We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Dom Joao II
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb Location”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for a week in June 2014 and can only recommend to anyone wanting a good general standard hotel with a superb location.We only had breakfast so cannot comment on the quality of the lunch/ dinner food but say that if they improved the quality of food at breakfast time i would have given 5 stars. Hope to be back and soon!

Room Tip: A sea view is a must...stunning views but balcony can be in the shade most of the day depending on r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghMadmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we also look forward to welcome you again next year. Please let us know of your return as soon as possible.
With kind regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    619
    214
    53
    62
See reviews for
432
688
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as a random long weekend getaway, both being 30 year old women.

Slightly removed from town and quiet because of it, location wise. However still within walking distance for evenings and other trips into Alvor. Staff friendly and accommodating. Room clean, relatively spacious, with clean and attractive balcony. Quite amusing window between bathroom and bedroom, purpose of which is unclear, but again a lovely bathroom, well lit and modern. A fridge, and lots of closet space plus a sofa. All in all very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, bread, fresh fruit, cereals, coffee, and cooked bacon etc. beautifully manicured grounds, pool and beach immediately adjacent. Beach is lovely with lots of nice places to eat along it.

It is worth noting that as girls travelling together, we both (at different times) left our iPhones in random places by accident both on the hotel complex and in town. A gardener found and returned one, and a local in town found the other. Not sure how often this could ever happen, but I think it says something positive about the place in general.

Beach is absolutely beautiful, quite steep tho and the water deepens quickly at high tide. Big waves at times - loads of fun!

Would definitely consider returning - a lovely break.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank RCollins83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Booked 4 nights in this hotel for long weekend break with friends. Reception apologised immediately as the hotel was overbooked and we were given a 3 bed villa instead. We agreed on the understanding we can have the hotel rooms next day. Villa was ok but very dated and dark. Next day our cases were moved for us into sea view hotel rooms which were good and clean and modern. Anytime we went to reception they were very helpful and prompt. Breakfast was good with lovely coffee. 10 minutes walk on beach boadwalk to alvor centre. Well recommended hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donhillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Recently returned from this hotel where we had an excellent stay. It has a wonderful proximity to the beach which itself stretches some 2 miles made up lovely yellow sand which is cleaned daily with a machine. The water is relatively shallow so makes it ideal for children and those of us who prefer noting to adventurous when swimming.
We stayed on a B&B basis and walked each evening into Alvor where there is an extensive range of restaurants catering for all needs. The fish restaurants down towards the waterside were excellent with fresh fish being grilled over charcoal. We didn't have a bad meal anywhere. The walk from the hotel is just over 10 minutes but in my opinion is well worth the effort, its well lit for your return journey and you will not be alone as many other guests from around the area all do the same. If you must then a return taxi to the hotel is about 4 Euro.
The selection at breakfast was good as was the quality of the food also. Never to busy and plenty of staff on hand to point you in the right direction until you get to know the routine.
We paid that bit extra for a sea view and it was well worth it but you do need to ask for a room on third, fourth or fifth floor for the full advantage of it. The room itself was spacious well decorated and cleaned daily by the excellent maid service.
There is a beach bar but like the hotel bar itself I thought all drinks etc. were a bit on the expensive side. Far better to take a walk along the extensive boardwalks, which enable you to walk easily over the sand, to the cafes along the beach. The Restinga Café proving to be probably the best.
Anyone booking this hotel will not be disappointed providing you accept that neither the hotel or the town of Alvor are anything other than being on the quiet side.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better (Lift service is excellent)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we also look forward to welcome you again next year. Please let us know of your return as soon as possible.
With kind regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We really loved this hotel, as it was our honeymoon we were pleasantly surprised with champagne, chocolate strawberries and rose petals on arrival to our room, this was a lovely start to our honeymoon. We had a beautiful sea view from the room, which I would highly recommend. Fantastic selection at the breakfast buffet, although food & drink in hotel we thought were a bit pricey and not much variety therefore we ate out most times. The hotel was so clean everywhere, room décor was nice and modern with great shower in the bathroom, although I have to say pillows were not that comfortable. Most of the staff were very friendly but the bar staff were a bit grumpy. One downside of our trip was to the spa, whilst my husband had a wonderful back massage, I had booked in for a magic feet treatment although the treatment was meant to last 90mins it was only 60mins with very little massage of the feet, the service was not to the standard it should be for a spa especially when it cost 65.00, I felt like I got a mini pedicure!! The hotel is in a perfect location with the beach on the doorstep, pools, beautiful gardens and short 10 min walk from the village. Would we return to this hotel??? Most definitely, we are actually thinking of returning next summer with our three kids and parents as the hotel is extremely family friendly.

Room Tip: Definitely book a room with a sea view, well worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give feedback it’s the best award we can get.
Our main objective is to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction and we promise to focus on that! On the other hand we are sorry that the SPA treatment offered at our Hotel did not meet your expectations,we promise we will do our best to focus on the improvement of that service!
Kind regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just returned from another holiday at this lovely hotel, we have been here many times as the hotel is in an excellent location right on the beach,all of the staff are very friendly and helpful,rooms are lovely and clean. we stayed bed & breakfast and the food is very good,would also recommend a sea view room as the views are fantastic.the town of alvor is a short stroll down the road with plenty of great restaurants and bars, will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Hotel Dom João II. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Excellent Hotel,Fabulous Location,rooms and bathroom very Clean,We had a sea view room which I would strongly recommend,staff very friendly,in all of the hotel,Breakfast Buffet very good and plenty of choice.We will be visiting this Hotel again,
The Harbour is a short pleasant walk away,The pool and gardens are Lovely,and have plenty of sunbeds to relax on,with an added bar should you need a snack or a drink.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
0.4 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 26 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Property: Pestana Dom Joao II
Address: Marginal de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-021, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#5 Family Hotel in Alvor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing