! the rooms smellt of sweat alot as well !!!! It cost us over a thousand for 1 week for 2 of us so unless you like to waste a thousand pound DOOOONN'TTTT DOOO ITTTTT!!

Room Tip: Do not book here !!!!!! Its is more of a 1-2 star !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsBeckyJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hi, Well where do I start? First impressions of reception area, nice hotel. Then you get to the rooms, not so nice! Fred Flinstone style beds..like stone! very small dingy rooms in saying that for what time you spend in them..not everyone will care. Food not bad, im a fussy eater and refused to eat only one afternoon..so I doubt you will starve!
Pool area is nice and big and kept clean, now here we go!! As for the maintenance of the area this is where this place is chronic..Flying parasols due to being broken and shouldnt be there for health and safety reasons...hence this review. Wind lifted parasol out of base (stuffed in with a plastic cup) probably a super bock one! and hit me straight in the face, reported to reception no accident book no nothing! literally nothing! Just a and I quote ''what is wrong with parasols''?...as I stand there with a lopsided face. Holiday ruined as by 11pm not only did I have a lopsided face but now a black eye, and a shiner at that! Wont return as no customer service skills with any of the staff be it you survive the faults in this kip or not! Oh and look out for the stools by the pool bar as they are that rickety a poor gentleman found himself on the floor with pieces of wood all around him..and he wasnt playing Jenga! So knock yourselves out and go to this place but be warned..it could be you!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel...simple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joanne_rose_tovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean with staff friendly and helpfull food was ok although the local restaurants in alvor town where of an excellent standard, so there was no comparison to the buffet food at the hotel.
The beer was super bock and was served in nice long glasses ,lovely refreshing beer.I found the white wine a bit dry and red wasn't great ,but considering what the holiday cost the overall package was good,they had an indoor pool and sauna with an adjoining gym,the gym was pretty poor to be honest but you could get a work out ,old equipment and not much of it.

It wasn't the most modern room I've stayed in but everything worked as it should shower etc and it was clean.
Local town was walkable if your fit about 15 min walked it about 2-3 times got taxi and free shuttle bus most of time taxi was about 3-4 euros,local town was lovely with a massive beach

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The rooms need an overall but we didn't go on holiday to spend it in the room. The shower pressure was surprisingly good and your back will hurt at the end of the week with the hardness of the beds. The rooms are clean but the staff are on a loss to start as the rooms are tired and some areas just will not look clean. Two star rating for the rooms. You may find you are kept awake as there is a dog barking a lot but there is also a lot of wildlife - crickets, frogs etc. you never see them but hear them it's wonderful as we don't hear that at that intensity in the uk. The outdoor pool area was lovely and the hotel was only a fifth full when we went so easy to get snacks at the pool bar, ice creams, drinks and sun loungers. I would imagine if fuller this would be a struggle but we had no issues. Entertainment every night if you wanted but it's easy to walk into Alvor around fifteen minutes to get to the centre another five to get to the edge of the harbour and another 8 to the beach. All inclusive food was okay. I asked for something vegetarian at dinner as they do mix dishes. For example there was a lovely black eyed bean salad I was looking forward to but they added fish to it the second time round so I couldn't eat it. They made a vegetable pasta dish specifically for me which was good but you do lose out a bit being vegetarian. However if you have the money it's not too expensive to eat out in the village for some variance. It's better quality and much cheaper for the same quality than the uk. Staff were very nice and helpful. The mini bus didn't run to the village all week. Didn't expect after reading the reviews. But we had been before over a decade ago so we knew the walk and it's fine for us. If you have small kids or difficulty walking you will want the bus especially to get to the beach which is furthest away. Three star overall but we did pay a good rate with a last minute deal so cannot complain. Stayed 28 May to 4 June 2014.

Room Tip: Go up to the top floor so if there are any ants (they have their moments just like the uk where they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.9 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 26 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Clube Brisamar
Luna Clube Brisamar
#20 of 26 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
1.0 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
1.0 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Alvor Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Alvor Garden

Property: Yellow Alvor Garden
Address: Rua da Dourada, Alvor, Portimao 8500-034, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yellow Alvor Garden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive: 08:00 to 10:30 - Breakfast Buffet in the Restaurant 10:30 to 18:30 - Soft Drinks (orange, pineapple, coke, soda and ice tea) and Local Alcoholic Drinks (Vodka, Gin, Brandy, house wine and beer) in the Pool bar 11:00 to 12:00 - Snacks (burger, hotdog, ham/cheese sandwich, tuna sandwich, chicken sandwich and chips) in the Pool bar 11:00 to 12:00 - Ice Creams (chocolate with vanilla and strawberry with cream) 12:30 to 14:30 - Lunch Buffet at the Restaurant (include water, softdrinks, national beer, house wine and coffee/tea) 16:00 to 17:00 - Snacks (burger, hotdog, ham/cheese sandwich, tuna sandwich, chicken sandwich and chips) in the Pool bar 16:00 to 17:00 - Ice Creams (chocolate with vanilla and strawberry with cream) 18:30 to 21:30 - Dinner Buffet at the Restaurant (include water, softdrinks, national beer, house wine and coffee/tea) 19:00 to 24:00 - Local Alcoholic Drinks (whisky, brandy, gin, vodka, almond liqueur, whisky liqueur, coffee liqueur, white port, red port and daily cocktail), house wine, national nacional beer and softdrinks at the Lobby bar 22:00 to 24:00 - Local Alcoholic Drinks (whisky, brandy, gin, vodka, almond liqueur, whisky liqueur, coffee liqueur, white port, red Port and daily cocktail), house wine, national beer and softdrinks at the Terrace bar Daily Animation: Entertainment Program for children during the day and live music at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays and Booking.com so you can book your Yellow Alvor Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Hotel Alvor
Iberotel Alvor
Alvor Yellow Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing