We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Dom Joao II
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We've visited this hotel on several occasions and we have always had a fantastic time. The location is wonderful, directly on the fabulous beach and the boardwalk, with easy access into town and the lovely restaurants around the harbour. The service at the hotel is very good. The reception most helpful, courteous and polite at all times, helping in any way they can. The rooms are spotlessly clean and you can choose how often the bed linen is changed, so you have the choice to be environmentally helpful too. Breakfast gives you many choices including hot and cold dishes, and even sparkling wine if you fancy starting the day with a Buck's Fizz! Overall, we had a fabulous holiday, yet again, and can't wait to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PammR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact that you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give your feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations!
We now look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,703 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

stayed here in june.lovely large room and nice bathroom with a amazing shower.the staff were friendly and polite.we stayed b and b the breakfast was good standard with a nice variety of fruits and cheeses and hot dishes omlettes and pancakes cooked fresh.bar prices were dear but we spent most of our time in alvor as the bars and restaurants are fantastic there is an amazing chinese that does an all you can eat buffet would definitely go back to this hotel great position and clean

Room Tip: sea view and high floor would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel with us and with all our potential clients.
I’m glad you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff extremely nice and helpful.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kindest regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a good standard hotel. Rooms are nice, clean. Pool ok (a basic concrete rectangle), area around it nice, gardens were lovely to sit in, Had the buffet dinner and a lunch - both fine, not expensive. Porter was very grumpy on our arrival, we only had hand luggage which we carried ourselves so he didn't have much to do - we were late so perhaps it was just the end of a long day! Rest of reception staff were friendly, although often couldn't give an answer, they had to talk to someone else first. Location is good, very quiet, yet only 15 minute walk into the main street of the village. Beach is lovely and easily accessible from the hotel grounds. Had to pay for the sun loungers on the sand immediately outside the hotel gate which was a bit annoying. On the last day we were offered the use of the spa showers as our flight was late - there was no actual room to change so you have to struggle actually inside the shower cubicle or stand in the corner where you could be seen from the indoor pool every time the door opened for someone to use a toilet - really not good and this needs to be improved. Overall it was a good hotel for a few quiet, relaxing days and for that reason we would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give feedback it’s the best award we can get.
Our main objective is to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction and we promise to focus on that!
Kind regards
Carlos Santos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June with my fiance for four nights. We had originally booked into a side sea view room, however when we arrived at the hotel we were advised we had been upgraded to a suite which was a nice surprise. The reception and hotel staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Our suite was on the ground floor (facing the gardens) and consisted of a bedroom, bathroom and separate lounge area which had patio doors with sun loungers outside. The bed consisted of two twin beds pushed together, but it was comfortable and we slept well. There was plenty of cupboard space and the bathroom was clean, with a very good shower/bath.

Breakfast was included in our room rate - the food isn't the greatest, however there is a large selection (cooked breakfast, meats, cheese, cereal, fruit etc) so you can generally find something you like,

The location of the hotel is great, as the beach is right outside the hotel (where we spent most of our daytime). If you come out of the hotel onto the beach and take a walk to your left, you come to the most beautiful area of beach with rocks/cliff areas etc. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the small town area (or a taxi costs about 5 euros), where there are some great restaurants and bars. We really enjoyed spending our evenings here. There aren't any clubs, but if you are just looking for great food, drinks and music then it is perfect. Our favourite place was Mourisco Cocktail Bar. We had a really good meal at a steak restaurant and an italian down the main street.

We caught a bus to Lagos one day (about 8 euros return) whilst we were there, the bus stop is in the town near the big roundabout. It was nice to see Lagos, but we were glad we had picked Alvor to stay in.

We took a walk up the beach to have a look at the Pestana Dom Joao's sister hotel - Pestana Alvor Praia Beach & Golf Hotel. This hotel looked very nice, it seemed more luxurious, however I don't think it's location was as good as staying there meant you would be further away from the town.

On our last day the hotel stored our cases until we had to leave for the airport, and we had the use of the spa showers before we left as well. We really enjoyed our stay in Alvor and would definitely go back - and yes, I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay and found our service and facilities very good.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to any of our hotels
Best regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for a week in early june 2014. The hotel is located right on a beautiful beach approx 12 minutes walk from the centre of Alvor.Reception was professional if a little slow. Our room was on the 4th Floor facing road which was ok. The area is very quiet. The room was spotless if a little small. We booked bed and breakfast only. Breakfast was ok , the usual for any reasonable hotel. We had dinner only once in the hotel - the Portuegese night with Fado music- Cost €27.00 each. Food was bland. the staff in the restaurant seemed obsessed with collecting and cleaning dishes while ignoring the fact that the tea and various cooked food items had run out. The bar was ok. Bar men were pleasant but again seemed obsessed with collecting and stacking glasses and counting coins while customers were waiting to be servedThe swimming pools are clean and there are several areas to relax away from them. Younger couples with children all claimed that the @Kiddies play area and creche run by Luisa was superb and she is the hotels prize asset. There are numerous local restaurants and a visit to Restinga on the boardwalk or Vagabonda is a must Both superb and reasonably priced. We transferred from the airport with Yellowfish Taxis who are the most professional outfirt I ever encountered.

Room Tip: Airport transfer. Yellowfish Taxis Return trip €108.00. excellent co. This hotel is suitable fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank portmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t met at all your expectations. Please be informed that we will do everything within our power to inprove the services related to your commnents
Looking forward to your contact
Kindest regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for a week in June 2014 and can only recommend to anyone wanting a good general standard hotel with a superb location.We only had breakfast so cannot comment on the quality of the lunch/ dinner food but say that if they improved the quality of food at breakfast time i would have given 5 stars. Hope to be back and soon!

Room Tip: A sea view is a must...stunning views but balcony can be in the shade most of the day depending on r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghMadmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Your kind words give us the great filling of mission accomplished and we also look forward to welcome you again next year. Please let us know of your return as soon as possible.
With kind regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as a random long weekend getaway, both being 30 year old women.

Slightly removed from town and quiet because of it, location wise. However still within walking distance for evenings and other trips into Alvor. Staff friendly and accommodating. Room clean, relatively spacious, with clean and attractive balcony. Quite amusing window between bathroom and bedroom, purpose of which is unclear, but again a lovely bathroom, well lit and modern. A fridge, and lots of closet space plus a sofa. All in all very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, bread, fresh fruit, cereals, coffee, and cooked bacon etc. beautifully manicured grounds, pool and beach immediately adjacent. Beach is lovely with lots of nice places to eat along it.

It is worth noting that as girls travelling together, we both (at different times) left our iPhones in random places by accident both on the hotel complex and in town. A gardener found and returned one, and a local in town found the other. Not sure how often this could ever happen, but I think it says something positive about the place in general.

Beach is absolutely beautiful, quite steep tho and the water deepens quickly at high tide. Big waves at times - loads of fun!

Would definitely consider returning - a lovely break.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank RCollins83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DJoaoII, Gerente at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Pestana Dom João II Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvor
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 24 in Alvor
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Delfim All Inclusive
2.8 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Address: Marginal de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-021, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alvor
#2 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#5 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range: £30 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana D. João II is a is a 4-star hotel overlooking the sandy Alvor beach with calm, crystal clear waters. It is only 10 minutes on foot from the town centre, very close to the Alvor river. Take a dive into one of the 2 outdoor saltwater swimming pools surrounded by lush and peaceful gardens, or relax at the Spa with an indoor swimming pool, Turkish bath and sauna where you can schedule a Magic Spa massage. For your meals, there is 1 restaurant and 3 bars (2 of which only open in the summer). If you have kids, the Pestana Kids Club is the perfect place for them to have fun (open from June to September). All rooms offer a balcony with views of the sea (frontal or side), garden or hotel grounds and have a TV and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing